Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 13, 2006, 03:06 PM   #1
kodex1717
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
My eMac freezes constantly. (At first in WoW, then in everything)

I have an eMac 1.25 Ghz with 512mb of RAM. ATi radeon 9200 w/ 32mb vram.


It started about a month ago, but only in World of Warcraft at first. At first it only happened now and then, but then it kept happening more and more often until it will just freeze when I load up my charcter. About a week before it totally crapped out, random polygons started light up, makeing everything look like a giant disco dance floor.

But now it will freeze in other programs too (no disco). I've stopped playing WoW because I can't anymore. So I mostly just browse the web. It will freeze about 3-4 times a day just doing that.

And I don't know if it helps, but sometimes when it froze I was still able to talk on Ventrilo with my guildmates, although I couldn't exit WoW. But now it usually won't let me talk back, or the audio will just skip.

Any and all help is appreciated.
kodex1717 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2006, 08:35 PM   #2
Makosuke
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Cool Part of CA, USA
Sounds an awful lot like your graphics chip is dying, which is a bummer since it's integrated in the eMac and not exactly easy to replace. It could be an OS issue, but that seems unlikely based on the sympoms.

Two things to try, if you haven't already: Break out the discs that came with it and run the Hardware Test disc. This will do a quick and dirty check, and if IT reports errors, then you know for sure it's hardware, and it'll probably tell you what piece, specifically. If it happens to be under warranty (I'm guessing no?), then get it fixed. Even if that gives you a clean bill of health, it doesn't mean the hardware is ok, just that it can't detect the problem.

If, however, you don't get any hardware errors while running that check, you could try reinstalling the OS and see if it helps. Probably not, but if you're going to have to get it fixed or call it dead anyway, it's worth a shot.

Again, this is assuming it's not still under warranty. If you are, run the hardware check disc, then call Apple regardless of what it tells you (if it gives an error, that'll just make your life easier on the phone with them).
Makosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2006, 09:02 PM   #3
kodex1717
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Damn, I figured as much, I guess I'll break out the disk then. But it prolly won't matter, seeing as how there's no warenty. =(

EDIT: Aww fudge, I can't find the disk. Guess I'll just have to take it to apple store and pay them to look at it then.

Last edited by kodex1717; Jul 13, 2006 at 09:10 PM.
kodex1717 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 03:03 PM   #4
kodex1717
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Hurra!

Mabey I won't have to pay them after all:

http://www.apple.com/support/emac/re...ensionprogram/

My serial number falls within that range. But even if that's not the problem I might get the diagnostic for free anyways. =)
kodex1717 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 04:42 PM   #5
Makosuke
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Cool Part of CA, USA
Sounds to me like you're having "Distorted Video" problems, so I'll bet your're covered. At the very least, they can't blame you for bringing it in thinking you do based on the symptoms, even if it turns out to be something totally unrelated.
Makosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 05:17 PM   #6
Les Kern
macrumors 68030
 
Les Kern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Alabama
try making a new user to make sure it's not something you've "done".
Les Kern is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eMac runs in safe-mode, but freezes on normal start-up. ryketech PowerPC Macs 4 Nov 2, 2011 04:49 PM
Command-key shortcuts in WoW coming in patch 4.3!! zeemeerman2 Mac and PC Games 1 Oct 5, 2011 01:42 PM
My MacBook Freezes - Invalid content in journal breathe! Mac Basics and Help 5 Aug 16, 2010 10:47 PM
My Internet Freeze constantly Ed4132 OS X 0 Aug 13, 2010 08:36 PM
my finder freezes constantly, restart does not help, usually last 20 mi. to 1 hour. lovehaight OS X 9 Jul 24, 2008 05:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC