Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 18, 2006, 12:25 AM   #1
Littleodie914
macrumors 68000
 
Littleodie914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Need help linking against Sparkle.framework!

Hello again, faithful Mac programming community! I'm trying to add update functionality to my app, but can't seem to get the Sparkle framework to work in my app! I've followed the directions to the T, but when I build I get 3 warnings and 1 error... The warnings are...

Code:
warning -F: directory name (/Users/Craig/Documents/Cocoa) does not exist
warning -F: directory name (Programs/My) does not exist
warning -F: directory name (Programs/iProcrastinate) does not exist
and the error is...

Code:
Command /usr/bin/gcc-4.0 failed with exit code 1
I'm assuming the error spawns from the warnings? I followed the documentation that came with the framework, but I've never linked against any frameworks before, so I was mostly following blindly. (Though I've done it multiple times, re-read the directions, and still can't figure it out!) Has anyone else had this problem? If so, how'd you fix it?

Edit: Figured I could link to the site of the framework for reference... Here
Littleodie914 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2006, 02:06 AM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
XCode has serious issues with paths containing spaces when specifying extra directories to link to. Try putting everything in paths without spaces. I have tried quoting the paths, escaping the spaces, everything. In the end I gave up and renamed the directories to not have spaces.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2006, 03:19 AM   #3
caveman_uk
Guest
 
caveman_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hitchin, Herts, UK
I pretty much got Sparkle to work by following the instructions. But if you've got the sparkle framework in a directory that has a space anywhere in it's path, xCode will throw a wobbler - I know, I downloaded it and put the dl in a directory called 'Sparkle Framework'
caveman_uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2006, 07:29 AM   #4
kainjow
Moderator emeritus
 
kainjow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
You'll have to edit the framework path setting in the Build tab in your target's Get Info window and put the entire thing in quotes, but even then it may not work.
kainjow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2006, 09:56 AM   #5
Littleodie914
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Littleodie914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Ah, I see! Thanks so much for the help guys, I'm sure I never would have figured this out on my own.
Littleodie914 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2006, 12:55 PM   #6
kainjow
Moderator emeritus
 
kainjow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
I don't think anyone has ever figured out Xcode and Cocoa on their own
kainjow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Sparkle 2 hitting Mac Appstore! 10tonsltd Mac and PC Games 6 Mar 24, 2014 03:34 AM
Sparkle updater is no longer maintained blanham Mac Programming 1 Feb 4, 2014 11:44 AM
Sparkle Error DavidBlack Mac Programming 2 Mar 25, 2013 08:08 PM
Pyobjc Sparkle setDelegate_ ruchi830 Mac Programming 0 Jan 28, 2013 06:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC