Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2006, 11:36 PM   #1
Toby Goodbar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
How Can I Use My Tv As A Monitor?

hi i'm new to mac. former pc user but hated all the crashing and slowness. anyway...

i have a 2000 g4 powermac w/ the standard ati rage 128 pro video card. it has a vga port and a dvi (i think) port.

HOW CAN I USE MY TV AS MONITOR?
Toby Goodbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2006, 11:41 PM   #2
Old Smuggler
macrumors 6502a
 
Old Smuggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
i suppose you could use any tv as a monitor

what really matters is what kind of tv you are talking about if its hi def
it will be ok
if its a old glass tube 4:3 kind forget it, its to small a resolution
it would work but its like looking at everything with a magnifying glass

Just wait a minute sonny let me get my spectacles
Old Smuggler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2006, 12:37 AM   #3
Toby Goodbar
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
yea its a panasonic 30" glass tube. i'd still like to try tho, because right now i have no monitor for it. i've already made a vga to component video cable. but i don't know at what rates resolution etc to set it for. do you?
if you have aim i could talk to you on that too....

i have to lug it over to my roomates side and use his monitor to change the settings....
Toby Goodbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2006, 05:11 AM   #4
studiox
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Send a message via ICQ to studiox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toby Goodbar
yea its a panasonic 30" glass tube. i'd still like to try tho, because right now i have no monitor for it. i've already made a vga to component video cable. but i don't know at what rates resolution etc to set it for. do you?
if you have aim i could talk to you on that too....

i have to lug it over to my roomates side and use his monitor to change the settings....
First of all your ATI card does not support Component. But you should be able to get S-VIDEO of the card with an ATI adapter. (Should have been included).

The resolution will then change automatically and you'll get an extra "Monitor" in OSX with the default resolution (Not sure your in a PAL or NTSC country).
studiox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2006, 11:50 AM   #5
Toby Goodbar
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
can you tell me more about the adaptor i need? it wasn't included. US is an NTSC country.

ANYONE have any more info?
OR, what video card WOULD support video output to TV?

Last edited by Toby Goodbar; Sep 10, 2006 at 11:59 AM.
Toby Goodbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2006, 11:30 PM   #6
Old Smuggler
macrumors 6502a
 
Old Smuggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
well since you cant link to the apple website because its setup for per user basis or somthing i forget what its called exactly
do a search at the store for adaptors or s-video
they have a vga and a dvi to s-video one maybe more i dont know
that should work if you have ADC then i dont know as i am not familiar with that
Old Smuggler is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Color and sharpness on external monitor noticeably inferior to Macbook monitor Axemantitan Mac Peripherals 4 Sep 19, 2013 01:01 PM
MacBook Pro or Air for Multi-Monitor Setup - USB3 Monitor Adapters Any Good? cheesygrin Buying Tips and Advice 2 Aug 21, 2013 03:18 PM
MacBook Pro or Air for Multi-Monitor Setup - USB3 Monitor Adapters Any Good? cheesygrin MacBook Pro 2 Aug 18, 2013 01:27 PM
MacBook Pro + iMac (2nd monitor) + Dell (3rd monitor)? gelgel Mac Peripherals 4 Jul 4, 2013 11:53 AM
How do I run a dual monitor setup with my MacBook Pro with one external monitor? shearerlisaj MacBook Pro 2 Jan 22, 2013 05:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC