Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 3, 2006, 04:13 PM   #1
jrs2090
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
iMac G4 as an External Display

Hey,
I want to take my old iMac G4 and use it as an external display for my MBP. Is this possible? Has anyone done this? Does anyone have any suggestions?

~JRS
jrs2090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2006, 04:16 PM   #2
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Of course it is possible, use a video input device on the iMac or rip the guts out of the iMac G4 and turn it into a monitor (and destroy its use as a computer.)
__________________
MacRumors member fails resist iPhone glamour effect, suffers credit card damage 2d8.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2006, 04:43 PM   #3
skoker
macrumors 68000
 
skoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Send a message via AIM to skoker Send a message via Skype™ to skoker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun Baked
Of course it is possible, use a video input device on the iMac or rip the guts out of the iMac G4 and turn it into a monitor (and destroy its use as a computer.)
Easiest way would be to use an EyeTV I reckon.
skoker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2006, 07:07 PM   #4
jrs2090
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
i want it to have a full response time so I guess EYE TV isn't the best option... am i correct?

so if I rip the guts out... is there a guide for this? i don't wanna screw it up u know!

~JRS
jrs2090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2006, 07:09 PM   #5
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrs2090
i want it to have a full response time so I guess EYE TV isn't the best option... am i correct?

so if I rip the guts out... is there a guide for this? i don't wanna screw it up u know!

~JRS
By full response expect a delay of 200-500 ms.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
76 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2006, 07:16 PM   #6
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Nope...

Unless you can solder and are extremely engineering savvy, it's in on way possible.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2012 11.6" 2.0ghz i7 MacBook Air, 2.26 C2D Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2006, 06:46 AM   #7
cicottrell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
please?!?!there must be a way!

My iMac G4 is dead (knackered Logic board) but i want to use the display in my new whatever i get.. I have taken it apart and found the cable connector where it plugs into the logic board. This is a 21 pin plug. Anyone know how i could convert this into a DVI plug to plug in the back of say a mac pro? I can keep the power from the imac, seems to be ok, so just need the video input.
cicottrell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2006, 03:40 AM   #8
cicottrell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
pics of the problem

http://homepage.mac.com/chriscottrell/imac1.jpg
cicottrell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2006, 03:41 AM   #9
cicottrell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
pics of the problem

http://homepage.mac.com/chriscottrell/imac1.jpg and http://homepage.mac.com/chriscottrell/imac2.jpg This is the plug that connected to the logic board.
cicottrell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use a 24-inch iMac as an external display? MacTemplario MacBook Pro 1 Jan 5, 2011 01:31 PM
iMac G4 as a display/monitor? rehpotsirhc PowerPC Macs 6 Nov 14, 2010 10:02 AM
iMac as an external display for MBP? Dizzler MacBook Pro 12 Feb 26, 2010 02:23 PM
[Confirmed] 27" iMac could be used as an external display for other devices iMacKeung iMac 12 Dec 9, 2009 08:32 PM
Using Powerbook as an External Display radiantm3 PowerPC Macs 2 Jan 27, 2006 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC