Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 24, 2006, 01:51 AM   #1
AliC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Adding airport card to iBook with broken ethernet port

My ethernet port broke (tripped over the cord), I had it repaired and now it's not functioning again. Rather than getting it repaired again, I would prefer to just go wireless. Is it possible to add an airport card and wireless router without a functioning ethernet port? I read on another post that an ethernet cable connection is necessary for the initial setup of the router.

iBook G3/900Mhz/Yahoo! DSL

thanks!

A
AliC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2006, 02:52 AM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Many routers can be configured and even set up wirelessly. If you buy one that cannot, is there a way of borrowing somebody's computer for a while just to set up your router. You should only need to do it once because all wireless routers that I can think of are capable of having settings modified wirelessly.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2006, 04:36 AM   #3
Gee
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: London, UK
As I recall, the Airport Express is set up wirelessly - an expensive option I know, but worth it (iTunes music streaming is very sweet0.
Gee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2006, 12:00 PM   #4
Str8edgepunker
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Send a message via AIM to Str8edgepunker
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
Many routers can be configured and even set up wirelessly. If you buy one that cannot, is there a way of borrowing somebody's computer for a while just to set up your router. You should only need to do it once because all wireless routers that I can think of are capable of having settings modified wirelessly.
Some Netgear routers are the only ones I know of offhand that you have to configure manually. Go with a linksys, they're really awesome.
__________________
-Those who dream big, make it big. Those who dream small, earn chump change for the rest of their lives.
2010 15" MacBook Pro HRG, 2.66ghz i7, 4gb ram, 500gb 7200rpm HD.
Str8edgepunker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2006, 01:33 AM   #5
AliC
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Thanks everyone for your suggestions. It was really helpful. I'm looking forward to a life without the hassle of tripping over wires.

A
AliC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 12:56 PM   #6
jtown
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Most wireless routers I've seen default to being wide open for wireless connections. Meaning you join the wireless network created by the router when you first turn it on, go to the admin page (the instructions will tell you how to do it with a browser) and you can set up the security and encryption wirelessly. Just make sure you make a note of that encryption key before you hit "apply".
jtown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 07:37 PM   #7
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtown
Just make sure you make a note of that encryption key before you hit "apply".

Good point, although most routers have a hard reset option which will return them back to their factory settings.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(No Airport card Installed) Where to buy new Airport card? derek1214 iMac 0 May 5, 2011 12:42 AM
Slow Internet? Airport card? Video! billyfoil iMac 1 Apr 22, 2011 11:35 AM
Adding AirPort card to Mac Pro BarneysPosse Mac Pro 2 Jun 23, 2008 12:45 AM
Adding airport card to Mac Mini monty77 Macintosh Computers 32 May 5, 2005 09:15 AM
iBook broken Ethernet port elensil Macintosh Computers 28 Aug 8, 2003 02:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC