Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 16, 2006, 07:44 AM   #1
A-J
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Hook PowerBook G4 up to HD TV

Hi all

I've just bought a Samsung 26" LE26R74BDX HD TV. I own a PowerBook G4 and just wondered if anybody knew which cable(s) I will need to use to enable the HD TV as a display for the PB.

Here are the HD TV Specs...
http://www.play.com/Electronics/Elec...V/Product.html

Thanks in advance, AJ.
A-J is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 08:09 AM   #2
Yoursh
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MN
Depends on what type of powerbook you have. Is it a model with DVI out, mini-DVI out, VGA out, or s-video out? If it's s-video all you need is a s-video cable going to the tv. If DVI then a DVI cable. If it's mini-DVI you will need to get an apple adapter that will give you DVI out or composite video . If you want to use the HDMI connector on your tv you will need to get a DVI to HDMI cable.

There's alot of different ways of doing it. Just need to get the right cables for your specific model powerbook.
__________________
MacPro 2.83Quad/6GB/820GB
Macbook Pro 2.4GHz/4GB/120GB SSD
Xserve+XRaid+Drobo 4TB
Yoursh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 10:36 AM   #3
A-J
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Thanks for the quick reply. The powerbook is a 17" G4, the final build before the MacBook Pros came out.

I've attached a photo of the back of the TV, showing all the inputs/outputs. Also attached is a photo of a couple of cables that came with my Powerbook, non seem to fit the TV though! Think the smaller one is s-video and the other maybe mini-DVI ??

Not sure which cable is best to buy to get all this working.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hdtv back.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	83.6 KB
ID:	57671   Click image for larger version

Name:	cab.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	57672  
A-J is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 10:47 AM   #4
ricksbrain
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Since there is the blue "PC" connector, I'd try to connect there-- it will be higher resolution than using anything else, I believe.
ricksbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2006, 03:33 PM   #5
gmckenzi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
I have the same vintage PB and a Hitachi plasma.

I'd recommend using a DVI->HDMI cable or HDMI cable with a DVI->HDMI adapter. You should be able to find this stuff at any store that sells high-def equipment.

It wouldn't surprise me that if you hook up to the blue VGA connector that it will actually be an analog VGA connection vs. the digital DVI/HDMI connection.

Gavin.
gmckenzi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2006, 06:25 AM   #6
A-J
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmckenzi
I'd recommend using a DVI->HDMI cable or HDMI cable with a DVI->HDMI adapter
At first I thought the only way to do it would be plugging into the PC port. But as you say I'm guessing HDMI is better quality.

So if I buy something like this it should all work fine...? And I can use the TV as a monitor / display.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DVI-To-HDMI-Ca...QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks for your help with this guys.
A-J is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2006, 12:25 PM   #7
gmckenzi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Yes, that cable should work. Though at first from reading the auction description I was a bit confused because the auction first describes the cable as DVI->HDMI and then later in the description says that you can use the cable to connect an HDMI DVD player to a display that only supports DVI. That description and title combination is contradictory -- but no matter, that cable should work and looks basically the same as the cable I use.

Note that you may or may not have trouble getting your PowerBook to utilize the full resolution of your panel without using something like DisplayConfigX or similar to match the specifics of your display. If I recall, I think I needed to use such a utility to dial in the specific settings to use the full resolution of my Hitachi. But, you won't know for sure until you try.

Gavin.
gmckenzi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2009, 10:31 AM   #8
jam jar
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
hey,
i have the powerbook g4 17" 1.5 Ghz and i got a hdmi to dvi like you said but the dvi doesnt fit into the dvi input on the mac
is there an adapter i need?
cheers
jam jar is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Imac hd hook up 2011myzen iMac 4 Sep 9, 2013 11:27 PM
Is there a way to hook up iBook to TV? skateny PowerPC Macs 7 Dec 10, 2012 08:31 PM
Best way to hook up this Viewsonic? Chevelle Mac mini 1 Nov 27, 2012 07:46 PM
iPad: How to hook ipad to tv firemedicmark Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Jun 26, 2012 05:31 AM
iPhone 4 to Powerbook sync/hook up backtothefuture iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jun 2, 2012 04:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC