Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 27, 2006, 11:36 PM   #1
Tech607
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Logos

I made a Company logo in Print Shop. Now I want to use it on a color sheet of paper and i can't find a way to get rid if the white background. Using Photoshop seems out of the question because the logo is made up of mostly test and it is hard to erase around text.

Is there a way to get rid of the background easily in PhotoShop? Or is ther some other software I can use and just recreate the logo using it. The logo will not be really hard to reproduce.

Thanks!
Tech607 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2006, 11:54 PM   #2
iMeowbot
macrumors 601
 
iMeowbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Could you just zap the background with the wand tool with contiguous off? If the image is simple, that may be all you need.
iMeowbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2006, 12:21 AM   #3
Tech607
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
It has text in it and trying to use the wand tool to delete the background seems to be making my text to thin. I also do not know how to make the background transparent.
Tech607 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2006, 12:27 AM   #4
iMeowbot
macrumors 601
 
iMeowbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Can you post the original somewhere?

Also: to get the transparency, you'll want to first make the background into a layer. The wand has sensitivity and anti-aliasing options to deal with the thinness problem, but it's hard to tell what will work blind (or if you'll need a redraw).
iMeowbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2006, 01:59 AM   #5
etoiles
macrumors 6502a
 
etoiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Where the air is crisp
Sometimes, you get better results using one of the channels as a selection rather than the wand tool (also, if you use the wand tool, make sure to adjust the anti-aliasing level for best results).

if your logo is just black on white, you can just ctrl-click on an existing channel to get the perfect selection. If it is not quite black on white, you will have to duplicate a channel and tweak the levels (maybe manually fill in some areas) to make sure it is all black (unselected) and white (selected).

as iMeowbot said, show us the logo so we can be more specific.
etoiles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2006, 05:24 AM   #6
20rogersc
macrumors 65816
 
20rogersc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech607
I made a Company logo in Print Shop. Now I want to use it on a color sheet of paper and i can't find a way to get rid if the white background. Using Photoshop seems out of the question because the logo is made up of mostly test and it is hard to erase around text.

Is there a way to get rid of the background easily in PhotoShop? Or is ther some other software I can use and just recreate the logo using it. The logo will not be really hard to reproduce.

Thanks!
Are you saying that you want to print it onto a coloured piece of paper!?
If so, it won't print the white anyway.

Sorry if I totally misunderstood your question.

::20ROGERSC::
20rogersc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2006, 09:02 AM   #7
iminimac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
if what i understand your asking
if you have the photoshop file with the layers
look in the layers and find the background one and just select that layer
and then you can paint bucket whatever background colour you want on it and that will fix that problem
iminimac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2006, 09:54 PM   #8
Tech607
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I am not really good with PhotoShop so I need things explained in more detail. But to restate my problem, I created the logo in PrintShop. When I saved it it was saved as a jpeg so I could use it with other programs but the drawback is that it has the white backgroung attached to it.

So if I try to use it on a colored document in another program the white box shows with the logo in it.

This is my problem. I need to know if printshop can save this logo with a transparent background? If not what program will do this for me? Or how do I make photoshop do this?
Tech607 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2006, 10:15 PM   #9
ChicoWeb
macrumors 65816
 
ChicoWeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: California
I would redesign it in Adobe Illustrator.
__________________
ChicoWeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 06:51 AM   #10
20rogersc
macrumors 65816
 
20rogersc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brighton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech607
This is my problem. I need to know if printshop can save this logo with a transparent background? If not what program will do this for me? Or how do I make photoshop do this?
Can print shop save them as GIFs or PNGs?
These two will both allow transparent areas in the image.

::20ROGERSC::

Last edited by 20rogersc; Aug 30, 2006 at 08:16 AM.
20rogersc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 07:56 AM   #11
MacBoobsPro
macrumors 603
 
MacBoobsPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to MacBoobsPro
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech607
I am not really good with PhotoShop so I need things explained in more detail. But to restate my problem, I created the logo in PrintShop. When I saved it it was saved as a jpeg so I could use it with other programs but the drawback is that it has the white backgroung attached to it.

So if I try to use it on a colored document in another program the white box shows with the logo in it.

This is my problem. I need to know if printshop can save this logo with a transparent background? If not what program will do this for me? Or how do I make photoshop do this?
Post the file somewhere and I'll look at it for you and tell you how to do it.
MacBoobsPro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 07:34 PM   #12
Tech607
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartluff
Post the file somewhere and I'll look at it for you and tell you how to do it.
I sent you the link in your message box stuartluff.

Thanks
Tech607 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2006, 04:19 PM   #13
Tech607
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
By George I think I got it. I started a new transparent file in Photo Shop. Then transfered each piece of the logo seperately and aranged it again on the transparent layer. It worked when I saved it as a tiff file.

Thanks for all you guys help! It was greatly appreciated!
Tech607 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2006, 04:39 PM   #14
iVersa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicoWeb
I would redesign it in Adobe Illustrator.
Bingo.

Logos in photoshop = big no no.
iVersa is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logos Mania patronindia iPhone and iPod touch Apps 2 Feb 27, 2014 11:10 AM
When will manufacturers learn? Logos = No Sale. Radiating iPhone Accessories 39 Oct 21, 2013 11:13 AM
Creating Logos or Banners Futhark iPad Apps 1 Dec 4, 2012 09:39 AM
logos with lines kat.hayes Design and Graphics 6 Sep 9, 2012 09:47 PM
Best Apple Logos kpress3 Picture Gallery 3 Jul 26, 2012 02:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC