Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:24 PM   #1
hbrooksh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Installing 256MB in an eMac

I just bought at 256MB memory module to update my eMac 1Ghz machine but now I notice that the memory slots don't match. Am I hosed or is there a way to still use this memory? My machine came with 128MB.
hbrooksh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:32 PM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbrooksh
I just bought at 256MB memory module to update my eMac 1Ghz machine but now I notice that the memory slots don't match. Am I hosed or is there a way to still use this memory? My machine came with 128MB.
There are two versions of the 1 GHz eMac -- one takes PC133 DIMMs and one takes PC2700 DDR DIMMs. The RAM from one is physically different and cannot be used in the other.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2006, 03:51 PM   #3
hbrooksh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
There are two versions of the 1 GHz eMac -- one takes PC133 DIMMs and one takes PC2700 DDR DIMMs. The RAM from one is physically different and cannot be used in the other.
I guess I bought the wrong kind. Thanks so much for responding!!
hbrooksh is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Leopard on an eMac - no DVD drive JeffBarnett PowerPC Macs 18 Jan 9, 2010 07:46 PM
Installing Superdrive on an eMac G4 luke15rl PowerPC Macs 2 Jan 30, 2008 07:45 PM
How do I install an airport card in an eMac? da2005pizimp PowerPC Macs 2 Jan 6, 2008 01:01 PM
How to install bluetooth on an emac dogbone PowerPC Macs 2 Jul 17, 2006 07:10 AM
Installing RAM in an eMac Soton Speed PowerPC Macs 1 Jan 13, 2006 07:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC