Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 23, 2006, 06:23 AM   #1
annk
Administrator
 
annk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
iPod recognized as Windows-formatted??

My husband's iPod has only been used on his Power Book, until recently when he plugged it into my Power Book for one transfer. Since then, each time he plugs his iPod into his PB, he gets this message:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Bilde 2.png
Views:	33
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	53328

The info on top is just general info about the iPod. The sentence on top, below, where the button is greyed out, says that only Macintosh-formatted iPods can be updated. Under that, it asks if he wants to build it up again from scratch, with the factory settings.

I can't give very specific info, unfortunately. He's not sure himself what he did when, and my questions haven't yielded any specific responses. All I know, is that his iPod has never been used with anything other than two PBs.

Anyone know what to do about this? I've told him to hold off downloading any updates until we get some ideas here. So far, he's just closed the window, then proceeded to update his iPod with the most recent content (he has the iPod set to update content manually). So the message doesnt seem to keep him from using his iPod as normal. Obviously, he doesn't want to build it up again with the factory settings.
annk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2006, 06:49 AM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
It's sad, but my 4G iPod came formatted for Windows by default.

It's nothing to worry about in most cases. However, as you know, you will need a PC to update the firmware. Alternatively, he could scrub it and use it as a Mac-formatted iPod but since his songs are managed manually, it could be annoying having to find and re-sync everything. If you could find a PC and use that for a minute or so, that'd probably be your easiest option.

In most cases, the latest firmware isn't essential but it'd be nice to be using it all the same.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2006, 07:00 AM   #3
annk
Thread Starter
Administrator
 
annk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
It's sad, but my 4G iPod came formatted for Windows by default.

It's nothing to worry about in most cases. However, as you know, you will need a PC to update the firmware. Alternatively, he could scrub it and use it as a Mac-formatted iPod but since his songs are managed manually, it could be annoying having to find and re-sync everything. If you could find a PC and use that for a minute or so, that'd probably be your easiest option.

In most cases, the latest firmware isn't essential but it'd be nice to be using it all the same.
Oops, I realised that his iPod WAS Windoze-formatted, but that was only til he bought his PB a year ago. Sorry for the confusion. He reformatted when he got the PB last summer, and the iPod has behaved itself until recently. The only thing I can think of, is that the problem started after he plugged it into my PB (which recognized it as his iPod, and didn't make any problems for me in the aftermath with my own iPod).

I think the content on his iPod and in his iTunes is identical. If that's the case, maybe I should just have him rebuild the thing back to factory specs, then download the latest update for both iTunes and iPod and upgrade the iPod. Then he can set the the update prefs to automatic to reimport all his content. After he reimports all his content to his iPod, he can go back to manual import if he wants.

Make sense, at least as a solution? I don't know if we'll ever know why the computer suddenly decided the iPod was Windoze-formatted again.
annk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2006, 07:05 AM   #4
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Maybe his iPod has been out seeing other PCs... I'd keep an eye on it if I were you, these things can get around...


Quote:
Originally Posted by annk
I think the content on his iPod and in his iTunes is identical. If that's the case, maybe I should just have him rebuild the thing back to factory specs, then download the latest update for both iTunes and iPod and upgrade the iPod. Then he can set the the update prefs to automatic to reimport all his content. After he reimports all his content to his iPod, he can go back to manual import if he wants.

I think that's probably the best solution at this stage. The great thing about iPods is that they're so simple to reformat (if you automatically sync libraries/playlists). Of course, the Windows formatted iPod should still work properly with his PowerBook so you should be able to let it be too. It's up to you.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2006, 07:46 AM   #5
annk
Thread Starter
Administrator
 
annk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
Maybe his iPod has been out seeing other PCs... I'd keep an eye on it if I were you, these things can get around...




Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
I think that's probably the best solution at this stage. The great thing about iPods is that they're so simple to reformat (if you automatically sync libraries/playlists). Of course, the Windows formatted iPod should still work properly with his PowerBook so you should be able to let it be too. It's up to you.
Yeah, I could let it be, except then it won't let him install any updates. We're leaving for a couple weeks' vacation tomorrow, and since I'm the resident Mac support person in the house, it'll have to wait til we get back. Thanks for your help MJ.
annk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Petition Apple to improve iPod nano as a watch sherwinzadeh iPod 9 Jan 26, 2012 06:10 PM
Ipod crashes computer, recognized as digital still camera mouse9 iPod 8 Jan 28, 2011 10:57 AM
2nd Generation iPod Touch Now Recognized as Separate (mic.) Device in ♫iTunes♫ Store? pismodude2 iPod touch 2 Oct 17, 2008 06:59 AM
ipod touch recognized as digital camera in XP darkmeton iPod touch 2 Aug 17, 2008 08:24 AM
How do I mount an ISO as such that its recognized as a CD-ROM? omgwut Mac Basics and Help 0 Sep 3, 2006 04:48 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC