Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pdpfilms

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jun 29, 2004
Vermontana
Hey partners.

Got a problem here- my hard drive on my G5 has become unmountable... Almost. I can't get to it through booting to it, the install disc, the DiskWarrior disc, or target disk mode. I can, however, get to it through single user mode. What I need to do is get some files off of it before I send it in for replacement.

I spoke to applecare for about two hours just now. I can't help but fell like they're not that smart.... I mean, I've never used single user mode before and its like i was teaching it to him. And when i talked to his superior, he just kept saying "this doesn't make any sense... yeah, just doesn't make any sense." and wouldn't provide much help. They basically told me they don't know how to use unix or single user mode, and left me to figure it out myself. But that's besides the point.

I can locate the files i need to move. Specifically, my Aperture library located in Macintosh HD/users/myname/Photography/Aperture/Aperture Library.aplibrary. I have an external drive connected with plenty of space, but don't know how to mount it. All I need to do is mount the drive, then give the command to move the files to the external.

Let's see what you Unix groupies've got.

MrFrankly

macrumors regular
Jan 11, 2006
Code:
mount /dev/disk1s1 /Volumes/BackupDrive

where /dev/disk1s1 is the actual system device (the external drive) and /Volumes/BackupDrive is the name under which you can access it. The latter one can be anything, the /dev has to be correct though.

The actual device might be something else then disk1s1, depending on the external drive, and you might have to create the directory BackupDrive, or use something else that's available in /Volumes.

So:
Code:
ls /dev