Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

krossfyter

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 13, 2002
secret city
Okay im needing to buy a powerbook g4. im a graphic artist so i need it obviously. i can only afford, right now, the mid model...550mhz combo drive not the 667mhz. i have heard some talk about the 500mhz actually performing better then the 550. for those who do have a 550...how is it? are you happy with it? for those that have the combo drive...hows that? are there any problems with the heat and or the speed? any under buffering?
now im really digging the combo drive for obvious reasons but will it be a hassle for me in the long run? should i instead purchase a better external one and go with the 500 model?

i know thats a butt load of questions but its cool if you can only answer one. i dont mind. give me anything you can spit out.

mymemory

macrumors 68020
May 9, 2001
Miami
Get the top of the line iBook, you will save a lot of money, will have a lot of features and a 14" screen. If that is not enough with the spare money you can get a 17" flat display. Load it with ram.

If you work with Photoshop these days anything works from 400Mhz and over. But get at list 256MB of ram.

Ensign Paris

macrumors 68000
Nov 4, 2001
Europe
I would advise getting the 550 because it has better cooling. I would personally not get the iBook due to it being no where near as fast the the PB in Photoshop and OSX.

Can somebody please explain to me this Venezuela thing to me!

Ensign

britboy

macrumors 68030
Nov 4, 2001
Argentina
as i understand it, Hugo Chaves (the president of venezuela) criticised the american-led campaign in afghanistan as "fighting terror with terror". President Bush promptly recalled the american ambassador, and excluded venezuela from some trade preference programme.

That's according to my venezuelan sister-in-law.

AlphaTech

macrumors 601
Oct 4, 2001
Natick, MA