Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 8, 2006, 08:07 PM   #1
breakfastcrew
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
connecting macbook to windows network

ok....I can use my neigbors linysys network to go on the internet but I can't connect to my own belkins network. What do I need to do I have never use a mac before... I also want to share files between my dell desktop and macbook how do I set that up??
breakfastcrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2006, 08:52 PM   #2
breakfastcrew
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
hello plz help??
breakfastcrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2006, 09:14 PM   #3
steamboat26
macrumors 65816
 
steamboat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arlington VA
Send a message via AIM to steamboat26 Send a message via Yahoo to steamboat26
theres a sticky on this for a reason... Networking Guide (click).
And with regard to your belkin network you should just have to turn on airport (system preferences-network-airport-connect-turn airport on. And then in the top right corner your should see this icon Name:  Picture 1.png
Views: 3697
Size:  1.2 KB. Click on it and find the name of your network. If it has a password, enter it and you should connect. If that doesn't work, your router might be set up incorrectly.
__________________
-Mac Mini duo core 1.66 Ghz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HD, Mac OS 10.4.10
-iPod Nano 4 GB Black
-iMac G3 500 Mhz, 384 MB RAM, 20 GB HD, Mac OS 10.3.9
steamboat26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2006, 09:19 PM   #4
breakfastcrew
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by steamboat26
theres a sticky on this for a reason... Networking Guide (click).
And with regard to your belkin network you should just have to turn on airport (system preferences-network-airport-connect-turn airport on. And then in the top right corner your should see this icon Attachment 54616. Click on it and find the name of your network. If it has a password, enter it and you should connect. If that doesn't work, your router might be set up incorrectly.
What do you mean set up incorrectly?? My dell connects to it fine. Is there something I need to do on my desktop to set it up to accept a mac???
breakfastcrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2006, 09:38 PM   #5
steamboat26
macrumors 65816
 
steamboat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arlington VA
Send a message via AIM to steamboat26 Send a message via Yahoo to steamboat26
"Accept a mac?" I don't understand. To share files between a PC and Mac, just follow the network guide. If your mac connects to your neighbors wireless network fine, that can only mean that there is something wrong with your router. Does your network even show up when you click on the airport icon?
__________________
-Mac Mini duo core 1.66 Ghz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HD, Mac OS 10.4.10
-iPod Nano 4 GB Black
-iMac G3 500 Mhz, 384 MB RAM, 20 GB HD, Mac OS 10.3.9
steamboat26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 03:26 AM   #6
breakfastcrew
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I told you my dell laptop connects to the router fine. It has to be the mac....the airport thingie reads the my router but can't connect to it.
breakfastcrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 03:59 AM   #7
breakfastcrew
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
ok I followed exactly what the sticky said. Both my mac and pc can't recognize the address. When the author said "tick off" on the sticky does she mean enable or disable?? Can someone help me??
breakfastcrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 04:06 AM   #8
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 601
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Quote:
Originally Posted by breakfastcrew
ok I followed exactly what the sticky said. Both my mac and pc can't recognize the address. When the author said "tick off" on the sticky does she mean enable or disable?? Can someone help me??
Describe every step you follow on your Mac.

When you click the little icon shown in the post above, what do you see? Do you see a list of networks, including yours, or do you see 'no networks found'?

If you see your network, when you click on it, what happens?

Give us a step-by-step detail of what you are doing, and any error messages you are receiving.

P.S. Please note that if your network has a password, it likely is *NOT* a password that the Mac knows how to send by default. Each manufacturer of wireless base station has their own format for plain-text passwords. What you want to get is the 'hex key'. Then, on your Mac, make sure you select 'WEP 40/128-bit hex' from the 'Wireless Security' drop down box, then type your key in exactly. (It should be either 10 or 26 characters, (exactly 10, or exactly 26, not 'somewhere between 10 and 26,) using only the numbers 0-9, and the letters a-f.)
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 04:18 AM   #9
breakfastcrew
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
how do I know what my network is call? I think there is one on my list thats mine WLAN?
breakfastcrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 04:21 AM   #10
breakfastcrew
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
ok wait nvm I see my network but I still can't connect to it. On my mac when I click on my network it doesn't even ask me for a password it just say there was an error joining the airport network "name".
breakfastcrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 04:32 AM   #11
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 601
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
First, follow your Belkin's instructions on how to configure it. Including how to change your network's name.

Second, while doing that, make sure you don't have any security turned on. It sounds like you might have 'MAC filtering' on, which makes it so that only certain computers can connect to the network. See your Belkin's manual for how to check this, and either add your MacBook, or disable this security feature.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 04:43 AM   #12
breakfastcrew
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
mac filtering is off firewall is off I still can't connect. But I did manager to change the networks's name and it shows on my macbook. Any more ideas?? thx for helping.
breakfastcrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 04:52 AM   #13
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 601
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Sorry, not really enough information. If you live near an Apple Store, bring in the MacBook, the router (and its power supply,) and see if someone at the Genius Bar can help you out.

If I was sitting in front of your computer, I could probably be more help.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 04:55 AM   #14
breakfastcrew
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
are there any other settings that might prevent a strange laptop from connecting into my router??
breakfastcrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting to low-pref unsecured network before high-pref secured network thelatinist Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Oct 19, 2013 11:17 AM
Not Automatically connecting to Network on startup ? stuartrozier Mac Pro 2 Jun 2, 2013 05:08 PM
Automatically mounting a network drive (SMB) when connecting to the network Flore Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 2 Sep 15, 2012 07:34 PM
Macbook Not Connecting to Preferred Wifi network cketuri MacBook Pro 2 Aug 12, 2012 08:23 PM
Connecting MBA to Wired Windows 7 Network indiex16 MacBook Air 1 Aug 5, 2012 06:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC