Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 26, 2006, 05:20 PM   #1
regre7
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
backup to a PC from MBP?

I'm acquiring a MBP in a few days, and I was looking into purchasing an external HDD for back-up.... ing?

Anyway, I don't really want to spend any money (who does?) and I thought to myself, "Self, you've got a 160GB drive in your PC that you can use!"

I figure that I can partition off 80GB of it (could probably go lower) to use as a backup drive. I'm pretty tech savvy, but I never got into networking. I've got a Linksys wireless router that I'll be using to share my internet connection with the MBP, which also provides internet to my PC through a wired connection.

Here's the question: What's the easiest way to get my MBP to backup to that 80GB partition on my PC?
__________________
"Saving lives, officer? You ought to arrest me." Ellsworth Toohey
Coming soon- Lenovo Thinkpad T500 - Intel Core 2 Duo T9400, 320GB, 4GB
regre7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2006, 05:37 PM   #2
risc
macrumors 68030
 
risc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Just share out the partition on the Windows machine and you should be able to connect to it through the finders network icon, or using command+k. I have a Linux machine here I use for work purposes but I share out my home directory to backup all the Macs here.
__________________
A penny saved is ridiculous.
risc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2006, 05:38 PM   #3
regre7
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Okay, sounds easy enough. Does OS X come with backup software?
__________________
"Saving lives, officer? You ought to arrest me." Ellsworth Toohey
Coming soon- Lenovo Thinkpad T500 - Intel Core 2 Duo T9400, 320GB, 4GB
regre7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2006, 05:44 PM   #4
risc
macrumors 68030
 
risc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I'm a UNIX guy so I know exactly what I want to backup so I just have a script that runs to do it, as for backup software there are plenty of options available like Apples Backup, the 3rd party Carbon Copy Cloner, etc.
__________________
A penny saved is ridiculous.
risc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2006, 05:46 PM   #5
psycho bob
macrumors 6502a
 
psycho bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Send a message via AIM to psycho bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by regre7
Okay, sounds easy enough. Does OS X come with backup software?
Not as standard but you can download an Apple utility for free http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/backup.html that although relatively basic is solid and easy to use. Worth a try for free if nothing else.
__________________
remember if somethings wrong you
didn't hear it from me!
psycho bob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2006, 05:54 PM   #6
regre7
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
I only need basic functionality, as I'll only be backing up my music and photo library, and the Mac equivolent of 'My Documents'.
__________________
"Saving lives, officer? You ought to arrest me." Ellsworth Toohey
Coming soon- Lenovo Thinkpad T500 - Intel Core 2 Duo T9400, 320GB, 4GB
regre7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2006, 05:57 PM   #7
jadedchameleon2
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by psycho bob
Not as standard but you can download an Apple utility for free http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/backup.html that although relatively basic is solid and easy to use. Worth a try for free if nothing else.
... which won't work without a .Mac subscription.
jadedchameleon2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2006, 06:03 PM   #8
psycho bob
macrumors 6502a
 
psycho bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Send a message via AIM to psycho bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadedchameleon2
... which won't work without a .Mac subscription.
Not true at all, it can be used to backup to CD/DVD/Hardrive as is no need for .mac. Just try it
__________________
remember if somethings wrong you
didn't hear it from me!
psycho bob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2006, 07:37 PM   #9
regre7
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Are you sure? I don't have Mac yet, so I can't try it, but it says .Mac is a system requirement....
__________________
"Saving lives, officer? You ought to arrest me." Ellsworth Toohey
Coming soon- Lenovo Thinkpad T500 - Intel Core 2 Duo T9400, 320GB, 4GB
regre7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2006, 08:23 PM   #10
psycho bob
macrumors 6502a
 
psycho bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Send a message via AIM to psycho bob
yep, can't post a screen shot at the mo (wish it was easier on these forums) but here are some of the options you are presented with;

Home Folder
Backup your home folder to your hard disk daily or to CD or DVD monthly.

You have similar options to back up iLife and music data to disk as well.

I can't test the .mac requirement as I do have it but I've read others using it without issue and nowhere does it ask you to put in username or password details. I expect if you stay clear of the .mac specific backup options you'll have no problems at all.

As I said it is free and if it does its thing then your sorted. You have nothing to lose anyway
__________________
remember if somethings wrong you
didn't hear it from me!
psycho bob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 02:27 PM   #11
jadedchameleon2
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by psycho bob
yep, can't post a screen shot at the mo (wish it was easier on these forums) but here are some of the options you are presented with;
Try to start it without an active .Mac subscription or trial. It won't work.
jadedchameleon2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 02:32 PM   #12
benthewraith
macrumors 68030
 
benthewraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Send a message via AIM to benthewraith Send a message via MSN to benthewraith
Quote:
Originally Posted by regre7
I'm acquiring a MBP in a few days, and I was looking into purchasing an external HDD for back-up.... ing?

Anyway, I don't really want to spend any money (who does?) and I thought to myself, "Self, you've got a 160GB drive in your PC that you can use!"

I figure that I can partition off 80GB of it (could probably go lower) to use as a backup drive. I'm pretty tech savvy, but I never got into networking. I've got a Linksys wireless router that I'll be using to share my internet connection with the MBP, which also provides internet to my PC through a wired connection.

Here's the question: What's the easiest way to get my MBP to backup to that 80GB partition on my PC?
If all you're doing is backing up data (and not your OS and Apps), then you can just connect:

smb://<pc's name or ip here>

navigate to the folder you want to back everything up to, copy paste (documents, movies, videos and pictures I'm assuming).
__________________
Late-2013 13" rMBP, 2.4GHz, 8 GB RAM 250GB SSD; iPhone 5C 16GB
benthewraith is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:35 PM   #13
regre7
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Okay, thanks for the replies. I was hoping there'd be something where it's a one-touch deal that could back-up certain folders. Oh well, this'll work.

Thanks!
__________________
"Saving lives, officer? You ought to arrest me." Ellsworth Toohey
Coming soon- Lenovo Thinkpad T500 - Intel Core 2 Duo T9400, 320GB, 4GB
regre7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 04:19 PM   #14
psycho bob
macrumors 6502a
 
psycho bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Send a message via AIM to psycho bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadedchameleon2
Try to start it without an active .Mac subscription or trial. It won't work.
According to Apple's discussion boards the app will work in trial mode without .mac subscription. This limits you to 100mb at a time but you can have as many of these as you want.
__________________
remember if somethings wrong you
didn't hear it from me!
psycho bob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 04:28 PM   #15
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Be aware that you will be saving to a Windows file system, so some naming conventions that may have been acceptable on a Mac won't play nice on the Windows hard drive.

SuperDuper, SilverKeeper -- check on Versiontracker.com for an assortment of utilities that can help you set up a "one tough" backup facility.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you backup iMessages from MBP to iCloud? kingdf OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Apr 30, 2014 01:17 PM
How do I backup a MBP? The Clark MacBook Pro 14 Apr 30, 2014 07:20 AM
How to backup a MBP AceC MacBook Pro 7 Feb 1, 2014 09:19 AM
Backup HD for 13"MBP VanMac MacBook Pro 1 Dec 28, 2013 11:25 AM
Load MBP Backup to Mini? Mattjeff OS X 0 Nov 10, 2012 06:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC