Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 15, 2006, 03:46 AM   #1
cdpilkington
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
BIOS set-up on MacBook pro

I don't suppose any clever person knows if it's possible to access the BIOS setup screen on windows XP? I've been told it usually comes about by pressing/holding the "delete" key whilst windows is loading. However, I can't seem to get it to appear on the Macbook pro whilst I load. I need to disable hyperthreading in the BIOS to get something to work, and this seems to be the way to do it.
Any ideas?
cdpilkington is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2006, 08:03 AM   #2
ilkevinli
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
There is no BIOS on Macs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdpilkington
I don't suppose any clever person knows if it's possible to access the BIOS setup screen on windows XP? I've been told it usually comes about by pressing/holding the "delete" key whilst windows is loading. However, I can't seem to get it to appear on the Macbook pro whilst I load. I need to disable hyperthreading in the BIOS to get something to work, and this seems to be the way to do it.
Any ideas?
ilkevinli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2006, 08:16 AM   #3
Queso
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Macs use Intel's Extensible Firmware Interface (EFI) to perform the same job as a BIOS. Intel have been trying to introduce this for years, but thanks to Microsoft dragging their feet, were unable to put it into any production units until Apple switched onto their processors. Therefore there is no BIOS screen on a Mac, as they don't have a BIOS.

Also, the Core Duo processor in the MacBook Pro does not use Hyperthreading, since HT is a method for a single core CPU to emulate a dual core one. You need to find a Windows app that will permit you to turn off the second processor core like you can in OSX.
Queso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2006, 08:38 AM   #4
grabberslasher
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Éire
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdpilkington
I don't suppose any clever person knows if it's possible to access the BIOS setup screen on windows XP? I've been told it usually comes about by pressing/holding the "delete" key whilst windows is loading. However, I can't seem to get it to appear on the Macbook pro whilst I load. I need to disable hyperthreading in the BIOS to get something to work, and this seems to be the way to do it.
Any ideas?
Edit your Boot.ini to include the option to disable HyperThreading. You don't need a BIOS.

"/ONECPU" or "/numcpu=1" will accomplish this.
grabberslasher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2006, 08:45 AM   #5
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by grabberslasher
Edit your Boot.ini to include the option to disable HyperThreading. You don't need a BIOS.

"/ONECPU" or "/numcpu=1" will accomplish this.
I believe that should be "/numproc=1", http://support.microsoft.com/kb/170756/

Good tip!

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2006, 02:11 PM   #6
cdpilkington
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Excellent, fixing the boot.ini file worked a treat. Thanks again!
cdpilkington is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2010, 07:56 PM   #7
neilyes
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
pls hel!

hello! how disable the memory options on the bios set up of macbook in order for me to install a dual boot with windows. it says that i need to disable memory options ie: caching and or shadowing.
neilyes is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Apple HD Cinema Display on Macbook Pro? veo321 MacBook Pro 3 Sep 26, 2011 08:14 PM
Fishy battery life/ CPU Usage on Macbook Pro njsa04playa MacBook Pro 8 Aug 27, 2011 06:03 PM
No automatic hibernate on MacBook Pro when battery runs low iwnz MacBook Pro 2 Mar 11, 2011 12:51 PM
Dual HD Monitors on MacBook Pro 15" - 2010 mbmobile MacBook Pro 8 Mar 10, 2011 02:11 PM
Having some bad flickering, and starting problems on macbook pro Big-Viscera MacBook Pro 0 Nov 9, 2010 06:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC