Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 13, 2006, 12:47 PM   #1
pulsewidth947
macrumors 65816
 
pulsewidth947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: squarefrog.co.uk
iMac G4 wont boot

Hello all.

We have an iMac G4 (dome. my favourite iMac design!) at work that's misbehaving. It wont boot up, or more correctly, boots up sporadically. What happens is I switch it on, it chimes then gets to the grey Apple screen with the spinny doo-dah. After about a minute the spinner stops spinning and nothing else happens.

I've booted up using a firewire drive and holding Option to select it. Sometimes this works, other times it crashes like before. I've connected it to another Mac (Mac2) in Firewire target mode and repaired the disk, nada. Tried repairing permissions on Mac1's drive, which crashes Mac2 after about 30 mins. DiskUtil basically says that everything on Mac1's drive has incorrect permissions.

I've tried a fresh install, reset the PRAM, run fsck, and I've tried pleading with it, which didn't work. That's about my Apple tech limits - one last thing I've just read about is resetting the PMU, which I'll try tomorrow.

Oh one more thing! I ran a hardware test and it said the video ram had a problem - disp/13/1 or something like that. But I think that's unrelated. Sometimes when on the boot drive select window I get some weird funky lines on the screen which disappear then reappear as I move the mouse.

I appreciate any help and sorry for the ultra-mega-long post
__________________
Refurb 15" Glossy MBP: 2.4GHz SR, 120GB OCZ Vertex 2, 320GB HD, 4GB RAM.
Mac Mini: 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM.
pulsewidth947 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2006, 01:50 PM   #2
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
Faulty VRAM can absolutely cause this weird behavior. The only fix to this problem is likely a logicboard replacement.
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2006, 03:42 PM   #3
pulsewidth947
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
pulsewidth947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: squarefrog.co.uk
Damn, sounds expensive. We have no applecare and are a College with next to no budget. Anyone know how much roughly GBP it would cost for Apple to replace the Logic Board?
__________________
Refurb 15" Glossy MBP: 2.4GHz SR, 120GB OCZ Vertex 2, 320GB HD, 4GB RAM.
Mac Mini: 1.83GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM.
pulsewidth947 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
imac Wont Boot Passed Apple logo!!! Please help! polo3400 iMac 19 Jul 9, 2011 04:28 AM
iMac G4 Advice MBP13 Buying Tips and Advice 10 May 5, 2011 02:49 AM
iMac G4 Upgrade Question Cuba46 iMac 3 Feb 2, 2011 02:01 PM
G4 wont boot after "Hard Drive Firmware update"... help! Dirty Harry Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Nov 30, 2004 03:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC