Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 30, 2006, 12:35 PM   #1
johnnysaw
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
2gb of ram in a 17" PowerBook G4 1gHz?

I have a 17" PowerBook G4 1gHz with 1gb of ram currently installed (2x512). Technically this is the maximum ram for this computer according to Apple. I have heard I can upgrade to 2gb (2x1gb) and the reason for the limitation in the original spec was the 1gb ram stick for PowerBooks did not exist when the computer was released.

Can anyone confirm or deny if 2gb of ram will work in my PowerBook?
johnnysaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 12:36 PM   #2
Chone
macrumors 65816
 
Chone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnysaw
I have a 17" PowerBook G4 1gHz with 1gb of ram currently installed (2x512). Technically this is the maximum ram for this computer according to Apple. I have heard I can upgrade to 2gb (2x1gb) and the reason for the limitation in the original spec was the 1gb ram stick for PowerBooks did not exist when the computer was released.

Can anyone confirm or deny if 2gb of ram will work in my PowerBook?
I don't see why not.
Chone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 12:36 PM   #3
ricgnzlzcr
macrumors 6502a
 
ricgnzlzcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
According the mactracker you can put in 2gb's. I'm not entirely sure if you can though. Good luck.
ricgnzlzcr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 12:50 PM   #4
freakonguitar
Guest
 
this site claims you can put in 2gb http://www.memoryx.net/17powtit1g.html . I would say you shoudl be able to. Its the same frame as the powerbooks had for a few years as far as motherboards etc, and i think it would work.

just remember. you can only use Pc2700 DDR333. The DDR2 stuff and any other type will not work in your powerbook and make sure you are looking at notebook ram not desktop! :P big difference
  0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 03:03 PM   #5
johnnysaw
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Thank you all. I'm going for it!!!
johnnysaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 03:56 PM   #6
iRez
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
breathe easy...only reason apple says 1gb is the max is because one gig sticks werent out back then. my cousin had the same computer running just fine on two gigs of ram.
__________________
you're comparing apples to junk
iRez is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More than 2GB of RAM in MacBook Pro 17" RobertDunn Mac Pro 1 May 26, 2006 09:34 PM
2gb of ram in a powerbook? Rob587 Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 16 Aug 5, 2004 07:00 PM
2GB of RAM in an early Powerbook G4 17" 1 GHz? puhlsar Macintosh Computers 7 Jun 22, 2004 05:31 AM
Put up to 2GB of Ram in the 17" Powerbook MacBytes MacBytes.com News Discussion 2 Jul 28, 2003 01:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC