Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Games

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:03 PM   #1
gekko513
macrumors 601
 
gekko513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
The Sims 2 on Intel Macs... to patch or not to patch

There's a universal patch for The Sims 2, but it doesn't work with the expansion packs according to Aspyr.
Quote:
For Intel Mac users: This patch must be installed before installing any of the Sims 2 expansions packs. If an expansion pack is installed after this patch has been installed on an Intel Mac, the game will function, but the benefits from the patch will be overwritten. We are currently working on Universal patches for both University and Nightlife and will post them for download soon.
Has anyone tried to run the game on an Intel Mac with the expansions through Rosetta? Is the performance acceptable, or should I wait with the expansion packs until Aspyr releases the patches?

I have a 2GHz MBP.
__________________
Someone get Nekkid™, now!
gekko513 is offline   0
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:11 PM   #2
mark!
macrumors 65816
 
mark!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: America
Patch. The Sims 2 runs really slow without the patch. Some of the expansion packs are universal now, but you have to buy them but I guess patches for expansions aren't available.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro | Sage iMac G3 | White iPhone 5c
mark! is offline   0
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:37 PM   #3
gekko513
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
gekko513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
OK, thanks. I'll wait for Aspyr to get finished, then.
__________________
Someone get Nekkid™, now!
gekko513 is offline   0
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:37 PM   #4
Bern
macrumors 68000
 
Bern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Sims 2 runs fine on my MB.

There are Universal patches available for the Sims 2 and for each expansion pack.

SIMS 2 Universal Patch

University EP Patch

Nightlife EP Patch

Of course patches are free
__________________
wytchecraft
Bern is offline   0
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:39 PM   #5
gekko513
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
gekko513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Wow, thanks for that, Bern. I guess Aspyr hasn't updated their info on their The Sims 2 pages then, just the expansion pack pages.
__________________
Someone get Nekkid™, now!
gekko513 is offline   0
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:50 PM   #6
mark!
macrumors 65816
 
mark!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: America
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bern
Sims 2 runs fine on my MB.

There are Universal patches available for the Sims 2 and for each expansion pack.

SIMS 2 Universal Patch

University EP Patch

Nightlife EP Patch

Of course patches are free
WOAH! Thanks! I knew The Sims 2 patch was out, but not the expansion pack patches.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro | Sage iMac G3 | White iPhone 5c
mark! is offline   0
Old Jun 28, 2006, 06:59 PM   #7
rhsgolfer33
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bern
Sims 2 runs fine on my MB.

There are Universal patches available for the Sims 2 and for each expansion pack.

SIMS 2 Universal Patch

University EP Patch

Nightlife EP Patch

Of course patches are free
Bern, what specs are your mb? Id like run the Sims 2 on mine but want to make sure it runs alright before buying it. Hows the performance on it?
rhsgolfer33 is offline   0
Old Jun 28, 2006, 07:58 PM   #8
fenixx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
It took Aspyr way too long to patch the game, after months of promising an updated patch.

Luckily, Apple released Boot Camp, and I just got the PC version and played that way.
__________________
flickr | tumblr |
fenixx is offline   0
Old Jun 28, 2006, 08:06 PM   #9
mark!
macrumors 65816
 
mark!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: America
Quote:
Originally Posted by fenixx
It took Aspyr way too long to patch the game, after months of promising an updated patch.

Luckily, Apple released Boot Camp, and I just got the PC version and played that way.
The Sims 2 patch came out in March...

That's when they promised it
__________________
13" MacBook Pro | Sage iMac G3 | White iPhone 5c
mark! is offline   0
Old Jun 28, 2006, 08:17 PM   #10
Bern
macrumors 68000
 
Bern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhsgolfer33
Bern, what specs are your mb? Id like run the Sims 2 on mine but want to make sure it runs alright before buying it. Hows the performance on it?
I have the white 2Ghz MB with 2GB of ram. The Sims 2 runs amazingly well in comparison to when it was installed on my 12" 1.5Ghz Powerbook. The clarity/resolution for a start is so much better. It's not sluggish as I left it set to the default settings the game establishes when it gets installed.

I can't make a comparison to the Sims 2 running on any other Mac as I have never seen it run on any other than my Powerbook. (I guess it's not that popular here).
__________________
wytchecraft
Bern is offline   0
Old Jun 29, 2006, 12:00 AM   #11
rhsgolfer33
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Thanks Bern, I think I'll go ahead and pick it up for my MB. Mines only got a gig of ram in it but if I lower some of the settings it should hopefully run. Thanks!
rhsgolfer33 is offline   0
Old Jul 4, 2006, 11:05 AM   #12
17luv
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2006
So if you get/have all the games/expansions and patch them it runs fine on an intel mac??
17luv is offline   0
Old Jul 4, 2006, 11:23 AM   #13
gekko513
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
gekko513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by 17luv
So if you get/have all the games/expansions and patch them it runs fine on an intel mac??
Yep, except in my case the Nightlife expension was already patched to the latest version, so when I tried to patch the already pre-patched install, it caused an error. I just had to reinstall the expansion pack to fix it, though.
__________________
Someone get Nekkid™, now!
gekko513 is offline   0
Old Jul 4, 2006, 10:40 PM   #14
17luv
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gekko513
Yep, except in my case the Nightlife expension was already patched to the latest version, so when I tried to patch the already pre-patched install, it caused an error. I just had to reinstall the expansion pack to fix it, though.
Thanks Too bad I can't just run my PC version without installing windows T_T why are mac games sooo expensive!
17luv is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Lion... Or NOT to Lion? GraphikGeek Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 53 Jul 23, 2011 05:41 PM
New Mac user... is custom content possible with the Sims 2 on macs? Poingish Mac and PC Games 22 Sep 18, 2010 03:20 PM
Intel Mac: To Buy or not to Buy...that is the question. secret squirrel Buying Tips and Advice 7 Jan 21, 2006 08:30 AM
The Sims 2 on Mac? t300 Games 21 Jul 22, 2004 02:33 PM
Will we see Sims 2 on the Mac? neoelectronaut Games 1 Jul 20, 2004 07:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC