Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 15, 2006, 05:30 PM   #1
anotherjeff
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Honolulu
Using ipod USB power brick for other devices

I'm about to go to Egypt and I would like to dump some power adapters and just use the ipod's USB brick and various USB cables to power my cell phone, DS lite, etc. has anyone tried this, I would rather not fry everything.
__________________
12" PB rev. C, superdrive, 1.25 GB ram.
Airport Extreme
15gb Ipod 3g, blue sock.
Had a performa 600 aka IIvx in the 90s, one of the worst Macs ever.
anotherjeff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2006, 05:50 PM   #2
ChrisBrightwell
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
You should be fine. The output on the USB adapter should be a standard 5v source, since the actual adapter does all the conversion for you.

If you're that worried about it, a good voltage adapter is cheap. Try a local travel store.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2006, 06:00 PM   #3
mojohanna
macrumors 6502a
 
mojohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cleveland
You need to be careful and compare the Apple brick's output to the other devices chargers and what their outputs are. Higher outputs on the Apple end could cause damage and lower may cause other problems such as longer charging times.

I don't think the damage would be to the actual component being charged, but moreso to the battery itself.

I may be wrong, i am no expert, but I would look into it more and not assume it would be fine.
__________________
Al MB 2.4 2G ram
mojohanna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2006, 07:09 PM   #4
Sesshi
Banned
 
Sesshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: One Nation Under Gordon
An alternative would be to take this USB2.0 hub with you.

http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProdu...duct_Id=196181

Without a computer connected, it will still supply power to connected USB devices. So you can recharge up to 4 devices at once. I can confirm that the UK version at least is supplied with a world voltage supply.
Sesshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2006, 10:46 PM   #5
Counterfit
macrumors 601
 
Counterfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: sitting on your shoulder
Just to be safe, I would go with Sesshi's suggestion.
__________________
"People shouldn't use word processors as web development tools. It's like using a domestic cat to spread butter on your toast." -ad
Counterfit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 01:43 AM   #6
ChrisBrightwell
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojohanna
You need to be careful and compare the Apple brick's output to the other devices chargers and what their outputs are. Higher outputs on the Apple end could cause damage and lower may cause other problems such as longer charging times.
This just doesn't make sense to me.

The same iPod works on any computer in the world. USB has a *standard* output, which the iPod was designed to work with. In turn, the USB charger was designed to mimic that *standard* USB interface.

I see absolutely no reason whatsoever why the Apple iPod USB Charger won't work for any and all USB devices. I've used it for half a dozen devices myself, all domestically, and it's worked like a charm.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 01:45 AM   #7
ChrisBrightwell
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesshi
An alternative would be to take this USB2.0 hub with you.

http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProdu...duct_Id=196181

Without a computer connected, it will still supply power to connected USB devices. So you can recharge up to 4 devices at once. I can confirm that the UK version at least is supplied with a world voltage supply.
... How is that any different than the USB charger?

(weird voltage) --> power connection --> usb output --> usb-charged device
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 04:47 PM   #8
Sesshi
Banned
 
Sesshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: One Nation Under Gordon
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBrightwell
... How is that any different than the USB charger?

(weird voltage) --> power connection --> usb output --> usb-charged device

Last time I checked, 4 > 1.
Sesshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2006, 11:31 PM   #9
ChrisBrightwell
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesshi
Last time I checked, 4 > 1.
Last time I checked, the OP didn't ask for four USB connections. He asked if the USB power adapter would work.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 12:38 AM   #10
davefan6435
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madison, WI
I tried using the USB power brick for my RAZR V3i and the only thing it did was allow the phone to turn on, but not charge. Just my $.02
__________________
1.42 ghz Mac Mini
5G Black iPod
davefan6435 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 03:38 AM   #11
Sesshi
Banned
 
Sesshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: One Nation Under Gordon
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBrightwell
Last time I checked, the OP didn't ask for four USB connections. He asked if the USB power adapter would work.

"just use the ipod's USB brick and various USB cables to power my cell phone, DS lite, etc"

I figured in his situation he'd appreciate being able to charge multiple machines. Plus if the PSU gets fried for any reason the Belkin has a lifetime warranty. No need to be so arsy, dude.
Sesshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2006, 09:27 AM   #12
mojohanna
macrumors 6502a
 
mojohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cleveland
Quote:
Originally Posted by davefan6435
I tried using the USB power brick for my RAZR V3i and the only thing it did was allow the phone to turn on, but not charge. Just my $.02
Exactyly my point from my previous post. This is why only certain wattage power bricks will work on planes. Anything over 75 watts will not charge the battery poperly and can cause damage. They rec. removal of the battery.

Do what you want to do, just check the volts that the brick outputs versus the max input on the device. Every device I have ever looked at, it lists this information.
__________________
Al MB 2.4 2G ram
mojohanna is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Used IPOD Touch 3.1.3 NEED HELP dazedconfused iPod 1 Nov 7, 2010 02:43 PM
using 85w power brick on other MBP's Davidsilence MacBook Pro 13 Apr 30, 2010 04:28 PM
[Confirmed] 27" iMac could be used as an external display for other devices iMacKeung iMac 12 Dec 9, 2009 08:32 PM
FS: iPod/iPhone USB Power Brick $10 shipped JackSYi Marketplace Archive 2 1 Jun 10, 2008 01:04 AM
iPod Shuffle and USB Power Brick? meathane iPod 3 Jun 18, 2005 09:35 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC