Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chimps

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 19, 2006
Hi,

New here to the forums and have a question ( I did a search and came
up with nothing...) I am an electrical engineering student (soon to be 4th year) and about to start a microcontoller class. In addition, I am going to be
doing my senior project next Fall dealing with microcontrollers.

I asked a friend who has taken the course I am currently enrolled what program
they use for programming the microcontorllers. He said they used a program
called "ICC11." I did a search, and it looks to be a simple programming
program, kind of like xilinx for verilog. Of course, this program is windows only. I was wondering if anybody knew of this program (as a port, similar
program, etc) that can be used on OS X (ppc version).

I am considering selling my powerbook in exchange for a macbook so I can
dual boot windows, but this is something I am not looking forward to doing.
If there is any way to get around this, please let me know.

Thanks in advance

-Chimps

mduser63

macrumors 68040
Nov 9, 2004
Salt Lake City, UT
Hi Chimps,
Nice to see another EE student here. I'm also (as of this fall) a 4th year EE student, and I just started on my senior project. Are you going to be writing in C or assembly? I'm assuming you'll be using the 68HC11, if not, what processor will you be programming? There are some options out there, but they're sort of hard to find. Perhaps your best bet is the GNU toolchain. You'll have to compile it yourself, but it is supposedly possible to do that on OS X. You could also use VPC. I used VPC to run Xilinx for Verilog at it worked OK. I also sort of cobbled together an OS X Verilog environment, but it was harder to use than Xilinx, so VPC was still nice to have. You may find the same kind of thing even if you do get an OS X assembler working.

P.S. Where do you go to school?

chimps