The value of a G3 ibook 800mhz - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 4, 2006, 06:35 PM   #1
Star Destroyer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
The value of a G3 ibook 800mhz

I have just acquired am IBM thinkpad A20M with 192mb of Ram at 500mhz i think it is... it was free, it was also broken... it worked at one time because i used it for about a month, then it got new ram and now its only beeps.. I think i can fix it.

But the seller (or giver) also has an ibook they dont use, and claim it is 'out of service' its a G3 800mhz with 128Ram i believe and a 30 gig HDD..

It doesnt not work they claim... and they dont know why, but may sell it..
What would be a good price to pay for such a product?

It isnt a super drive, just combo i believe.. its stock from what i can gather...
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 06:40 PM   #2
mdntcallr
macrumors 65816
 
mdntcallr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
honestly, if it isnt working. i doubt you will get anything for it at all.

The g3 is waaay old and people are only interested in working old computers. if not, because of the newer computers avail, you could sell to someone for spare parts. but even to fix an non-working old laptop may not be worth the money.

the amount of ram in there would also make it painfully slow.
__________________
"Bite my Shiny Metal Ass!" Bender (Futurama)
mdntcallr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 08:28 PM   #3
steamboat26
macrumors 65816
 
steamboat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arlington VA
Send a message via AIM to steamboat26 Send a message via Yahoo to steamboat26
Also, since it is a G3 ibook, chances are that the logic board is dead. And a new one of those costs around $300, or you have to talk to apple for a while to see if they will give you an extention on the extended logic board repair program.
__________________
-Mac Mini duo core 1.66 Ghz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HD, Mac OS 10.4.10
-iPod Nano 4 GB Black
-iMac G3 500 Mhz, 384 MB RAM, 20 GB HD, Mac OS 10.3.9
steamboat26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 08:51 PM   #4
clevin
macrumors G3
 
clevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
my friend showed me a powerbook g3, 333Mhz/382mb ram, it runs OSX 10.3 surprisingly smooth, so i guess if you can fix it, and get a OSX installed, increase the ram, it would be good for $300....
clevin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 09:01 PM   #5
srf4real
macrumors 68030
 
srf4real's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: paradise beach FL
If they can get it fixed cheap it would make a great stereo head unit in the garage... lots of mp3 storage space and plays cd's, a inexpensive speaker setup is all they need!
__________________
iSurf. For real.
srf4real is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2006, 12:40 AM   #6
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
oh its not mine, i am looking to aquire it. I want to know how much to offer.. It worked fine for years.. and then one day they said "out of service" it might boot and run, or maybe freeze or i dont know...


so what should i offer in order to buy it?
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2006, 06:28 PM   #7
srf4real
macrumors 68030
 
srf4real's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: paradise beach FL
I would offer to take it off their hands for nothing seeing as how it doesn't work right anyways. Save them the trouble of storing a worthless computer, and if you can fix it cheap, YOU WIN!!!
__________________
iSurf. For real.
srf4real is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2006, 07:09 PM   #8
mmmcheese
macrumors 6502a
 
mmmcheese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star Destroyer
oh its not mine, i am looking to aquire it. I want to know how much to offer.. It worked fine for years.. and then one day they said "out of service" it might boot and run, or maybe freeze or i dont know...


so what should i offer in order to buy it?
That model is notorious for burning out logic boards (hence the recall)...so if it doesn't work, you won't be fixing it cheap....unless you have the ability to re-solder a surface mount GPU.
mmmcheese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2006, 09:13 PM   #9
Star Destroyer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
if it was under recall doesnt that mean they have to take it and fix it due to the faulty product?
Star Destroyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emac 800mhz ,is leopard possible? Deniz070 PowerPC Macs 17 Jul 9, 2014 06:48 PM
Overclocking iMac G4 800mhz Doward PowerPC Macs 12 Feb 12, 2014 04:35 PM
Video on 800mhz g3 oat9002 PowerPC Macs 7 Aug 24, 2012 11:42 PM
Which is better - 4Gb 600Mhz or 2Gb 800MHz richardfrost iMac 3 Jul 6, 2012 06:51 PM
Speed up a 800Mhz G4 PowerMac..? drjarv05 PowerPC Macs 10 Jun 10, 2012 05:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC