Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 4, 2006, 01:30 PM   #1
Craigy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Zealand
Running 2 x Monitors from MacBook Pro DVI Out?

Hi - Does anyone know a way of running 2 external monitors from the single DVI out on the MacBook/Pro?

I am considering selling one of our Powermacs but we use 2 x 24" Dell monitors with it and don't want to loose that functionality.

Thanks
Craig

Last edited by Craigy; Jul 4, 2006 at 01:39 PM.
Craigy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2006, 02:19 PM   #2
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Soon...

There is a PCMCIA Video Card that enables two external monitors with powerbooks (http://www.villagetronic.com/e_pr_vtbook.html) and I would bet there will EVENTUALLY be an ExpressCard 34 version, but I have neither heard nor seen anything about it.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2006, 03:13 PM   #3
Makosuke
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Cool Part of CA, USA
The as-yet-non-extant Expresscard video card appleretailguy is talking about is your only hope. DVI is one-monitor-per-port, period, so you're not going to have any luck otherwise.
Makosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2006, 03:41 PM   #4
Josias
macrumors 68000
 
Josias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Not true Makosuke. There have been 453 threads on this, and every time I have sent a link, leading to an adapter, which makes it possible to drive two monitors through one plug.

I would only advise you to do this on the MacBook Pro though, sonce it support 3840x2400 at max (Duallink DVI), which is two 1920x1200 displays, or two 23" ACD's. Since the MacBook only has a Singlelink DVI plug, it will only support half resolution (1920x1200), which is why I only would go dual external monitors with MBP.

In your case with two 24" Dell monitors, get a MacBook Pro, and this adapter. The X1600 will run the two Dell screens, plus the MBP's internal display, but you will have to max out the RAM to 2 GB, otherwise this will be at bad ass speeds.
__________________
Consistent crushes on random female singers - current: Mariah Carey
Josias is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2006, 04:09 PM   #5
Makosuke
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Cool Part of CA, USA
Well, ain't that an interesting doodad.

I wasn't wrong in saying "one monitor per port", since that's all the spec supports, but I wasn't counting on an external box that basically makes two monitors pretend to be one big one from the output's perspective. Neat idea for uber-widescreen use, or laptops without the option of a second port.

It seems like it'll be a tad awkward, since the menu bar is going to stretch across both screens (since the MacOS will see them as one, it can't treat one as the "main" screen like with a standard dual-monitor setup). I suppose Matrox could release a driver for the MacOS to get around this, but being that they've never even made Mac versions of any of their cards, I'm not seeing this happening any time soon.
Makosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2006, 05:10 PM   #6
Temujin
macrumors 6502a
 
Temujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Would a MBP with 128 mb vram, 1.5 GB ram be able to run two 20" displays? Or is the 256 mb really nescessary when using the switchbox?

Edit: Wooow that switchbox is expensive!!!!
Temujin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2006, 12:58 AM   #7
inboulder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josias
Not true Makosuke. There have been 453 threads on this, and every time I have sent a link, leading to an adapter, which makes it possible to drive two monitors through one plug.

I would only advise you to do this on the MacBook Pro though, sonce it support 3840x2400 at max (Duallink DVI), which is two 1920x1200 displays, or two 23" ACD's. Since the MacBook only has a Singlelink DVI plug, it will only support half resolution (1920x1200), which is why I only would go dual external monitors with MBP.
Triplehead2go is VGA ONLY (NO DVI), has a max resolution of 3840 x 1024 pixels (NOT 1200), and treats 2 monitors as one device, so you'd have the doc split etc.

I've waited for months to find a solution to the problem listed above, but so far there isn't anything reasonable that will drive 2xhi res monitors in DVI from a macbook pro, so much for the 'pro'. An expresscard vid card would be perfect, but as far as I know nobody is even in development of such a thing (vtbook will not be produced in expresscard format).

Last edited by Blue Velvet; Jul 20, 2007 at 03:55 AM. Reason: Go easy on the insults
inboulder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2007, 05:05 PM   #8
whyrichard
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Send a message via AIM to whyrichard
is there a solution to this yet?

r.
__________________
09QuadMacPro/2xIntelSSD's/ati/nvidea,macbookpro2ghz/iphone3gs16gig / tibook/powerbook/ibook/duo/classic/lc/newton / ipod5/10/30
shuffle/60 '80 moto guzzi 1000sp/ktmdukeII/theworldsumluv
whyrichard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2007, 08:56 AM   #9
AlexGFX88
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
You could always put the dock on the left side/right side :-/. Regardless, if you aren't going to have a Main screen and secondary, I don't really see the point in having two monitors. Most likely windows would be stretched and skewed, and it would be really akward as suggested.
AlexGFX88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2007, 09:30 PM   #10
screen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
I now have multiple monitors working from my MacbookPro pro using the Magma ExpressBox1 Pro along with a NVidia GeForce 7300GT. It's not a cheap solution but it is the first I've seen working with each monitor treated as such by osx.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010885_web.jpg
Views:	1600
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	72585  
screen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2007, 01:47 AM   #11
Makosuke
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Cool Part of CA, USA
Ahh, leave it to Magma to make the Magic happen. I was wondering in the back of my mind if they had any current-gen products, but kept forgetting to actually look it up.

That is one heck of a setup you've got going there. Wish I could afford that kinda hardware, although in truth I don't know what I'd do with it even if I could.
Makosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2007, 01:57 AM   #12
mattibek
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lexington, KY
Send a message via AIM to mattibek Send a message via Skype™ to mattibek
Thats pretty.
__________________
- Mac Portable
-Lombard/80Gb
-MacBook Pro 15"/2.33/160Gb
-iPod 4G/40Gb & 5G/60Gb
mattibek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2007, 03:45 AM   #13
jeswa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
I wonder if this will drive 2 monitors:
http://www.belkin.com/highspeeddock/
It says DVI "or" VGA, but doesn't say that it won't.
Anybody know for sure?
jeswa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2007, 03:54 AM   #14
Spanky Deluxe
macrumors Demi-God
 
Spanky Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by screen View Post
I now have multiple monitors working from my MacbookPro pro using the Magma ExpressBox1 Pro along with a NVidia GeForce 7300GT. It's not a cheap solution but it is the first I've seen working with each monitor treated as such by osx.
Wow, that is impressive!! Although for the cost of that thing + the cost of a monitor, I think I'd rather get an iMac!!
__________________
"No, I'm from Iowa, I only work in outer space."
Spanky Deluxe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2007, 03:11 PM   #15
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by screen View Post
I now have multiple monitors working from my MacbookPro pro using the Magma ExpressBox1 Pro along with a NVidia GeForce 7300GT. It's not a cheap solution but it is the first I've seen working with each monitor treated as such by osx.
Hey Screen,

that's pretty cool. In the pic your four monitors are acting as just one big screen, but can you get them to be individual screens, each with its own windows?

I was originally looking at hooking up 2 HD monitors to a MBP using the Matox Double/Triple Head2Go device but I didn't realise that it is just one big stretched screen instead of two independent ones....
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2007, 04:26 PM   #16
Spanky Deluxe
macrumors Demi-God
 
Spanky Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdum8 View Post
Hey Screen,

that's pretty cool. In the pic your four monitors are acting as just one big screen, but can you get them to be individual screens, each with its own windows?

I was originally looking at hooking up 2 HD monitors to a MBP using the Matox Double/Triple Head2Go device but I didn't realise that it is just one big stretched screen instead of two independent ones....
His setup is using each screen as an individual screen. The Matrox Double/Triple Head2Go solutions which makes the computer see two/three screens as one big screen. By using an external PCIe 7300GT card, he's running two screens off the 7300GT's two DVI connectors, one screen off the DVI connector on his MBP and of course the MBP screen. OS X would recognise the fact that it has a total of four screens to play with.
__________________
"No, I'm from Iowa, I only work in outer space."
Spanky Deluxe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2007, 08:27 PM   #17
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spanky Deluxe View Post
His setup is using each screen as an individual screen. The Matrox Double/Triple Head2Go solutions which makes the computer see two/three screens as one big screen. By using an external PCIe 7300GT card, he's running two screens off the 7300GT's two DVI connectors, one screen off the DVI connector on his MBP and of course the MBP screen. OS X would recognise the fact that it has a total of four screens to play with.
OK thanks for that. Question now is, where can I get a PCI 7300GT card and how much is it going to set me back,
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2007, 08:49 PM   #18
Spanky Deluxe
macrumors Demi-God
 
Spanky Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdum8 View Post
OK thanks for that. Question now is, where can I get a PCI 7300GT card and how much is it going to set me back,
The 7300GT card's not the expensive part, its only about $100-$150. The expensive part is the Magma ExpressBox1 Pro he's using. That'll set you back $749 according to their website.

I wouldn't really say its worth it at that cost since 2 x 20" ACDs + 1 x 7300 GT + 1 x Magma ExpressBox1 Pro = $2097, which is quite a bit more than a 30" ACD. Or put another way, its the same cost as buying a 20" iMac + a 20" ACD.
__________________
"No, I'm from Iowa, I only work in outer space."
Spanky Deluxe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2007, 10:59 PM   #19
b.rudge
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Belkin Highspeed docking station

This would do the trick if they supported Mac OS X: http://www.belkin.com/highspeeddock/

I've sent them a support request asking about Mac support
b.rudge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 02:09 AM   #20
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by b.rudge View Post
This would do the trick if they supported Mac OS X: http://www.belkin.com/highspeeddock/

I've sent them a support request asking about Mac support
Interesting device, how would this give you two external monitors though? Do you mean one monitor off the MBP's DVI out and one from the HUB?
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 04:59 AM   #21
b.rudge
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdum8 View Post
Interesting device, how would this give you two external monitors though? Do you mean one monitor off the MBP's DVI out and one from the HUB?
Yes. I assume that would actually work. I assume you could have one monitor on the 'High Speed Dock' (Or maybe two if the driver and hardware supports both the VGA AND DVI ports simultaneously), the MacBook's built in display, plus a monitor on the MacBook's DVI out.

That makes 3 (possibly four?) monitors. Although only two (Possibly three?) externals and really large monitors. Two large monitors is enough to satisfy most geek's screen real estate desires.

Please correct me if I'm wrong and this wouldn't work. I'd hate waste $300 + shipping and import taxes on that device if it doesn't work.

Of course all of that is dependent on Belkin releasing a driver for Mac OS X...
b.rudge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 06:57 AM   #22
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
B.rudge,

be sure to post here if you receive a reply from the company regarding mac compatibility or future plans thereof. Would be great to finally get two 23" independent monitors side by side running off a MBP....
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 07:31 AM   #23
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
The two monitor solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by appleretailguy View Post
There is a PCMCIA Video Card that enables two external monitors with powerbooks (http://www.villagetronic.com/e_pr_vtbook.html) and I would bet there will EVENTUALLY be an ExpressCard 34 version, but I have neither heard nor seen anything about it.
This would be the ideal product except for the lack of ExpressCard 34 compatibility. Does anyone out there make an adaptor from ExpressCard 34 to PCMCIA? Maybe it would work then....
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 07:54 AM   #24
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Matrox now have a Triple-Head-2-Go with DVI support. You can read a review here...
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 08:02 AM   #25
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan View Post
Matrox now have a Triple-Head-2-Go with DVI support. You can read a review here...
That's nice, but the Triple-Head-2-Go just makes one big screen over several monitors NOT several independent ones so it isn't really a solution for many people...
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nMP to four DVI monitors? Browsing Mac Pro 5 Feb 27, 2014 10:16 AM
How do I connect TWO DVI cinema Display monitors to my MacBook air? CBass187 Mac Peripherals 2 Jan 6, 2014 10:45 PM
Two DVI monitors on the new macbook pro? ASFx MacBook Pro 1 Oct 23, 2013 09:19 PM
connecting 2 DVI monitors to a macbook air 2012? papelboyl1 MacBook Air 3 Jun 18, 2012 11:20 AM
Running dual monitors on Macbook Pro? zrheath MacBook Pro 14 Jun 5, 2012 06:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC