Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 14, 2006, 01:10 PM   #1
Chip NoVaMac
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
IMac G5 woes

Some may remember about 4 weeks ago I had a constant rebooting problem with my iMac G5 (rev b IIRC, it was the G5 just before the adding of the iSight). After some frustration of two visits to drop the iMac off for repair (stupid me for expecting that showing up before the doors opened would allow me not to wait till 8PM for the first Genus appointment for that day. ).

So after my second visit a day later, the next day my iMac was repaired. They replaced the power supply. All was well till this week when the same problem showed up again. Now they are replacing the logic board.

I am concerned, despite assurances, that there could be no problems with the second power supply. Is this possible, or could I be facing yet a third visit weeks down the road?
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 01:18 PM   #2
DevilsRejection
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I would demand a replacement unit
DevilsRejection is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 01:20 PM   #3
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
If it happens again demand a replacement.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 01:25 PM   #4
dcv
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2005
Sounds very familiar. My Rev B iMac is also currently broken. It's had its PSU replaced before and now the logic board has gone - it won't power up. I haven't had a chance to back mine up and take it in for repair yet but must do so asap.

Hope they get yours working soon! Believe me, I know how frustrating this is and the 20" is heavy to lug around. What makes things more annoying is that mine is wall-mounted so taking it in for repair means having to detach the VESA plate and reattach the normal desk stand every time...
__________________
.
dcv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 01:39 PM   #5
4God
macrumors 68000
 
4God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: My Mac
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian
If it happens again demand a replacement.
Ditto. I wouldn't keep messing with same unit, not worth the headache.
4God is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 01:45 PM   #6
Chip NoVaMac
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by dietcokevanilla
Sounds very familiar. My Rev B iMac is also currently broken. It's had its PSU replaced before and now the logic board has gone - it won't power up. I haven't had a chance to back mine up and take it in for repair yet but must do so asap.
I share your pain. Add to that I was given a 9:15AM appointment (which was fine by me), yet Tyson Corner Mall does not open up the main parking lots till like 9:30 or 10:00AM. So I had to park in a loading zone that had a 30 minute limit (heck, I am an older guy with a bad knee - refuse to apply for handicap plates, my knee is not that bad; but bad enough that I don't want extra stairs or a longer walk with the likes of the 20" iMac under my arm).

What ticks me off is that I have AppleCare. Yet to make the most of my limited "free time" - I work retail - I am being told that I need the ProCare Plan. Otherwise I have play the waiting game for a G Bar appointment that may just be a pain.
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 01:47 PM   #7
Chip NoVaMac
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian
If it happens again demand a replacement.
I would like to think that if it were to happen a third time, I would have a basis on a replacement unit. Not something that I would really want though.
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 09:30 PM   #8
Chip NoVaMac
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Well I got my iMac G5 back today, and guess what the same problem after a motherboard replacement.

So now I have a new CPU and motherboard, and no solution as of yet.
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 09:34 PM   #9
iGary
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Randy's House
Time to craft a well-written letter to exectutive relations, documenting everything from the start.
iGary is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 09:40 PM   #10
Chip NoVaMac
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGary
Time to craft a well-written letter to exectutive relations, documenting everything from the start.
Thanks for the support. I am thinking one more try at a repair, before going that route. Figure that three times and their are out would work nicely.
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 09:54 PM   #11
trainguy77
macrumors 68040
 
trainguy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Send a message via AIM to trainguy77 Send a message via MSN to trainguy77 Send a message via Yahoo to trainguy77
They may have been correct when they figured out there was a dead power supply. But what they may have failed to deal with is the power supply may have been undervolting the equipment for awhile. Which means most of the hardware is damaged and will fail in the future which would explain why the logic-board went. Good luck. But if there is one more problem try get a replacement.
trainguy77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 10:02 PM   #12
Counterfit
macrumors 601
 
Counterfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: sitting on your shoulder
I think most lemon laws specify three repair attempts for the same problem, but I think they also specify a time frame from purchase. Of course, Apple usually replaces units if they go in a 3rd or 4th time for the same issue, so hopefully it'll get resolved either way.
__________________
"People shouldn't use word processors as web development tools. It's like using a domestic cat to spread butter on your toast." -ad
Counterfit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 10:13 PM   #13
Chip NoVaMac
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Counterfit
I think most lemon laws specify three repair attempts for the same problem, but I think they also specify a time frame from purchase. Of course, Apple usually replaces units if they go in a 3rd or 4th time for the same issue, so hopefully it'll get resolved either way.
Well my iMac is just one year old. And this third repair attempt (when I bring in tomorrow) in the last 30 days.
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 10:17 PM   #14
ironic23
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Did you buy the system online? I usually buy my macs through this specific person through the phone and she gives me the most awesome service. If there's a problem she tries to get me a replacement unit for me without too much explanations. Especially if you buy Apple Care protection, she will treat you with the utmost urgency. But yeah, bug them for a replacement unit.
ironic23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 10:48 PM   #15
steamboat26
macrumors 65816
 
steamboat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arlington VA
Send a message via AIM to steamboat26 Send a message via Yahoo to steamboat26
Were iMac G5s rushed into development, or what? i have heard of a lemon, but it sounds like EVERYTHING is messed up on this guys computer. No wonder they weren't using G5s that long...
__________________
-Mac Mini duo core 1.66 Ghz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HD, Mac OS 10.4.10
-iPod Nano 4 GB Black
-iMac G3 500 Mhz, 384 MB RAM, 20 GB HD, Mac OS 10.3.9
steamboat26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 10:59 PM   #16
trainguy77
macrumors 68040
 
trainguy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Send a message via AIM to trainguy77 Send a message via MSN to trainguy77 Send a message via Yahoo to trainguy77
Quote:
Originally Posted by steamboat26
No wonder they weren't using G5s that long...
They started using them in June, 2003. They have been using them for awhile.
trainguy77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 11:15 PM   #17
steamboat26
macrumors 65816
 
steamboat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arlington VA
Send a message via AIM to steamboat26 Send a message via Yahoo to steamboat26
Quote:
Originally Posted by trainguy77
They started using them in June, 2003. They have been using them for awhile.
my mistake, i never used a G5
__________________
-Mac Mini duo core 1.66 Ghz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HD, Mac OS 10.4.10
-iPod Nano 4 GB Black
-iMac G3 500 Mhz, 384 MB RAM, 20 GB HD, Mac OS 10.3.9
steamboat26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 11:19 PM   #18
Jovian9
macrumors 68000
 
Jovian9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Planet Zebes
Apple Customer Relations have replaced 2 of my Macs before;
17" PB G4 Alu and a 17" iMac G5 RevA

I have been told both times that after 3 "major" repairs I could get a new replacement. Logic board, power supply, screen, hard drive were all considered major repairs while optical drive is not or was not when my machines were repaired.
If it happens again call Customer Relations and request a new machine.
__________________
Xbox Live = Phaedon = NNID
Jovian9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 05:35 AM   #19
Chip NoVaMac
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Thanks for all the support gang.

Surprises of surprises, I was able to snag a 9:15AM appointment this morning.
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 05:44 AM   #20
dcv
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2005
Ugh, sorry to hear it's still not fixed. Hope they can do something with it today.

As for my lemon, I managed to swap the hard disk out and back it up yesterday. Was planning on lugging it in to work with me one day this week and then taking it on the tube to the store at lunchtime, but given that it's supposed to be 35C in London this week, I don't fancy that idea much. The stupid shop isn't open outside of my working hours


Let us know how it goes today... *fingers crossed*
__________________
.
dcv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 10:46 AM   #21
Chip NoVaMac
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Update as of this morning

Got at the Apple Store at 9:00AM. The Genius was late, so one of the managers took care of me after handling the 9AM appointment.

Kindness goes along way I guess. I was firm, but tried to be jovial over the trials and tribulations of the 'constantly rebooting iMac". I asked for the date of my first repair. It could not be found. I mentioned that I wanted that info in case I had to go to Cuptino if this third repair didn't fix the issue.

The manager I was working with, said not to worry. Because I was so nice about everything, she would personally see to it that I got a replacement if I had problems after this third attempt. Regardless of the missing repair record.
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 10:48 AM   #22
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip NoVaMac
Got at the Apple Store at 9:00AM. The Genius was late, so one of the managers took care of me after handling the 9AM appointment.

Kindness goes along way I guess. I was firm, but tried to be jovial over the trials and tribulations of the 'constantly rebooting iMac". I asked for the date of my first repair. It could not be found. I mentioned that I wanted that info in case I had to go to Cuptino if this third repair didn't fix the issue.

The manager I was working with, said not to worry. Because I was so nice about everything, she would personally see to it that I got a replacement if I had problems after this third attempt. Regardless of the missing repair record.
You didn't get a case number? I got a print out with my iPod Shuffle repair as proof it happened. I always make sure to get a support ticket number. It proves my support happened.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 10:50 AM   #23
dcv
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip NoVaMac
The manager I was working with, said not to worry. Because I was so nice about everything, she would personally see to it that I got a replacement if I had problems after this third attempt. Regardless of the missing repair record.
Well that's good news then
__________________
.
dcv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 10:58 AM   #24
Chip NoVaMac
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian
You didn't get a case number? I got a print out with my iPod Shuffle repair as proof it happened. I always make sure to get a support ticket number. It proves my support happened.
I have that paperwork buried here somewhere. I know better now on keeping repair records.

BTW, another manager, that is a customer of mine, caught up with as I was leaving. We chatted about what was going on with my iMac. He tossed out that it could be my HDD. They will try to boot off an external HDD and see if the problem replicates itself. I am now hoping that 10.4.6 and 10.4.7 and my software is not the issue.

A side question, if the iMac needs to be replaced - what will they replace it with? Will they make me wait till another iMac G5 20" comes available as a refurb, or will it be a new Intel iMac?
__________________
It is fast approaching the point where I don't want to elect anyone stupid enough to want the job. - Bombeck
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 10:59 AM   #25
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip NoVaMac
A side question, if the iMac needs to be replaced - what will they replace it with? Will they make me wait till another iMac G5 20" comes available as a refurb, or will it be a new Intel iMac?
There's a slim chance of an Intel iMac. I know someone that had their iBook replace with the low end MacBook.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 i7 iMac Power Up Woes DrewJW Mac Basics and Help 3 Dec 31, 2013 02:30 PM
More late 2012 27" iMac woes DrewDaHilp1 iMac 4 Feb 27, 2013 01:35 PM
3 week old 27" iMac woes DrewDaHilp1 iMac 28 Feb 19, 2013 05:30 PM
iMac 21.5" Headset Woes SilencedBacon iMac 0 Dec 17, 2012 02:44 PM
mid-late 27" 2011 iMac Graphic Card Woes reluttr iMac 3 Oct 18, 2012 01:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC