Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 18, 2006, 08:18 AM   #1
ifjake
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
interface advice

Hey all. Looking for a few other opinions as well as any commentary on what I'm thinking about. I'm going to need an audio interface for some of the ideas I have in my head with Max/MSP and my senior recital in the spring, something that only really needs four inputs (only 2, really, at the moment). First off, I'm not to keen on Protools being my main setup, so a digidesigns solution would seem not to be the best idea, so originally to get something from echo audio like their audiofire stuff. But it really wouldn't be that bad to have protools around just to have, so I could just get a digidesign box and use it with other software, especially since it would only really be a small Mbox type thing anyway, no huge investment. My question is, how well do digidesign interfaces work with other software (Max/MSP, maybe logic someday)? Can I just use it just as any generic interface? Also (big) if I were to someday get an Intel Mac, would I be able to use a digidesign interface on the PC as well as the Mac side? (I'd prefer to someday use Samplitude/Sequoia as my main audio workstation.) I'm itching to try some of the ideas out, and now that this new Mbox pro thing is out, it might be plenty Good Enough™ for now. I don't need a huge number of inputs, especially if my laptop would be more of a mobile studio setup (I'd probably make some PC box in the future with all kinds of DSP cards for Samplitude when I decided/had-enough-money to start to want to do like 24-in basic tracking and such). What say you all?
ifjake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2006, 10:40 AM   #2
scottlinux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Digidesign portable interfaces are very poor. The mbox can only handle two channels, and being usb cannot be any super high bit and sample rates.

Check out http://www.m-audio.com, or http://www.alesis.com/

Lots of good affordable interfaces there.

I'd recommend getting a firewire interface, no matter what. M-audio hardware is compatible with pro-tools. They are owned by the same parent company.
scottlinux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2006, 12:24 PM   #3
ifjake
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
what do you think of the newer Mbox 2 Pro? That's firewire. How does the M-powered protools compare with Protools LE?
ifjake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2006, 12:49 PM   #4
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
i'm rather of the opinion that PT h/w is overpriced. if you're not using the s/w, then get someone else's hardware.

if you're willing to pony up the cash for an mbox 2 pro, then consider adding metric halo uln-2 to your search.
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2006, 07:37 PM   #5
scottlinux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
what do you think of the newer Mbox 2 Pro? That's firewire. How does the M-powered protools compare with Protools LE?
I understand it's about $700-$800. Yee-ouch. Expensive for those specs. But does have balanced XLR, I see.

The m-audio FW 1814 would be a cheaper competitor, I would think.

I THINK there is little to no difference between Pro Tools LE and Pro Tools M-Powered. Though I'm a Logic person and cannot confirm. Any Pro Tools power users here?
scottlinux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2006, 07:49 PM   #6
QuarterSwede
macrumors 604
 
QuarterSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Check out the FirePod by PreSonus. Right now its $499 at Sweetwater.com.

I have a friend who uses it and its easy to use and sounds excellent. It comes with Cubase LE which I don't particularly like but then again I'm a Digital Performer man myself (I hate ProTools). The general consensus is that it sounds much better than the MBox

Last edited by QuarterSwede; Sep 18, 2006 at 08:01 PM.
QuarterSwede is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2006, 09:47 PM   #7
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuarterSwede
(I hate ProTools).
why?
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2006, 11:29 AM   #8
scottlinux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuarterSwede
(I hate ProTools).
why?
I had to look back at the thread. Sounds like something I would say, too! I find Pro Tools to be good for hard drive recording. It is EXCELLENT for that. But for music creation, I find it's not as good as Digital Performer, Logic, Cubase, etc. Esp for midi and plugins of all kinds.
scottlinux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2006, 01:21 PM   #9
quigleybc
macrumors 68030
 
quigleybc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
Send a message via Skype™ to quigleybc
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottlinux
I had to look back at the thread. Sounds like something I would say, too! I find Pro Tools to be good for hard drive recording. It is EXCELLENT for that. But for music creation, I find it's not as good as Digital Performer, Logic, Cubase, etc. Esp for midi and plugins of all kinds.

Agreed

Pro Tools may be the industry standard, but I can't understand why....

Logic is so much more intuitive for me, heck even Ableton makes more sense to me for HD recording. But I'm sure there are a million PT users that would strongly disagree...

Also, for just straight up HD recording, I really like RADAR.
__________________
Black Book
Black iPhone
powermacg5 * iPod touch,nano,shuffle,3g * etc...
quigleybc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2006, 02:32 PM   #10
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by quigleybc
for just straight up HD recording, I really like RADAR.
do you get to use one on a regular basis? i've always been curious about that system.
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2006, 07:44 PM   #11
quigleybc
macrumors 68030
 
quigleybc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
Send a message via Skype™ to quigleybc
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20
do you get to use one on a regular basis? i've always been curious about that system.


Somewhat regular.

Friends of mine go to fancy recording school..

I leech off of them to use the toys.

...works for me !
__________________
Black Book
Black iPhone
powermacg5 * iPod touch,nano,shuffle,3g * etc...
quigleybc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2006, 08:28 PM   #12
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by quigleybc
Friends of mine go to fancy recording school..

I leech off of them to use the toys.
lucky!

which do you like better, the interface or the sound? and which converters are they using? and what kind of desk is it tied to? and? and? and?

i have a million questions :-)
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2006, 06:42 PM   #13
quigleybc
macrumors 68030
 
quigleybc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
Send a message via Skype™ to quigleybc
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20
lucky!

which do you like better, the interface or the sound? and which converters are they using? and what kind of desk is it tied to? and? and? and?

i have a million questions :-)


The interface is really nice. Almost OS X like in it's simplicity. Very big and bold so you can see things from a distance.

It just does it's job, and does it well. Record. It has a nice "jog wheel" controller
__________________
Black Book
Black iPhone
powermacg5 * iPod touch,nano,shuffle,3g * etc...
quigleybc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2006, 07:47 PM   #14
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by quigleybc
It just does it's job, and does it well. Record.
how about comping tracks? and other mixtime duties?
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2006, 12:23 PM   #15
quigleybc
macrumors 68030
 
quigleybc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
Send a message via Skype™ to quigleybc
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20
how about comping tracks? and other mixtime duties?

Ha,

I leave that to the students.

And from what I can tell, they use RADAR as a big dumpter for recording, then do most of the mixing in Logic.

What do you mean by "comping tracks?"
__________________
Black Book
Black iPhone
powermacg5 * iPod touch,nano,shuffle,3g * etc...
quigleybc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2006, 12:38 PM   #16
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by quigleybc
And from what I can tell, they use RADAR as a big dumpter for recording, then do most of the mixing in Logic.
so there's not actually a giant desk attached to each radar?

Quote:
What do you mean by "comping tracks?"
combining the best parts of several takes into one complete track (e.g. a lead vocal).
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2006, 06:04 PM   #17
quigleybc
macrumors 68030
 
quigleybc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
Send a message via Skype™ to quigleybc
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20
so there's not actually a giant desk attached to each radar?


combining the best parts of several takes into one complete track (e.g. a lead vocal).


We only use one recording studio/room

so, there is only one Radar system in there. It is it's own computer/HD everything. There is also a Mac in there, so we can switch from Radar to Mac with a dial switch. There is one giant desk, and one bad ass control surface to manipulate Radar, similar to a video editing scroll wheel controller.

I wish we were patient, and pro enough to sort through the takes and patch the best parts together, but we mainly just over dub if something needs to be redone..
__________________
Black Book
Black iPhone
powermacg5 * iPod touch,nano,shuffle,3g * etc...
quigleybc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Advice on an interface lefty224 Digital Audio 12 Feb 3, 2014 04:33 PM
Getting the right interface... Drew017 Digital Audio 4 Jan 11, 2014 12:37 AM
Pashua gui tool interface elements anything similar in xcode interface builder wild4life2013 Mac Programming 1 Aug 10, 2013 08:13 PM
Interface Help masch152 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Nov 26, 2012 04:48 PM
Audio interface and speakers/monitors for MBA advice needed Blackened Apple MacBook Air 0 Jul 30, 2012 06:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC