Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 6, 2006, 01:40 AM   #1
molocono
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
MBox problems with Mac Pro

I've been using an original MBox with a PowerMac G4 933MHz for the past two years with no problems, but now I have a Mac Pro 2.66 and this little box is giving me a headache. Whenever I use the MBox for audio output with any application, after a couple of minutes of use my audio will be interrupted by loud white noise. It doesn't go away until I shut down and restart the application I'm using. I have the Intel versions of Pro Tools LE and Core Audio. I've tried all the USB ports on my machine, even reinstalled OS X. This is driving me nuts, as I never had these problems on my G4. Could anyone offer any help? Thanks!
molocono is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2006, 01:45 AM   #2
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
have you hit the digi compatability pages to ensure that the mbox, your OS version, and the version of PT you're using are all compatible?
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2006, 04:20 PM   #3
danhig123
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
hmm I used that setup briefly, and everything seemed OK.

My only suggestion from hearing your description on the problem is to make sure the buffer size and sample rates are the same between the core audio driver and the audio program. You would get broadband noise as you described if they somehow went out of sync with eachother, which is a known bug with CoreAudio.

Danny
danhig123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2006, 05:04 PM   #4
quigleybc
macrumors 68030
 
quigleybc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
Send a message via Skype™ to quigleybc
I had the original Mbox, and the exact same problem, White noise...whenever I would click on record enable.

My solution?

I sold it, lost a lot of $, and got Ableton Live.


__________________
Black Book
Black iPhone
powermacg5 * iPod touch,nano,shuffle,3g * etc...
quigleybc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgraded Mac Pro problems still.... Pjotr28 Mac Pro 37 Jan 11, 2014 06:35 AM
Mac Pro SSD to Mac Mini Problems... GXPvince Mac mini 3 Dec 7, 2013 09:56 AM
Buggy Mac Pro problems KDWolfy Mac Basics and Help 6 Oct 31, 2013 03:34 PM
Mac Pro Java Problems Fischer71 Mac Pro 12 Oct 23, 2013 10:36 PM
Anybody get Mbox Mail for mac working in 10.8 Mikegs OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Apr 29, 2013 05:40 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC