Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 7, 2006, 03:03 PM   #1
larryjoe76
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Powerbook G3?

I have a powerbook g3 and I want to upgrade to an older version of OS 10. Is that possible? I'm really unfamiliar with my laptop's capabilities and I'm not sure it has enough RAM. I clicked on the "About this computer" link and it seemed like it had less than 100 or something like that.

Sorry to be unhelpful with this info. I'm kind of computer illiterate.
larryjoe76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 03:09 PM   #2
CyberB0b
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Does it look like this?

On that site is the maximum OS version of each PowerBook. Find your model and it will let you know if it can handle OS X. Although, you may need more RAM to get it up to the minimum requirements.
CyberB0b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 03:16 PM   #3
larryjoe76
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberB0b
Does it look like this?

On that site is the maximum OS version of each PowerBook. Find your model and it will let you know if it can handle OS X. Although, you may need more RAM to get it up to the minimum requirements.
That's it. That's my laptop.

Okay, I looked at the website and I had a hard time finding the part that tells me if it can handle OS X. I don't want 10.4, though. I don't think the old dino of a computer can handle it.

And how do I get more RAM? In short, is this laptop worth all the bother of upgrading?
larryjoe76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 03:26 PM   #4
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryjoe76
That's it. That's my laptop.

Okay, I looked at the website and I had a hard time finding the part that tells me if it can handle OS X. I don't want 10.4, though. I don't think the old dino of a computer can handle it.

And how do I get more RAM? In short, is this laptop worth all the bother of upgrading?
Are you sure that's it? Because there are three different series of PowerBooks that look like that, with each series having a few models. This is a much better site to find out which machine is yours http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl..._g3/index.html

Is the Apple logo below your LCD and multi-colored, or above it and white? If it is above and white, do you have FireWire ports or a SCSI port?

The three models are below:

Wallstreet: Rainbow Apple logo. Came in speeds of 233mhz, 250mhz, 266mhz, 292mhz, and 300mhz. No USB, No FireWire. Can go up to Mac OS X Leopard.

Lombard: White Apple logo. No ADB. Has USB and SCSI. Can go up to Mac OS X Panther.

Pismo: White Apple logo. No ADB, No SCSI. Has USB and FireWire. Can go up to Mac OS X Tiger.
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.

Last edited by dpaanlka; Sep 7, 2006 at 03:33 PM.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 03:30 PM   #5
larryjoe76
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Okay, I'm not positive that's my same laptop now. I'll have to go back and check.
larryjoe76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 03:33 PM   #6
larryjoe76
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
What's the going rate for a new Mac laptop, a really basic version? I'm thinking maybe I'll just upgrade. But I want to not spend more than $1000.
larryjoe76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 03:34 PM   #7
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryjoe76
What's the going rate for a new Mac laptop, a really basic version? I'm thinking maybe I'll just upgrade. But I want to not spend more than $1000.
Umm... http://store.apple.com/

MacBooks start at $1099.
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerbook g3 internal keyboard doesn't work In-Correct PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 31, 2011 04:32 PM
FS: Powerbook g3 Pismo. IBM T22, IBM drives, powerbook g3 parts macEfan Marketplace Archive 2 7 May 29, 2008 06:46 PM
Will RAM from a Wallstreet model PowerBook G3 work in a Pismo model PowerBook G3? Elan0204 Macintosh Computers 5 Nov 14, 2004 01:58 PM
Lot of Macs! Power Mac G4 / G3 / Powerbook G3 + Much More remfan7 Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 4 Jan 27, 2003 10:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC