Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 11, 2006, 03:10 PM   #1
Zwhaler
macrumors 603
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Hold Switch Idea for iPod

Hey everyone, a couple weeks ago I came up with a cool idea for the hold switch on the iPod. Check this out. For me, the most common reason why I use the hold button is so when it is in my pocket the volume won't accidently be turned up to full and scare the hell out of me. I have never had problems with the buttons being pushed accidently or anything like that, even with hold off. So I thought that maybe there could a third Hold option, where instead of cutting off all the buttons from being used, it will only make it so volume can't be changed. That way when my iPod is in my pocket, I can change the song without taking it out, but don't have to worry about the volume unexpectedly changing. What do you think?
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2006, 03:41 PM   #2
monke
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
I've thought of this before too, because its an absolute pain when a take my iPod out and have to turn the hold switch to off before I could do anything.

They could probably do this in an iPod updater and call it a 'Volume Lock'.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2006, 03:45 PM   #3
steamboat26
macrumors 65816
 
steamboat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arlington VA
Send a message via AIM to steamboat26 Send a message via Yahoo to steamboat26
They don't have a volume lock, but the most recent ipod update had a thing where you could set your ipod so the volume couldn't go higher than a certain point. Maybe a volume lock will come in the next update
__________________
-Mac Mini duo core 1.66 Ghz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HD, Mac OS 10.4.10
-iPod Nano 4 GB Black
-iMac G3 500 Mhz, 384 MB RAM, 20 GB HD, Mac OS 10.3.9
steamboat26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2006, 03:47 PM   #4
Sesshi
Banned
 
Sesshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: One Nation Under Gordon
buy a remote?
Sesshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2006, 04:50 PM   #5
Marky_Mark
macrumors 6502a
 
Marky_Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Send a message via AIM to Marky_Mark Send a message via MSN to Marky_Mark
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesshi
buy a remote?
Indeed. Why complicate matters? Get a free radio too.
__________________
Marky_Mark
"If Apple went to a party, it would turn up last and then leave with the hottest girl there." - Wired
Marky_Mark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 07:01 PM   #6
rafifreak00
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Kansas. No, not on a farm.
Send a message via AIM to rafifreak00
They do have a volume limiter now.
__________________
rafifreak00
Apple iBook G4 - 12.1" | 1.33GHz | 40GB | 1.5GB RAM | Mac OS X 10.4
Pavilion zv5330us - 15.4" | 3.2GHz | 80GB | 1GB RAM | XP Home
rafifreak00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 08:52 PM   #7
rockthecasbah
macrumors 68020
 
rockthecasbah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorestown, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by rafifreak00
They do have a volume limiter now.
the issue isn't a limiter, the OP wanted an option that the volume wouldn't change it's position but allow him to use the controls of the iPod... very good idea though. I use the hold for the same reason, but i hardly would call it a hassle to take my iPod out of my pocket to change a song.
__________________
15'' 2.4ghz MacBook Pro (Matte), 2GB RAM, 200GB HD
Wii code: 7876 8987 6478 7445
My Last.fm
"Ignore her, she's a feminist"
rockthecasbah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 09:26 PM   #8
Tommyg117
macrumors 6502a
 
Tommyg117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
I actually think this is a pretty good idea, or at least some option that lets you hold certain aspects and not others.
__________________
-15" Powerbook G4, 1.5ghz, 1.25 GB Ram, 80 gb HD, Superdrive, Airport Extreme.
-60 gig 5G iPod (black!)
-Airport Basestation
Tommyg117 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 09:38 PM   #9
Spaceman Spiff
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
I instinctively flick hold back on whenever I finish with the controls on my iPod, for mostly this purpose. Volume hold would be nice, but it's not really that much of a needed feature for me. The hold button works fine, as I usually adjust volume a lot more than I use controls.
Spaceman Spiff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 11:25 PM   #10
adk
macrumors 68000
 
adk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stuck in the middle with you
Does anybody besides me want a shuffle switch on the outside of the ipod?
adk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 02:26 PM   #11
Sharewaredemon
macrumors 68000
 
Sharewaredemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pitch forking mulch in Nova Scotia, Canada
Send a message via MSN to Sharewaredemon
Quote:
Originally Posted by adk
Does anybody besides me want a shuffle switch on the outside of the ipod?
Sorry but I REALLY don't want one.
__________________
Meow.
Sharewaredemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 04:52 PM   #12
ero87
macrumors 65816
 
ero87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York City
Quote:
Originally Posted by adk
Does anybody besides me want a shuffle switch on the outside of the ipod?
i'd LOVE one; in fact, i started a thread with the idea a couple months ago.
ero87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 03:20 PM   #13
Zwhaler
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockthecasbah
the issue isn't a limiter, the OP wanted an option that the volume wouldn't change it's position but allow him to use the controls of the iPod... very good idea though. I use the hold for the same reason, but i hardly would call it a hassle to take my iPod out of my pocket to change a song.
My only problem with that is the the case that my iPod is in is some sort of rubber, and if rather difficult to constantly take in and out of my pocket, but I can push the buttons through my pocket, but I just dont want it to change the volume.
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So my iPod can't hold a charge at all... tymaster50 iPod touch 2 Dec 4, 2013 04:17 AM
Half iPhone pops up when I hold click and hold to the right of the screen wannabelean Mac Basics and Help 11 Aug 5, 2013 08:40 PM
Don't switch your iPhone 5 from Black to White worst Idea ever GUIZAR iPhone 54 Jun 19, 2013 09:00 AM
iPod and MP3 can't hold headphones Dohjo iPod touch 4 Mar 4, 2013 09:06 AM
iPod Classic: Broken hold button davidmartindale iPod 2 Jun 1, 2012 12:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC