Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kevinliu4

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 8, 2006
i'm new to mac. got my mac this afternoon.

could someone explain the .dmg file. i understand what it stands for but can i just delete it once the program has been installed? in windows terms, all i can gather is that its kinda like a zip and installer exe file in one. i may be way off.

i did a search but couldn't get a clear answer. i also saw the term "mount". what exactly does that mean? if someone can give me an explanation in windows terms, that would be even better ie; what is the windows equivalent if any.

thanks a lot!

dpaanlka

macrumors 601
Nov 16, 2004
Illinois
a dmg file is a disk image file

it functions exactly the same as the windows iso file

when you double click on it, a new "disk" shows up on your desktop, showing you the contents of the dmg file. mac os x treats this as if it were an actual hard drive that you have plugged into your computer. "mounting" is the act of allowing you to see the contents of a hard drive, by putting it onto the desktop. "unmounting" is removing the disk from the desktop, so it may be safely shut off (if it is a physical hard drive), or in the case of a disk image file, so the image can be deleted. you unmount a disk (hard disk, cd-rom, disk image) by dragging it to the trash

once you install the program (usually by dragging it into the applications folder), you can unmount the disk image and delete the dmg file

gauchogolfer

macrumors 603
Jan 28, 2005
American Riviera