Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 5, 2006, 03:38 AM   #1
viccles
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Cant get Parallels to work

Downloaded trial of parallels. Says unexpected error. Am I downloading wrong version/doing something wrong?
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 05:46 AM   #2
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
I think we need a little more to go on...

What error message? When do you get it? Version of Parallels, downloaded from where? Your system? Etc.
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 03:01 PM   #3
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
I can't remember the error message exactly but it just wouldn't install after I downloaded it. I have a intel mac mini
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 04:28 PM   #4
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Try again. Start the download from scratch and run the installer. Grab a screenshot and post it if you still get the error message.

Could it be that you are not logged in as an admin?

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 04:56 PM   #5
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
I'm pretty sure I'm logged in as admin (I'll give the download another try)
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 05:33 PM   #6
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
I took a screenie of the error

__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 05:36 PM   #7
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
It appears that you're trying to run directly from the image. Copy the app to your Applications folder first.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 05:47 PM   #8
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal
It appears that you're trying to run directly from the image. Copy the app to your Applications folder first.
Tried that still doing the same thing
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 06:00 PM   #9
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Which machine are you trying to install this on? Specs and system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal
It appears that you're trying to run directly from the image. Copy the app to your Applications folder first.
And it seem he's doing the same thing with MSN Messenger...
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 06:24 PM   #10
daveL
macrumors 68020
 
daveL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Montana
Are you sure you're downloading the "Desktop for Mac" and the "Workstation 2.1 for Windows and Linux"? Just a thought.
__________________
-daveL
daveL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 06:56 PM   #11
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitthrawnuruodo
Which machine are you trying to install this on? Specs and system?

And it seem he's doing the same thing with MSN Messenger...
LOL everyone assumes I'm a guy I'm a girl! but I'm trying to install it on mac mini 1.66 ghz core duo and I'm only a newbie to mac so be kind please I just downloaded the Desktop for Mac
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 09:48 PM   #12
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Bah I give up
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 09:56 PM   #13
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Vic, are you dragging the Parallels App out of the disk image and into your Applications folder? You seem to also be running Messenger from the disk image as well.

Once you drag the Application (the main icon) out of the disk image and into your Applications folder it will install. Then you eject the disk.

I'm going to make a quick picture show to see if you are following the right procedure.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room

Last edited by Chundles; Aug 5, 2006 at 10:16 PM.
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 10:09 PM   #14
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Hmm my abundance of (lack) knowledge about Macs is showing! I still can't get it to work
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 10:20 PM   #15
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Thanks Chundles I await
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 10:30 PM   #16
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Installation Procedure picture-show

Ok, here we go, this is an example of how to install most OSX applications.

First Step:


Which takes you to step 2:


And you get the picture...


Number 4:


Five:


Six:


Seven:


Eight:


Right, now, if you're following those instructions and still getting the error message when you run the application from within your applications folder then you have either a bad download or you may need to download something else that works with it - have a good read through on the Parallels web site.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2006, 11:24 PM   #17
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Funny. Here's what the DMG of Parallels I downloaded the other day contains.

I ran the PKG installer.

B
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Parallels.png
Views:	6
Size:	19.5 KB
ID:	54354  
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2006, 12:10 AM   #18
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Think because I messed with my system im formatting now
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2006, 12:43 AM   #19
Super Macho Man
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hollywood, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles
Ok, here we go, this is an example of how to install most OSX applications.

First Step:

Eight:
Holy cow, even I couldn't follow all that.

Here is the concise version viccles:

1) double-click on the file that ends in .dmg
2) watch as a new icon pops up on your desktop
3) double-click that and a window will open up
4) if there is an icon in this window that ends in .pkg, double-click it and ignore the rest of these steps, if not, proceed
5) drag the program icon out of it and into your Applications folder
6) close the window
7) drag both the .dmg and the icon it spawned to the trash
8) double-click on the program icon that you just dragged into your applications folder
Super Macho Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant get aim to work stealthsniper96 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Sep 15, 2007 04:07 PM
Cant get printer to work. rockworthy Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 11, 2007 08:09 PM
httpmail plugin- cant get it to work Sweener88 Mac Basics and Help 3 Aug 24, 2006 07:28 PM
Cant get speakers to work viccles Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 1, 2006 02:22 PM
cant get computer to work for shuffle SOS borednroom3 General Mac Discussion 2 Feb 27, 2005 11:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC