Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 24, 2003, 03:09 AM   #1
silv
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2002
g4 raid without controller?

hi

i've got a qs933 and i wonder if i can use the standard-ide-controller to get a raid system...
do i really just have to install 2 harddrives and connect the two drives to a stripe-raid with the disk-tool and then it works? without an additional raid-controller?
or do i need an additional raid-controller?

thanks!
silv is offline   0
Old Mar 24, 2003, 04:44 AM   #2
Nipsy
macrumors 65816
 
Nipsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
In OSX, Disk Utility supports striped RAID without a card.

In OS9 & X, SoftRAID does the same.

The Siig ATA133 RAID card supports hardware RAID, and is only about $120.
__________________
But then again, whereas Apple is being run by a brilliant marketer with the uncanny ability to bend people to his will, Gateway is being run by a man perfectly willing to go on television and show the world that he solicits business advice from a talking cow...
Nipsy is offline   0
Old Mar 24, 2003, 05:28 AM   #3
silv
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2002
cool. thanks!

do you also know how fast this "standard-raid" is?
is it as fast as an additional raid-card?
any tests? benchmarks?

thanks!
silv is offline   0
Old Mar 24, 2003, 05:57 AM   #4
benixau
macrumors 65816
 
benixau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Send a message via AIM to benixau
software RAID = approx 5-10% gain (RAID0)
hardware RAID = approx 15-20% gain (RAID0)

just get the card. You will be happer too as you mac's HDD is probably ATA-133 anyways.

software RAID is for cheapos. besides - hardware RAID (at least adaptec cards) have more options than a software RAID.
__________________
Rather own a Mac than a Dell
benixau is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best 8-bay RAID & controller card? sarge- Mac Pro 65 Mar 25, 2011 02:10 PM
iPad full screen video without controls? mrl72 iPhone/iPad Programming 3 Feb 4, 2011 11:46 PM
Mac Pro: RAID 1 controller jreiterm Mac Pro 1 Feb 18, 2010 02:29 PM
Can I add a HD to a RAID without reformatting the existing HD? jdl8422 OS X 1 Apr 11, 2009 08:28 PM
how to undo a raid without losing data? tonywalker23 OS X 2 Jun 23, 2006 05:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC