Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2002, 12:05 PM   #1
bingimar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Reykjavik / ICELAND
Mac OS server

I just bought a DP 1ghz to replace the old bage G3, and I wanted to istall a os server on the g3, but!! the installer wont istall the server on my old computer.

What can i do?
bingimar is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2002, 12:24 PM   #2
mischief
macrumors 68030
 
mischief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Cruz Ca
Arrow Try this:

[url:http://www.sonnettech.com/product/en...l#tech%20specs]

Try also a new Drive host card. If both things work, you will be much better off.

Last edited by mischief; Feb 19, 2002 at 12:28 PM.
mischief is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2002, 12:43 PM   #3
bingimar
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Reykjavik / ICELAND
mac os server

according to the install documents my g3 bage is suposed to be able to have os server installed
bingimar is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2002, 01:07 PM   #4
mischief
macrumors 68030
 
mischief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Cruz Ca
Arrow The Beige has it's issueswith OS X, server or otherwise.

It's possible to install OS X onto a beige, but neither the Beige or the OS will like it.

Check and make sure your HD is EIDE (Mac OS Extended) formatted and of less than 15Gb before attempting the install. OS X does truly ugly things otherwise on either Beige machines or Blue and Whites. Also: on both those models, the ATA circuitry on the Mobo has a bit of a flakey streak and doesn't like larger or more than 1 drive.Install OS9 from 9.1- 9.2.2 before doing OS X of any kind. This will get your firmware in order.
mischief is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2002, 02:41 PM   #5
bingimar
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Reykjavik / ICELAND
with all respect

with all respect, but I have no clue what you meen.

thanks
bingimar is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2002, 03:09 PM   #6
mischief
macrumors 68030
 
mischief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Cruz Ca
Smile Okay, I'll break it down.

OS X is picky about how the Hard Drive is formatted. Beige G3's started out with their drives formatted "Mac OS Standard" which is IDE format and only capable of properly mapping 10-15Gb of drive space. "Mac OS Extended" format is EIDE which CAN map more than 10-15Gb.

There are complications: Beige G3's had unreliable and fairly low quality ATA controllers on their mother board. These controllers can usually only see 1 ATA drive at a time. Most ATA controllers can see 2 and are considerably faster and more reliable. A new ATA controller can be had as a PCI card.

Processor wise G3's are considerably less stable (for OS X) than G4's and effectively useless when slower than about 466. I have an iMac 333 and won't be putting OS X on it until I upgrade the processor to a 466.

That URL leads to a VERY nice upgrade card for the Beige. It'll get you from 266 to 466 and you'll have a G4.
mischief is offline   0
Old Feb 20, 2002, 02:37 PM   #7
bingimar
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Reykjavik / ICELAND
os server

i tried installing the server on my g4 dp 1 ghz and the same messege came when I tried installing it on my g3 (bage)

thanks for listening

Bjarni
bingimar is offline   0
Old Feb 20, 2002, 02:53 PM   #8
eXistenZ_ng
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Noreg
I got osx server installed on my g3 266 (160mb ram), i have tried to optimize everything and it seems to be running fine.
eXistenZ_ng is offline   0
Old Feb 20, 2002, 03:03 PM   #9
mischief
macrumors 68030
 
mischief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Cruz Ca
Question What is the EXACT wording of the error message?

If it won't install on either machine there must be something else going on here. Have you tried installing 9 or plain old X.1? Is there anything non-default about your install process? Is there any "unique" hardware or 3rd party RAM involved? stay calm, we'll help you figure this out.
mischief is offline   0
Old Feb 20, 2002, 03:22 PM   #10
bingimar
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Reykjavik / ICELAND
here is what pops up when i install!!!

"mac os server can not be installed in this computer"

when i start up my install on my 1ghz dp this messege comes up and when I start the install the computer wants to start the installer in the os 9.

what the hell is going on??

kind regds
Bjarni Ingimar
bingimar is offline   0
Old Feb 20, 2002, 03:39 PM   #11
mischief
macrumors 68030
 
mischief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Cruz Ca
restart the machine holding the "C" key down.

A system cannot have another OS installed on the same drive volume as it is currently booted from. Restarting with the "C" key down will start the machine from the CD and allow the install. Release the key when an OS splash screen or OS X "beachball" appears. If the machine refuses to boot from the CD, select it in the Startup Disk control panel and restart. If you get stuck at boot with a flashing question mark, restart with the option key down to start from OS 9 or simply wait for the system to "find" the Hard Drive. Back up EVERYTHING you want saved as OS X will most likely want to re-format your drive.
mischief is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make Mac OS Forget Server alexanderl OS X 1 May 3, 2012 03:43 AM
Resolved: Any good kids games to run on an iMac G3 running Mac OS 10.1-10.4? alexreich PowerPC Macs 10 Feb 10, 2012 02:09 AM
Mac OS X 10.8 Nyan Cat Vasileios Wasteland 6 Jul 22, 2011 08:45 AM
Mac Mini Server jackhdev Mac mini 4 Jul 15, 2011 04:00 PM
Can Mac OS 10.5 disc repair a 10.4 installation (PowerPC)) Chadder OS X 3 Jun 4, 2011 09:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC