Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 31, 2006, 06:24 PM   #1
Kenny Pollock
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hollywood, FL
Send a message via AIM to Kenny Pollock
MacBook running slow

Ever since I got my MacBook (2GHz with 512MB DDR2 SDRAM) I've noticed it's been running slow. Photoshop opens 30% of the time, and runs DEAD slow when it does work. Things take longer then they ever did, even on my old Mac mini.

I was thinking of formatting to fix the solution, since I've ran Cocktail all the time and the computer is fully up to date.

Any ideas? I really didn't expect it to run this slow and I'm tired of putting up with it.
__________________
Mac/PC technician
Late-2013 MacBook Pro Retina 15" w/512 GB
Late-2012 iMac 21.5"
Kenny Pollock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2006, 06:36 PM   #2
viccles
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
The fact your only running on 512 memory might have something to do with it. Even if you upp'd it to 1gb you'd find things working much more smoothly. The OS uses a lot of memory to run.
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2006, 06:53 PM   #3
xfiftyfour
macrumors 68030
 
xfiftyfour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Clemson, SC
Rosetta Apps + 512 RAM = no good.
xfiftyfour is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2006, 01:14 PM   #4
hector
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cheltenham, UK
excuse my ignorance - what are rosetta apps?
my macbook has 512 as well and is pretty slow - slower even than my emac 1.25 g4 with 512 ram

i dont understand why...
hector is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2006, 01:23 PM   #5
garfield2002
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Make sure your Photoshop application is up to date as well. When I first ran MS Office 2004 on my MBP the program was so slow as to be nearly unsuable. Updating Office did the trick. It seems that MS did some rosetta optimization and it helped a lot.
__________________
Mac lineage:
LC < PM 7200 < G3 MiniT < TiBook G4 < MDD G4 < G4 Mini < 15" MBP CD; Rev.A MBA; 24" C2D iMac; 21" i3 iMac
garfield2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2006, 01:30 PM   #6
Ice-Cube
macrumors 6502a
 
Ice-Cube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
From wikipedia:

Rosetta is a lightweight dynamic translator for Mac OS X distributed by Apple. It enables applications compiled for the PowerPC family of processors to run on Apple systems that use Intel processors. It is based on Transitive Corporation's QuickTransit technology. It is a key part of Apple's strategy for the transition of their Macintosh line from PowerPC to Intel processors, enabling pre-existing Mac OS X software to run on the new platform without modification. The name is a reference to the Rosetta stone, whose discovery made it possible to comprehend and translate Egyptian hieroglyphs.
Ice-Cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2006, 01:34 PM   #7
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Rosetta is an application that runs in the background of mac OS X on intel macs when you open an application which is not optimised (universal binary) for the intel processor.

It uses 512mb up itself nearly and hence running programs like office and photoshop or any other non universal apps - means your mac is very under - nourished in the ram department as rosetta is sucking it all up and not leaving enough left for your other apps & the operating system to run smoothly.

You need to upgrade to at least 1gb. You will see a huge difference over 512mb.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2006, 01:51 PM   #8
Lil Red
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Are you having troubles opening up files on your computer or just photoshop?

If you have done the firmware update, than it may help you to run disk utility and repair permissions. If you don't have disk utility in your applications folder, put your OSX intall disk in but don't install...when you get the top menu, Disk Utility is under one of those menus....once disk utility comes up, select the Macintosh HD and select "Repair Permissions". See if that doesn't improve it a little bit.
Lil Red is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2006, 06:38 PM   #9
musicfreakcc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Slow core 2 duo

My Macbook has been running extremely slow for no reason. Even with a few backround apps running, safari and other intel apps run slowly. Rosetta apps also run slow, but that is understandable. Does anyone have an idea/solution to this problem.

Macbook-
Core 2 Duo - 1.83 Ghz
512 MB RAM
60 GB HD
musicfreakcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2006, 06:43 PM   #10
SoLibertyDies
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Send a message via AIM to SoLibertyDies
Get more ram, all of you.

512 simply doesn't cut it anymore with today's applications and OS. I'm sorry but you'll have to fork out the 40 or 50 bucks for some more. I'm sure it will fix your problems up real nice.
__________________
Riot
iMac 24"|ACD 23"|3.06 C2D|4GB|1TB|8800 GS|10.5
Liberty
MacBook Pro 15.4"|2.16 CD|2GB|200GB|x1600 256|10.5
iPhone 3G
SoLibertyDies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 03:16 PM   #11
sonorlite
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I have 1GB ram and mine runs very slow as wel (Entourage, Excel, Firefox)l. Would bumping it to 2GB make a big difference?
sonorlite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 03:59 PM   #12
Ale-500
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Get the Intel version of Firefox. About Entourage, no idea what it is. Check if an intel version exists, about Excel, well if you decide to use an m$ app, deal with it. I prefer OOo, besides is not as "good", whatever that means.

Jumping from 1 to 1.5 is much less expensive than to 2, if such config is supported.
Ale-500 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 04:11 PM   #13
xJulianx
macrumors 6502a
 
xJulianx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
My 1.83GHz 512MB MacBook runs like a charm. I tend to have a few Camino windows open, Microsoft Messenger and iTunes all open.

Rarely see the beachball.
xJulianx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 05:57 PM   #14
farqueue
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
3 words - GET MORE RAM

Trust me. Im so happy over my macbook now.
farqueue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 06:04 PM   #15
ChickenSwartz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
IMHO, Apple should have never sold a computer that runs Rosetta with 512MB of RAM. All their display models, even before the jump to 1 GIG standard in all but one laptop model, had at least 1GIG of RAM installed. I think they realized that to display one with 512MB RAM would be am embarrassment.
__________________
MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16GHZ, 2.0GB RAM, 120GB HD
ChickenSwartz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2007, 12:16 AM   #16
MacinTek
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
It's not the RAM

My MacBook Pro has been slowing down as well. It's 2.33GHz model with 3GB of RAM. I've cleared all caches, optimized the HDD, rebuilt the directories, all the usual stuff and it still runs slowly. We're talkin' click... action. That slow. It reminds me of Windoze PC loaded down with spyware.
MacinTek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2007, 12:23 AM   #17
deadpixels
macrumors 6502a
 
deadpixels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinTek View Post
My MacBook Pro has been slowing down as well. It's 2.33GHz model with 3GB of RAM. I've cleared all caches, optimized the HDD, rebuilt the directories, all the usual stuff and it still runs slowly. We're talkin' click... action. That slow. It reminds me of Windoze PC loaded down with spyware.
for the OP and the macbook owners, it seems it is the RAM. for you on the other hand, it must be something slowing down your machine, you should start 'activity monitor' and see whats using your ram and processor cycles. many widgets? many startup items? amy hack istalled?
__________________
http://www.pcwf.org/
deadpixels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2007, 12:29 AM   #18
psychofreak
Retired
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ale-500 View Post
Get the Intel version of Firefox. About Entourage, no idea what it is. Check if an intel version exists, about Excel, well if you decide to use an m$ app, deal with it. I prefer OOo, besides is not as "good", whatever that means.
This is Microsoft Entourage

OOo needs the horrible X11 (at least for the next few months), I recommend NeoOffice highly
psychofreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2009, 02:32 PM   #19
Coldremember
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Macbook Pro running slow

I just replaced my 2.33 Ghz intel core duo 2g 1067 Mhz DDR2 macbook with a 2.8ghz intel core duo 4g 1067 Mhz DDR3 macbook. Every time I am using iChat or Safari and I open another program like World of Warcraft or iTunes, the iChat and Safari come almost to a stop. I type and it takes 30 seconds for the first letter of what I typed to come through. It took a total of 5 minutes to type, "Macbook Pro running slow" in google" and all I had open was safari and WoW. I understand WoW is a taxing program, but my old computer ran it jut fine with iTunes, Safari, and iChat all open at once. I just got this computer maybe a week ago. Any suggestions?
Coldremember is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i5 MacBook Pro SLOW Boot Time aaronhead14 MacBook Pro 27 Oct 6, 2011 01:34 PM
How can i make my old macbook run faster? CompLuter MacBook 14 Feb 22, 2011 03:05 PM
Why is my MacBook running slow? premed MacBook Pro 13 Mar 2, 2009 12:54 PM
Macbook Running Slow!!! 2 GB Ram! KingsDude MacBook Pro 9 Jan 17, 2007 11:47 AM
Macbook running slow jnguyen4 Mac Basics and Help 3 Aug 28, 2006 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC