Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 12, 2006, 04:07 PM   #1
KingYaba
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons.
Send a message via AIM to KingYaba
Power ISO files... need extraction program for OS X

I have tried looking around and can't seem to find a program that will extract this under OS X. I had a few files with a .daa extension and Power ISO will extract it under Windows. But is there an OS X equivalent?
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2006, 04:30 PM   #2
reh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arkansas
According to Wikipedia, only PowerISO can mount them.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_Access_Archive
reh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2006, 05:36 PM   #3
KingYaba
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons.
Send a message via AIM to KingYaba
Yeah I thought so. It's ok it's not urgent or anything. Plus I can always dig up the pc in the garage...
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2006, 05:53 PM   #4
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingYaba
Yeah I thought so. It's ok it's not urgent or anything. Plus I can always dig up the pc in the garage...
I assume you don't have an Intel Mac then... Seems like you could convert DAA to ISO easily in Parallels or Boot Camp...

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2006, 08:52 PM   #5
KingYaba
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons.
Send a message via AIM to KingYaba
No IntelMac (yet). Still waiting for these Rev. B MacBook Pros to come out.
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2007, 05:19 PM   #6
apathi0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Send a message via Yahoo to apathi0
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingYaba View Post
No IntelMac (yet). Still waiting for these Rev. B MacBook Pros to come out.
what is this about a B macbook pro? i bought one of them macbooks with the student special thing - i can only assume it's an A (first version)? *sigh. why don't i know this stuff...
apathi0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2007, 07:05 PM   #7
pan0rama
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: the bay
ok i know this thread is old, but,
I DO have an intel mac so does anyone have any suggestions for the best ISO converter? thx
pan0rama is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2007, 07:16 PM   #8
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by pan0rama View Post
ok i know this thread is old, but,
I DO have an intel mac so does anyone have any suggestions for the best ISO converter? thx
Run Windows in Boot Camp or Parallels/VMWare and run PowerISO? It's tho only thing that handles conversion of DAA files.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2007, 08:28 PM   #9
pan0rama
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: the bay
yup work in progress thx
pan0rama is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2008, 09:46 PM   #10
jincongz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
DAA converter

I know this is old, but anyone who googled this:
http://www.twilightedge.com/mac/daaconverter/
__________________
Macbook, 2.4GHz Penryn, 4GB RAM, 160GB HD; 8GB iTouch
jincongz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2008, 11:24 PM   #11
KingYaba
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
KingYaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Up the irons.
Send a message via AIM to KingYaba
Quote:
Originally Posted by jincongz View Post
I know this is old, but anyone who googled this:
http://www.twilightedge.com/mac/daaconverter/
Where were ya two years ago?
__________________
Texas: illegally acquired; universally admired.
KingYaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 07:04 AM   #12
jincongz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingYaba View Post
Where were ya two years ago?
Using my PC...
__________________
Macbook, 2.4GHz Penryn, 4GB RAM, 160GB HD; 8GB iTouch
jincongz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2008, 11:50 PM   #13
Draddy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jincongz View Post
Using my PC...
does anyone have one that works?


I've seen that programmed spammed everywhere, but it doesn't work.... I get the same error every time.


I also can't get the poweriso UNIX command to work either.... there are no instructions as to how.
Draddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2008, 11:31 AM   #14
-ajr-
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
PowerISO using xover

Hi,

i am sort of nu to this mac game, i am just getting into using windows appns on mac. i have crossover and i am trying to run poweriso . once i have the image file poweriso does not recognise the cd drive, so the blank cd does not show up to be burnt.

also, windows programs that need windows platform, can they be run using crossover?, or does bootcamp need to be set up?


any clues?

chrs.
-ajr- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2009, 07:04 PM   #15
tonyC4L
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draddy View Post
does anyone have one that works?


I've seen that programmed spammed everywhere, but it doesn't work.... I get the same error every time.


I also can't get the poweriso UNIX command to work either.... there are no instructions as to how.
there is a help file in the poweriso UNIX exec. just type in what you would to run it, but then add a space and type "-?" (without quotes of course). for example, if i have the exec in /Users/Tony/Downloads/poweriso, i would type in "/Users/Tony/Downloads/poweriso -?" and it brings up all the commands you can use with examples of how to use them.
__________________
20" iMac | 2.4 GHz C2D | 2GB DDR2 | 320GB SATA
tonyC4L is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are torrented Windows 8 .iso files bad? galaksy Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 4 May 29, 2014 10:47 PM
Can't use UDF ISO-13346 files? Utnac OS X 1 May 2, 2014 12:06 PM
How to make iso file from win 8 bootable files for bootcamp vigorito OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Dec 17, 2013 04:11 AM
Not opening rar. iso or zip files. rambam OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Nov 14, 2013 07:56 AM
Is there a good program to package a group of files into multiple rar files? east85 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Aug 27, 2012 03:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC