Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:24 PM   #1
hbrooksh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Installing 256MB in an eMac

I just bought at 256MB memory module to update my eMac 1Ghz machine but now I notice that the memory slots don't match. Am I hosed or is there a way to still use this memory? My machine came with 128MB.
hbrooksh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:32 PM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbrooksh
I just bought at 256MB memory module to update my eMac 1Ghz machine but now I notice that the memory slots don't match. Am I hosed or is there a way to still use this memory? My machine came with 128MB.
There are two versions of the 1 GHz eMac -- one takes PC133 DIMMs and one takes PC2700 DDR DIMMs. The RAM from one is physically different and cannot be used in the other.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:51 PM   #3
hbrooksh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
There are two versions of the 1 GHz eMac -- one takes PC133 DIMMs and one takes PC2700 DDR DIMMs. The RAM from one is physically different and cannot be used in the other.
I guess I bought the wrong kind. Thanks so much for responding!!
hbrooksh is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Leopard on eMac G4 ATI 800Mhz Makaveli6103 PowerPC Macs 8 Jul 9, 2014 08:23 PM
De-installing Mavericks, Re-installing Mountain Lion filmboy OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Dec 13, 2013 04:43 PM
Downloading AND installing .mobileconfig in Safari (from App) - Not installing gwelmarten Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 17, 2013 05:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC