Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 4, 2006, 09:01 AM   #1
steveca
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Malta
Send a message via MSN to steveca
Powerbook G3 DVD problem

I
__________________
I love Macs old and new, crazy on Inter FC, and do web design. Comments are welcome so check me out
www.stevencamilleri.com
steveca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 09:03 AM   #2
brandon6684
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveca
I
I'm not sure there's much you can do about that.
brandon6684 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 09:06 AM   #3
steveca
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Malta
Send a message via MSN to steveca
Sorry about that

Actually the problem is:

"I have a powerbook G3 Lombard and upgraded from OS 9.1 to Jaguar. The DVD drive works perfectly, OS X recognises DVD discs from Cd's Cd-r etc but DVD player is not installed. How can I play DVD's once more on my Powerbook???"

Posted twice... sorry
__________________
I love Macs old and new, crazy on Inter FC, and do web design. Comments are welcome so check me out
www.stevencamilleri.com
steveca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 01:28 PM   #4
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveca
Sorry about that

Actually the problem is:

"I have a powerbook G3 Lombard and upgraded from OS 9.1 to Jaguar. The DVD drive works perfectly, OS X recognises DVD discs from Cd's Cd-r etc but DVD player is not installed. How can I play DVD's once more on my Powerbook???"

Posted twice... sorry
I will bet the problem is Jaguar. Upgrade to Tiger and I'm sure it will recognize it.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2006, 10:10 AM   #5
steveca
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Malta
Send a message via MSN to steveca
Can't update to Tiger cause I dont have Firewire port. The lombard does not support Tiger. Only goes up to 10.3. Jaguar is actually recognising that the disc is a DVD (makes the cd icon with dvd written on). It did not install the DVD player when I installed it
This should happen when the dvd is external but its not external
__________________
I love Macs old and new, crazy on Inter FC, and do web design. Comments are welcome so check me out
www.stevencamilleri.com
steveca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2006, 10:41 AM   #6
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
Mac OS X does not support DVD playback in those machines. There is no Apple solution. The best you can do is get a third party software solution that uses the processor to decode video (rather than the decoder card) but that is usually pretty poor quality.

BTW that machine needs a decoder card to play DVD movies in OS 9.
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2006, 01:02 PM   #7
steveca
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Malta
Send a message via MSN to steveca
I already tried third party solutions and as you say they are not of good quality. Actually it used to play without card. I have a previous generation powerbook g3 and that needs the card. this went ok on os9. thanks for your assistance
__________________
I love Macs old and new, crazy on Inter FC, and do web design. Comments are welcome so check me out
www.stevencamilleri.com
steveca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2006, 01:56 PM   #8
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
Then you must have a 400mhz Lombard. Apparently these play videos without decoder cards.
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2006, 12:04 PM   #9
steveca
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Malta
Send a message via MSN to steveca
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpaanlka
Then you must have a 400mhz Lombard. Apparently these play videos without decoder cards.
You are right. It is a 400Mhz Lombard. It has some hardware decoding thing
__________________
I love Macs old and new, crazy on Inter FC, and do web design. Comments are welcome so check me out
www.stevencamilleri.com
steveca is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD drive problem C. Alan Mac Pro 13 May 20, 2014 11:53 PM
PowerBook G4 problem Intelligent PowerPC Macs 3 Jan 14, 2014 02:30 PM
G3 Powerbook DVD drive not working G4OS753 Apple Collectors 11 Aug 17, 2013 02:35 AM
PowerBook G4 (Ti) 867MHz - Looking for the original restore DVD lungkit PowerPC Macs 15 May 5, 2013 03:53 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC