Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 19, 2006, 01:09 PM   #1
zephead
macrumors 68000
 
zephead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: in your pants
Is Airport Extreme PC-compatible?

We're thinking about getting a new wireless router soon since there's something wrong with ours (I'm on the neighbor's wireless I know, I'm terrible) and just wanted to know if Airport Extreme would be PC-compatible. Thanks for the replies.
__________________
California sunlight, Sweet Calcutta rain, Honolulu starbright, The Song Remains the Same....
13" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz/250/4/10.6.5/ ~ iPhone 3G/16/4.0
zephead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 01:14 PM   #2
michaeldmartin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Testicles. That is all.
Send a message via AIM to michaeldmartin
Apple's airport extreme line of products is just rebraded 802.11G wifi, so yeah, it will work, but not with everything (not some pocket pcs and other perhapials) I would suggest you get a linksys. Whatever you do; stay away from belkin and netgear! (Those routers are cheaply and badly made)
michaeldmartin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 01:20 PM   #3
jayb2000
macrumors 6502a
 
jayb2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: RI -> CA -> ME
Send a message via AIM to jayb2000
Yes, I have it and it works great.
I have great range and its a breeze to setup.

I connect from several computers (Win and OS X) with 801.11b and 802.11g cards from Compaq, linksys, etc.
jayb2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 03:32 PM   #4
cuestakid
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Fran
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldmartin
Apple's airport extreme line of products is just rebraded 802.11G wifi, so yeah, it will work, but not with everything (not some pocket pcs and other perhapials) I would suggest you get a linksys. Whatever you do; stay away from belkin and netgear! (Those routers are cheaply and badly made)

Ok now i am very concerned-i have a belkin router at my house right now and i am going to be getting a mac pretty soon-are u saying that belkin routers wont work with my new mac-its not a HUGE deal because i am in college and am not home that often so i guess i could just use my laptop when im home but even so i would like to know if belkin routers and apple dont mix

if it helps we have a Pre-N belkin wireless router
cuestakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 03:48 PM   #5
dansgil
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuestakid
Ok now i am very concerned-i have a belkin router at my house right now and i am going to be getting a mac pretty soon-are u saying that belkin routers wont work with my new mac-its not a HUGE deal because i am in college and am not home that often so i guess i could just use my laptop when im home but even so i would like to know if belkin routers and apple dont mix

if it helps we have a Pre-N belkin wireless router
Pre-N routers won't work with any Macs, sorry. For a new router, I recommend the Linksys WRT54G or WRT54GC (more compact version). I have used both flawlessly with my Macs. Don't botehr getting version with "Speedboster" or "Rangebooster" as Macs aren't compatible with those technologies.

Hope this helps.

-DG
__________________
27" iMac (Late 2012)
dansgil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 04:15 PM   #6
erikamsterdam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: amsterdam
I can highly recommend the Airport Extreme. Great range, USB printer sharing works perfect, also for the XP box, and you can hook it up to your stereo to play music from your computer wirelessly. Fabulous!
erikamsterdam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 04:31 PM   #7
baleensavage
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: On an island in Maine
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldmartin
stay away from belkin and netgear!
I've been using Netgear's routers at home and at work and have never had a problem (except with their VPN hardware). With that said Linksys has a really good reputation. I see no reason to buy an Airport for a Mac or PC network. They are really expensive and you are paying for the Apple name and the "cool design." Wireless routers are a dime a dozen at places like Best Buy, Circuit City and even Walmart.
baleensavage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 04:59 PM   #8
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansgil
For a new router, I recommend the Linksys WRT54G or WRT54GC (more compact version).
The WRTs also have the distinction of being highly customizable with third party firmware....

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 09:22 PM   #9
DarkNetworks
macrumors 68000
 
DarkNetworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
the older versions of WRTs are pretty customizable but the new ones i doubt it...
__________________
procrastination is truly a tool of the devil...
DarkNetworks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 09:46 PM   #10
benthewraith
macrumors 68030
 
benthewraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Send a message via AIM to benthewraith Send a message via MSN to benthewraith
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldmartin
Apple's airport extreme line of products is just rebraded 802.11G wifi, so yeah, it will work, but not with everything (not some pocket pcs and other perhapials) I would suggest you get a linksys. Whatever you do; stay away from belkin and netgear! (Those routers are cheaply and badly made)
Okay, Michael...to let you know, do you know that Belkin uses the exact same hardware as Linksys?

In fact, with a bit editor, you can get linksys firmware on belkin routers and they'd work flawlessly.

Noteon't get v.5 of the Linksys router. Check Tom's Networking for the reason as to why.
__________________
Late-2013 13" rMBP, 2.4GHz, 8 GB RAM 250GB SSD; iPhone 5C 16GB
benthewraith is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 10:42 PM   #11
cuestakid
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Fran
why wont pre-n routers work-i have a 802.11 g wireless card in my dell laptop and i can connect to it no problem-pre n is backwards compatible

can someone elaborate on this-would the wireless card in an imac work
cuestakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 10:46 PM   #12
benthewraith
macrumors 68030
 
benthewraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Send a message via AIM to benthewraith Send a message via MSN to benthewraith
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuestakid
why wont pre-n routers work-i have a 802.11 g wireless card in my dell laptop and i can connect to it no problem-pre n is backwards compatible

can someone elaborate on this-would the wireless card in an imac work
It will, but if there are any computers connected via N, their bandwidth would immediately drop down to g. So if you want 100+MBps transfer rate, your actually going to get 54Mbps transfer rate for all computers.
__________________
Late-2013 13" rMBP, 2.4GHz, 8 GB RAM 250GB SSD; iPhone 5C 16GB
benthewraith is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 10:54 PM   #13
cuestakid
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Fran
well thats fine- like i said, i am in college and am not home that often and if i do come home for a weekend or something like that i will just bring my laptop-winter break however is another story but it sounds like it will at least work and be reasonably fast

EDIT-no computer in the network at my house is N-only the router
cuestakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 10:58 PM   #14
benthewraith
macrumors 68030
 
benthewraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Send a message via AIM to benthewraith Send a message via MSN to benthewraith
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuestakid
well thats fine- like i said, i am in college and am not home that often and if i do come home for a weekend or something like that i will just bring my laptop-winter break however is another story but it sounds like it will at least work and be reasonably fast

EDIT-no computer in the network at my house is N-only the router
No need to worry then.

I can also testify that an Airport Extreme Card will work on a Linksys WRT54g w/ Speedbooster.
__________________
Late-2013 13" rMBP, 2.4GHz, 8 GB RAM 250GB SSD; iPhone 5C 16GB
benthewraith is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2006, 02:42 AM   #15
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkNetworks
the older versions of WRTs are pretty customizable but the new ones i doubt it...
They've all been hacked, including the newer V5 and V6 hardware, of course the newer ones, including the WRT54GL have less memory than their earlier counterparts so they are less functional.


Here's the no hardware mod required hack for the V5 and V6
http://www.bitsum.com/openwiking/owb...?WRT54G5%5FCFE

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use an old graphite AirPort Extreme to extend a 2011 5th gen Airprort Extreme? tevion5 Mac Peripherals 7 Jun 27, 2013 09:45 PM
dual airport extreme setup question. new extreme involved chuffman15 Mac Peripherals 3 Jun 19, 2013 11:46 PM
AirPort Extreme-compatible TiVo n-speed wifi adapter? jent Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 3 Feb 17, 2013 11:06 PM
Airport Extreme A1143 dying - replace with Extreme or Express? eoren1 Mac Peripherals 1 Sep 24, 2012 12:13 AM
Replacing airport extreme with express. Can you run the extreme as a hub mellofello Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 26, 2012 11:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC