Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 30, 2006, 12:35 PM   #1
johnnysaw
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
2gb of ram in a 17" PowerBook G4 1gHz?

I have a 17" PowerBook G4 1gHz with 1gb of ram currently installed (2x512). Technically this is the maximum ram for this computer according to Apple. I have heard I can upgrade to 2gb (2x1gb) and the reason for the limitation in the original spec was the 1gb ram stick for PowerBooks did not exist when the computer was released.

Can anyone confirm or deny if 2gb of ram will work in my PowerBook?
johnnysaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 12:36 PM   #2
Chone
macrumors 65816
 
Chone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnysaw
I have a 17" PowerBook G4 1gHz with 1gb of ram currently installed (2x512). Technically this is the maximum ram for this computer according to Apple. I have heard I can upgrade to 2gb (2x1gb) and the reason for the limitation in the original spec was the 1gb ram stick for PowerBooks did not exist when the computer was released.

Can anyone confirm or deny if 2gb of ram will work in my PowerBook?
I don't see why not.
Chone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 12:36 PM   #3
ricgnzlzcr
macrumors 6502a
 
ricgnzlzcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
According the mactracker you can put in 2gb's. I'm not entirely sure if you can though. Good luck.
ricgnzlzcr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 12:50 PM   #4
freakonguitar
Guest
 
this site claims you can put in 2gb http://www.memoryx.net/17powtit1g.html . I would say you shoudl be able to. Its the same frame as the powerbooks had for a few years as far as motherboards etc, and i think it would work.

just remember. you can only use Pc2700 DDR333. The DDR2 stuff and any other type will not work in your powerbook and make sure you are looking at notebook ram not desktop! :P big difference
  0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 03:03 PM   #5
johnnysaw
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Thank you all. I'm going for it!!!
johnnysaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 03:56 PM   #6
iRez
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
breathe easy...only reason apple says 1gb is the max is because one gig sticks werent out back then. my cousin had the same computer running just fine on two gigs of ram.
__________________
you're comparing apples to junk
iRez is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook g4 1 x 2gb ram stick will work? jwjsr PowerPC Macs 14 Mar 5, 2014 08:55 PM
Think my 1Ghz 17" PowerBook G4 just died eyoungren PowerPC Macs 6 Dec 23, 2013 09:35 AM
Resolved: Deal on a Powerbook G4 15' 1.67GHz 2GB RAM, need thoughts :) cyberghoser1 Apple Collectors 23 Dec 30, 2012 11:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC