Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 3, 2006, 04:13 PM   #1
jrs2090
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
iMac G4 as an External Display

Hey,
I want to take my old iMac G4 and use it as an external display for my MBP. Is this possible? Has anyone done this? Does anyone have any suggestions?

~JRS
jrs2090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2006, 04:16 PM   #2
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Of course it is possible, use a video input device on the iMac or rip the guts out of the iMac G4 and turn it into a monitor (and destroy its use as a computer.)
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2006, 04:43 PM   #3
skoker
macrumors 68000
 
skoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Send a message via AIM to skoker Send a message via Skype™ to skoker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun Baked
Of course it is possible, use a video input device on the iMac or rip the guts out of the iMac G4 and turn it into a monitor (and destroy its use as a computer.)
Easiest way would be to use an EyeTV I reckon.
skoker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2006, 07:07 PM   #4
jrs2090
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
i want it to have a full response time so I guess EYE TV isn't the best option... am i correct?

so if I rip the guts out... is there a guide for this? i don't wanna screw it up u know!

~JRS
jrs2090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2006, 07:09 PM   #5
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrs2090
i want it to have a full response time so I guess EYE TV isn't the best option... am i correct?

so if I rip the guts out... is there a guide for this? i don't wanna screw it up u know!

~JRS
By full response expect a delay of 200-500 ms.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2006, 07:16 PM   #6
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Nope...

Unless you can solder and are extremely engineering savvy, it's in on way possible.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2006, 06:46 AM   #7
cicottrell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
please?!?!there must be a way!

My iMac G4 is dead (knackered Logic board) but i want to use the display in my new whatever i get.. I have taken it apart and found the cable connector where it plugs into the logic board. This is a 21 pin plug. Anyone know how i could convert this into a DVI plug to plug in the back of say a mac pro? I can keep the power from the imac, seems to be ok, so just need the video input.
cicottrell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2006, 03:40 AM   #8
cicottrell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
pics of the problem

http://homepage.mac.com/chriscottrell/imac1.jpg
cicottrell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2006, 03:41 AM   #9
cicottrell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
pics of the problem

http://homepage.mac.com/chriscottrell/imac1.jpg and http://homepage.mac.com/chriscottrell/imac2.jpg This is the plug that connected to the logic board.
cicottrell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 2012 iMac as external display for PC vooblu iMac 130 Aug 15, 2014 10:07 PM
Purchasing new iMac- use old iMac as 2nd Display/ external HDD? appstate iMac 4 Oct 23, 2013 02:33 PM
iMac As a External Display for PC? J007dreamer iMac 13 Apr 12, 2013 10:46 AM
Using iMac as an external display DerrenYoung Mac Basics and Help 1 Mar 23, 2013 06:05 AM
2011 iMac 27 as external Display krravi iMac 0 Nov 2, 2012 02:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC