Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 9, 2006, 12:22 AM   #1
baxterbrittle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Anyone interested in a Hi-def (1920 x 1200) mod for PB/MBP?

Just wondering if anyone is interested in modifying their PB 15 of MBP to fit a Hi Def display in there. I've had a bit of a look around and I am pretty sure this hasn't been done before (until now) - but I could be mistaken

If there is interest I'll post some pictures and information about how to.
baxterbrittle is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 12:47 AM   #2
ChrisRC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Sounds interesting. I wouldn't mind seeing some photos. Post 'em up.
ChrisRC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:15 AM   #3
baxterbrittle
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Photo's

Hope this works - I don't use forums very often at all. These are just some screen shots taken a couple of minutes ago.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0239.jpg
Views:	24911
Size:	37.7 KB
ID:	49887   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0240.jpg
Views:	148525
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	49888   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0241.jpg
Views:	17884
Size:	40.4 KB
ID:	49889  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0242.jpg
Views:	21014
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	49890   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0243.jpg
Views:	30245
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	49891  
__________________
15" PB G4 1GHz WUXGA, G4 667, iBook G3 500, PowerMac G4 733 DA x 2, 7100, 9600, Color Classic 300MHz. Thinkpad A31P, A30P, T42, P4D 2.8, Acer 3680.
baxterbrittle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:20 AM   #4
Tastannin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cedar City, UT
Interesting. Details??
Tastannin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:31 AM   #5
vniow
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: I accidentally my whole location.
Macbook Pro? 15" I'm assuming? If so then I may have to buy one soon!
vniow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:31 AM   #6
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Umm....

Why does that MacBook Pro say it's a 1GHz PowerPC G4?

Something smells funny....
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:33 AM   #7
vniow
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: I accidentally my whole location.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles
Umm....

Why does that MacBook Pro say it's a 1GHz PowerPC G4?

Something smells funny....
Because its a Powerbook. Read the OP, it can be done for either.
vniow is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:34 AM   #8
baxterbrittle
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Details

What would you like to know? There is a great deal of ground to cover on this topic so what would you like to know first?

Around the middle to end of last year I got very sick and tired of waiting for Apple to release a Hi-Def PB. When I recieved a non working one as a gift I got to work trying to figure out if I could make one myself - there were afterall Hi-Def notebooks available but Apple didn't make one. I managed to source a Sharp panel from ebay that was from a Dell. Set me back AU $149- I recieved it and found 2 things (I only bought it as a project) the first was that the connector for the lvds cable was too big and that the display was a 15.4 not a 15.2 as fitted to PB's of the time. Some 8mths or more later and a great deal of mucking about and some very handy Apple anouncments it's almost finished and I'm about to embark on my next project of a 12" PB based tablet (I've gotten sick of waiting for those too.). So if your after more details on how to do it yourself let me know.
__________________
15" PB G4 1GHz WUXGA, G4 667, iBook G3 500, PowerMac G4 733 DA x 2, 7100, 9600, Color Classic 300MHz. Thinkpad A31P, A30P, T42, P4D 2.8, Acer 3680.
baxterbrittle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:36 AM   #9
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by vniow
Because its a Powerbook. Read the OP, it can be done for either.
Yeah, but this is a MacBook Pro:

saying that it's a 1GHz PowerPC G4.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:38 AM   #10
baxterbrittle
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
It's a frankenbook

It's a frankenbook as some friends have dubbed it. The machine itself is a G4 (Macbooks didn't exist when I started) With a MBP Display housing needed to accomodate the 15.4" LCD rather than a 15.2".
__________________
15" PB G4 1GHz WUXGA, G4 667, iBook G3 500, PowerMac G4 733 DA x 2, 7100, 9600, Color Classic 300MHz. Thinkpad A31P, A30P, T42, P4D 2.8, Acer 3680.
baxterbrittle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:40 AM   #11
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by baxterbrittle
It's a frankenbook as some friends have dubbed it. The machine itself is a G4 (Macbooks didn't exist when I started) With a MBP Display housing needed to accomodate the 15.4" LCD rather than a 15.2".
Ahh...

Now it makes sense. It's cool but I don't know if I'd want to pull apart two computers and buy a screen to do it. Kudos though, HD laptops would be an awesome addition to the line.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:42 AM   #12
TheMonarch
macrumors 65816
 
TheMonarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by baxterbrittle
It's a frankenbook as some friends have dubbed it. The machine itself is a G4 (Macbooks didn't exist when I started) With a MBP Display housing needed to accomodate the 15.4" LCD rather than a 15.2".

So it doesn't close right?

And where is that panel from?

How?

__________________
Ever!
TheMonarch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:51 AM   #13
baxterbrittle
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
The display closes fine but... the screen is wider than the base and due to there being 2 latches rather than 1 it doesn't latch. This can be fixed however and would cause no issues whatsoever for MBP users because you'd replace a like for like panel.

Having said that I also couldn't care less that the screen is bigger than the body because I use a computer when it's open and you can't notice like that and when you've got this much screen realestate 1.1 MP v 2.3 MP I cannot see any real complaints. The machine was free and I only had to modify 1 machine not 2. When I got it the screen was cracked so why not replace the screen with this one rather than the very overpriced standard one.

With the right parts this mod can be performed in a couple of hours, costs very little, couple of hundred and makes for a very unique machine. Plus having a 23" cinema in your bag is certainly a very handy thing.
__________________
15" PB G4 1GHz WUXGA, G4 667, iBook G3 500, PowerMac G4 733 DA x 2, 7100, 9600, Color Classic 300MHz. Thinkpad A31P, A30P, T42, P4D 2.8, Acer 3680.

Last edited by Rower_CPU; Sep 14, 2006 at 10:36 AM. Reason: post merge
baxterbrittle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 02:10 AM   #14
TheMonarch
macrumors 65816
 
TheMonarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by baxterbrittle
With the right parts this mod can be performed in a couple of hours, costs very little, couple of hundred and makes for a very unique machine. Plus having a 23" cinema in your bag is certainly a very handy thing.

Care to elaborate?
__________________
Ever!
TheMonarch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 02:21 AM   #15
baxterbrittle
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
More info

Quote:
Originally Posted by blaskillet4
Care to elaborate?

This display is the same resolution as a 23" Cinema display.

You need a panel, MBP housings, and an lvds cable from the last gen 15" PB (A MBP cable will probably also work). You don't need to cut anything or damage your machine - completely reversable just assemble.

Oh depending on the panel you get there may be some little metal tabs that need to be removed. Pretty easy but I had to wait for Apple to bring out the new PB's (the last ones) in order to get a cable and had to wait six weeks for Apple to ship it (it takes them ages to ship parts for new machines). The display just plugs in and works! Then after trying to mod the exsisting housing Apple released the MBP and after another six week wait I got one of those. Put it together and bobs your uncle. There are a couple of other things to do, you'll need some spacers on the hinges for it to close properly and I still need to figure out a latch.

Oh and if anyone knows the pinout arrangement for the built in isight I would be very appreciative.
__________________
15" PB G4 1GHz WUXGA, G4 667, iBook G3 500, PowerMac G4 733 DA x 2, 7100, 9600, Color Classic 300MHz. Thinkpad A31P, A30P, T42, P4D 2.8, Acer 3680.
baxterbrittle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 02:59 AM   #16
ChrisRC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
That's really impressive, Baxter. I have neither the testicular fortitude nor the skill necessary to attempt such a modification, but I commend your work nonetheless. Thanks for the photos/information.
ChrisRC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 03:51 AM   #17
chosenwolf
macrumors 6502a
 
chosenwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by baxterbrittle
It's a frankenbook as some friends have dubbed it. The machine itself is a G4 (Macbooks didn't exist when I started) With a MBP Display housing needed to accomodate the 15.4" LCD rather than a 15.2".
That would explain the indented keyboard
__________________
17" C2D 2.33 MBP | C2D 2.4 Mac Mini | iPad Mini 16GB | 64GB iPhone 5s | 16GB iPhone 4 Unlocked | 2GB 4G shuffle | 2G ATV | 2TB TC
chosenwolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 04:49 AM   #18
baxterbrittle
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedG35
That would explain the indented keyboard

No actually there is nothing wrong with the keyboard - the keyboard isn't at present screwed in properly. There are some very very tiny screws that hold the keyboard in place that have a very thin head and were unfortunatly lost prior to my ownership - Iwas going to order some today but was too busy. Thanks for your good for nothing comment.
__________________
15" PB G4 1GHz WUXGA, G4 667, iBook G3 500, PowerMac G4 733 DA x 2, 7100, 9600, Color Classic 300MHz. Thinkpad A31P, A30P, T42, P4D 2.8, Acer 3680.
baxterbrittle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 11:40 AM   #19
chosenwolf
macrumors 6502a
 
chosenwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Perhaps I was a bit too harsh. I must realize that we ALL can't have macbook pro's. =)

carry on...
__________________
17" C2D 2.33 MBP | C2D 2.4 Mac Mini | iPad Mini 16GB | 64GB iPhone 5s | 16GB iPhone 4 Unlocked | 2GB 4G shuffle | 2G ATV | 2TB TC
chosenwolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 12:02 PM   #20
Saluki Alex
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Illinois
How's the battery life?
__________________
MacBook Pro (15" Retina Display) iPad (3rd Gen) iPhone 5 Apple TV
Saluki Alex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 12:31 PM   #21
Gokhan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London
k

would thıs work ın a 1ghz tıttanuım powerbook g4 ıf so how ???
__________________
problematic mac boy
Gokhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 12:46 PM   #22
baxterbrittle
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedG35
Perhaps I was a bit too harsh. I must realize that we ALL can't have macbook pro's. =)

carry on...

Nooo we can't - that's why I have a QUAD geez I guess we can't all have quads now can we? Now this is turning into a pi**ing match isn't it? Wanna race em? Hedge your bets, oh no thats right yours can run windows - you must be very excited to use the operating system that we've hated for all these years! For ages people have been bitching and moaning about Apple not releasing a High Definition laptop and I am prepared to make one myself and inform others how to do so and this is what I get - some guy who takes so much pride in his fat overweight laptop that he can't see the point. So let me ask you this - Why get the 17" MBP when you can have a 15" cheaper and minus firewire 800 is fuctionally identical apart from being too unwieldily to actually use as a laptop.... Maybe it was the screen size? Hmmm just maybe? End

Unfortunatly I can test the battery because A) The laptop has been inpieces for many a moon thus would have made the already old battery fairly rubbish but it was stolen by a very stupid person who managed to break into my house and take amongst other things my laptop battery but not the matching laptop. However having said that it's useing the same inverter board which powers the display so I'd imagine battery life to be quite similar to the standard screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gokhan
would th?s work ?n a 1ghz t?ttanu?m powerbook g4 ?f so how ???

Unfortunatly I'm unaware of a way of getting it to work with a TiBook. There are too many difficulties in making it work I suspect. Biggest problem I see is getting a cable for it - the video connector on a Ti is quite different to a PB and unless you fabricated one I don't think it would work. Then you'd need to figure out a casing etc... But if anyone has any info I'd be willing to experiment - I have a DVI Ti that most of the time don't mind pulling apart but I don't have any pinout info to start from.
__________________
15" PB G4 1GHz WUXGA, G4 667, iBook G3 500, PowerMac G4 733 DA x 2, 7100, 9600, Color Classic 300MHz. Thinkpad A31P, A30P, T42, P4D 2.8, Acer 3680.

Last edited by Rower_CPU; Sep 14, 2006 at 10:37 AM. Reason: post merge
baxterbrittle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:21 PM   #23
fowler.
macrumors 6502a
 
fowler.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pasadena
okay, so my interest is totally piqued now.

i don't know much about replacement lcd panels, but did you have to do much in order for it to work? is the connection between the display and the computer universal, or are there differences between brands?

i'd like a little bit more info on the process please.

thanks
__________________
15" 2.66 MacBook Pro | iPhone 4

Last edited by fowler.; Jun 9, 2006 at 01:46 PM.
fowler. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:28 PM   #24
chosenwolf
macrumors 6502a
 
chosenwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Los Angeles
17 > 15 period.

Bigger screen size, 8x dual layer burner, fw800

Why NOT?

And I can dual boot
__________________
17" C2D 2.33 MBP | C2D 2.4 Mac Mini | iPad Mini 16GB | 64GB iPhone 5s | 16GB iPhone 4 Unlocked | 2GB 4G shuffle | 2G ATV | 2TB TC
chosenwolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 01:28 PM   #25
RichP
macrumors 68000
 
RichP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Motor City
Haha, understand that out skepticism was based on the frankenmac pics..Im looking at this machine, running some strange resolution, that has an isignt and MBP top, the the old power connector, and it was too much to take in..LOL!

Very nice work; I want to try it! Care to elaborate some more specific details as to what I need to get this thing going? Do you have the PN of the LCD you used, etc?
__________________
"My ultimate vocation in life is to be an irritant" Elvis Costello
RichP is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mod my early 2008 MBP or just upgrade to new Retina MBP? macizzy MacBook Pro 10 Mar 4, 2014 10:35 AM
Early 2011 MBP to dual 1200 and 1440 monitors Egosphere MacBook Pro 6 Dec 29, 2012 07:15 PM
rMBP web browser while using 1920 x 1200 appletechpro MacBook Pro 8 Jul 31, 2012 06:50 PM
Retnia MBP with THREE monitors dual 30" 2560*1600 ACD monitors and MBP @ 1920*1200! Redgr MacBook Pro 26 Jun 20, 2012 07:57 PM
1920 x 1200 on Retina MBP 15''? MBX MacBook Pro 19 Jun 12, 2012 05:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC