Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 25, 2006, 03:16 PM   #1
BabyApple
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Send a message via AIM to BabyApple
Ethernet problem. Storm?

a couple days ago we had a storm, nothing too major, and I don't even know if that has anything to do with this, but our power went out a few times, for about 5 seconds each. I have a surge protector on my computer.

well when i turned on my computert the next day. my interent didn't work. and now it says that i am not hooked up to the internet. I tried unplugging the ethernet cords and using different ports on that box thing, I think its called the router.(sorry I don't know the terminology) and still nothing. However my moms computer (windows) is hooked up to the same router and her internet works fine.

I was thinking that it could be the cord? its really long and kinda old and its all tangled in a few places.

I'm going to replace the cord...but if that doesn't work what should I do? I've being reading about fried ethernet. Any suggestions?
BabyApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2006, 03:21 PM   #2
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
If you can get a new cord and plug it into the port your mom is currently using, you could verify that at least that port works with your Mac. You might even want to try this with your current cable. Likewise, try plugging your mom's cable into where yours is currently plugged in and see if that works. If it does, then it's almost undoubtedly the cable, although it's possible you somehow messed up your network settings.

If you go to System Preferences...->Network->"Show: Network Status", does it say the Ethernet port is currently active?
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2006, 03:24 PM   #3
Fleetwood Mac
macrumors 65816
 
Fleetwood Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
A couple things to try;

Restart the box (yes, its called a router) and for good measure, the cable/dsl browser as well (if you have one)-I'm assuming you've already restarted your Mac.

If that doesn't help at all you can open the Network Utility under Utilities in the Applications folder.

If not selected, although it probably will be when you start up the program, select NI (en0)-that's ethernet. This is all under the info tab by the way. If the [IP] address is something like 192.168.1.101 then you might have a deeper problem that would require more thourough diagnostics, but if its something 144.3.0.0 then its probably a matter of just a bad connection/cable as you suggested. Worst case, your ethernet card is not functional and won't show up in the Network Utility, but I think that this scenario is quite unlikely.
__________________
"I'm just second hand news..."
Fleetwood Mac.
Fleetwood Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2006, 03:44 PM   #4
Fearless Leader
macrumors 68020
 
Fearless Leader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wonderland
recently we had a storm and it fried three computers (i thought it was surge protector ) and a cable modem but only the ethernet jack.
__________________
Oh yes mustard! That'll do... Mustard? Don't let's be silly. Now lemon, that's different...
Fearless Leader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2006, 05:34 PM   #5
BabyApple
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Send a message via AIM to BabyApple
hmm...

I tried using a new ethernet cable...didn't work. I restarted the box...didn't work. Switched all the cords around to different ports..didn't work. when I went to System Preferences...->Network->"Show: Network Status it didn't show ethernet. It only said that airport and the internal modem were inactive. I played around a little and it tried to connect to PPP ethernet. but failed to.

so any suggestions on what to do next? Should I call Apple, or comcast? Do I need to repair or replace something?

thanks for the advice

ahh...so frustrating
BabyApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2006, 05:46 PM   #6
ChrisBrightwell
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
One of your tubes probably got disconnected.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2006, 10:23 PM   #7
rglatter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Arkansas
lol chris...

I had this same problem with my internet after a storm. I was freaking out because my ethernet is run across my whole house up through the atic..anyways..waht I did to fix it was my cable modem needed to be restarted. im not sure if you tried that but it might help. If that dosent work im not sure if you have tried this or not but you said your moms computers internet was working unplug the network cable out of the back of that computer and plug it into the ethernet port on your mac. if that dosent work I would call apple and tell them of your situation. They should be able to give you suggestions and tell you what to do.
rglatter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2006, 07:03 PM   #8
catriona
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Ethernet Problem. Storm?

I had an almost identical situation with my ethernet connection after a storm except I can see the ethernet - en0 with a an IP of 159.134.205.160 (is that significant? ) in the network utility but when I try to connect (using PPPoE as per ISP) the network status shows "cable not connected" - while it actually is. Setup works fine with a PC. SO - port is "blown"? What to do now? No Mac specialists near me. Wonder how you got on with your machine - did Mac shop give you any advice?
Catriona
catriona is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2006, 11:16 PM   #9
matticus008
macrumors 68040
 
matticus008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Sounds like a blown network card/port at this point. If your built-in ethernet isn't showing up as existing at all, it's toast. If you've got AppleCare, give them a call, but I don't know whether it's covered. Check your surge protector warranty; if you've got a nice one, you might be covered wherever the router was plugged in (since the surge came through the router from the wall or the modem, depending on your setup). There's a pretty high chance you're SOL--I lost three PCI modems and one PC power supply in a single year when I lived in the Midwest many years ago, all of which I had to replace myself.

Usually, you'd expect a fried DSL/cable modem from a line surge along that path, but I suppose it's possible that the modem and the router both survived and your computer served as a ground in the surge, receiving all the damage.

The solution would be to pay to replace the built-in ethernet if it's not covered (expensive) or to buy a USB ethernet adapter (cheap) to reconnect to the Internet. I would also suggest surge protection for your DSL or cable connection using a quality surge protector.
__________________
Macs: MBP (2009) 2.66 OS X 10.6.4
iMac 3.06, G5 Dual 2.7, MythTV, G4 Cube
I am not your lawyer; any discussion is purely academic and not legal advice.
matticus008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2006, 10:34 AM   #10
catriona
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Ethernet Problem. Storm?

It'll probably be the USB ethernet adapter as you suggest , once the patient has had the "once over" by Mac knowledgable friend.
Well at least now I won't drive it for 2 hours to find all it required was some really simple thing I should have done.

Out of curiosity, using Network Utility, notice IP addresses for en0 and fw0 are the same - both when disconnected (now shows 10.64.64.64) and when attempting to connect ethernet (143.3.8.0). The aforementioned 159.134.205.etc occurs when the modem is running. Is this usual? The hardware addresses are different (fw0 being much longer than en0).

Thanks,
Catriona
catriona is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 iMac Ethernet problem Mikey86uk iMac 1 Jun 22, 2013 06:09 PM
Problem with Ethernet Port nitronce MacBook Pro 5 Jun 18, 2013 07:51 AM
Thunderbolt to Ethernet Problem drober30 Mac Peripherals 7 Nov 1, 2012 12:29 AM
Ethernet Problem Pantomimehorse Mac Pro 18 Aug 8, 2012 11:20 AM
AirPort and Ethernet problem mrg89 Mac Basics and Help 0 Jun 1, 2012 12:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC