Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 13, 2006, 07:06 PM   #1
mac000
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
quick! - how do i connect my macbook to my imac HD

i remember being able to go to HD~NETWORK~MY NETWORKS then being able to click on the name of my iMac computer from my old iBook ( and vise versa) but i forget how to set it up on my new macbook. can someone please help

what exactly do i need to have tunred on/off (in sharing in syst. pref?) on both the macbook and imac to be able to mount each others HD/etc.

thanks people

Last edited by mac000; Jul 13, 2006 at 07:40 PM.
mac000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2006, 07:40 PM   #2
MacBook'06
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac000
i remember being able to go to HD~NETWORK~ then being able to click on the name of my iMac computer from my old iBook but i forget how to set it up on my new iMac! someone please help

what exactly do i need to have tunred on/ on both the macbook and imac to be able to mount each others HD/etc.

thanks people
you need to connect a firewire cable to each of your computers, reboot the computer you want to see on the other one and hold down 'T'.
For a more complete guide type in: "Transferring files between two computers using FireWire" in the help viewer (command ?) and it will tell you everything you need!
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.93
MacBook'06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2006, 07:47 PM   #3
neomancer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I'm guessing that you want to be able to "share" documents between the two macs... well you have to "System preferences" and click on "Sharing". Under the "Services" click "Personal File Sharing" and all other services you want to activate. Then click on start sharing. When other computers try to acces your computer they must introduce a user name and password.
Hope this helps
neomancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 04:13 PM   #4
mac000
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by neomancer
I'm guessing that you want to be able to "share" documents between the two macs... well you have to "System preferences" and click on "Sharing". Under the "Services" click "Personal File Sharing" and all other services you want to activate. Then click on start sharing. When other computers try to acces your computer they must introduce a user name and password.
Hope this helps

thats exactly what I'm trying to do, but for some reason when i go to Servers~ on my macbook, i find no indication for an option to click on the name of my iMac computer, what gives?
mac000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 05:27 PM   #5
Electro Funk
macrumors 65816
 
Electro Funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Opium Garden
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac000
thats exactly what I'm trying to do, but for some reason when i go to Servers~ on my macbook, i find no indication for an option to click on the name of my iMac computer, what gives?
assuming you have all computers connected to the network and powered on just click on your HD on the MB or iMac and then click on network... choose what comp you want to connect to and then type in the user name and pw for the computer that you want to connect to...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.jpg
Views:	1326
Size:	227.3 KB
ID:	52653  
__________________
A casual stroll through the lunatic asylum shows that faith does not prove anything.
Friedrich Nietzche
Electro Funk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 05:37 PM   #6
Thanatoast
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver
Sometimes there is a short (or not so short) delay between the time that you opent he Network window and the time all the computers appear. Give it a minute or two and see if it magically shows up. This has happened to me a few times.
Thanatoast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 06:14 PM   #7
mac000
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electro Funk
assuming you have all computers connected to the network and powered on just click on your HD on the MB or iMac and then click on network... choose what comp you want to connect to and then type in the user name and pw for the computer that you want to connect to...

ok so personal file sharing is enable on both the iMac and the MacBook. I can connect to the MacBook from the iMac, BUT i cannot connect to the iMac from the MacBook. there is just no name under SERVERS~ or MY NETWORK~

and both have been enabled for hours... :-(

Last edited by mac000; Jul 14, 2006 at 06:21 PM.
mac000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 10:28 PM   #8
neomancer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Check if AppleTalk is active on both your computers. To do this go to "System Preferences" and choose "Network" then select "Built-in Ethernet" from the "Show" menu (or "AirPort" if your using a wireless connection). Now select the "AppleTalk" tab. Check if "Make AppleTalk Active" is selected, if not select it. I hope this cures your problem
neomancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 11:26 PM   #9
neocell
macrumors 65816
 
neocell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Great White North
copy down the afp:// address that shows up in System Preferences once you enable sharing (at the bottom of the window). Type this into Safari on your other computer. Everything should then work
__________________
12" G4 PB 1.33GHz 80GB HD 1.25GB
17" G4 iMac 1GHz 80GB HD 768MB
4G iPod 20GB
neocell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2006, 09:05 PM   #10
Electro Funk
macrumors 65816
 
Electro Funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Opium Garden
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac000
ok so personal file sharing is enable on both the iMac and the MacBook. I can connect to the MacBook from the iMac, BUT i cannot connect to the iMac from the MacBook. there is just no name under SERVERS~ or MY NETWORK~

and both have been enabled for hours... :-(
is the firewall enabled on you MB? try turning it off and then see if it appears...
__________________
A casual stroll through the lunatic asylum shows that faith does not prove anything.
Friedrich Nietzche
Electro Funk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connect thunderbolt macbook pro to 27" mini displayport imac? jmck iMac 5 Dec 27, 2013 12:26 AM
External Desktop-Grade GPU - any possibility to connect it to iMac/Macbook? iSomebody iMac 7 Oct 27, 2013 06:56 PM
can an iMac act as a thunderbolt hub when you connect a macbook air ? kronoss iMac 1 Oct 23, 2013 12:38 PM
Connect iMac and MacBook Pro. Fahad.A.D iMac 2 Jan 21, 2013 12:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps