Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 22, 2006, 07:32 AM   #1
Khurram
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
How do I check system performance on osx?

Is there a "system" view where I can check the system usage/ram usage, and overall system performance?
I can't seem to find it.
thanks
Khurram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2006, 07:32 AM   #2
gauchogolfer
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khurram
Is there a "system" view where I can check the system usage/ram usage, and overall system performance?
I can't seem to find it.
thanks
It's called Activity Monitor...
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2006, 07:33 AM   #3
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
/Applications/Utilities/Activity Monitor.app
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2006, 07:42 AM   #4
Khurram
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitthrawnuruodo
/Applications/Utilities/Activity Monitor.app

Thanks guys,
also I just dowloaded core2duo temp and installed it by default in the apps folder, but when I double click on it or try to open it , nothing happens...is it running somewhere I dont realize?
Khurram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2006, 07:44 AM   #5
gauchogolfer
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khurram
Thanks guys,
also I just dowloaded core2duo temp and installed it by default in the apps folder, but when I double click on it or try to open it , nothing happens...is it running somewhere I dont realize?
Sorry I'm on a PB, so I can't install this software to take a look. I'm sure someone with a compatible system who's used that particular program will be along shortly
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2006, 07:50 AM   #6
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khurram
Thanks guys,
also I just dowloaded core2duo temp and installed it by default in the apps folder, but when I double click on it or try to open it , nothing happens...is it running somewhere I dont realize?
It might be hiding in the menu bar...

Name:  Picture 1.png
Views: 39231
Size:  27.1 KB

__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2006, 02:27 PM   #7
DwightSchrute
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Send a message via AIM to DwightSchrute
What's the difference between free, wired, and active memory?
DwightSchrute is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2006, 03:09 PM   #8
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by DwightSchrute
What's the difference between free, wired, and active memory?
Quote:
Wired memory
This information can't be cached to disk, so it must stay in RAM. The amount depends on what applications you are using.

Active memory
This information is currently in RAM and actively being used.

Inactive memory
This information is no longer being used and has been cached to disk, but it will remain in RAM until another application needs the space. Leaving this information in RAM is to your advantage if you (or a client of your computer) come back to it later.

Free memory
This memory is not being used.

What does all this mean?
This means you shouldn't worry when the Free memory is low. The only time Free memory should be high is right after the computer starts up. As you use applications or services, memory is used and transitions to Inactive. Applications that need more memory will take from the Inactive, but the Inactive is there just in case you need it again. If the combination of Free and Inactive is very low, then you might need more memory.
Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2006, 11:26 PM   #9
squirrelonfire
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I launched activity monitor and in the system memory tab, there's a setence says
VM: 11.5 GB
Does VM mean virtual memory? If thats what it means, then y i am using virtual memory b/c I am having 1gig of ram?
squirrelonfire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2006, 03:21 AM   #10
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by squirrelonfire
I launched activity monitor and in the system memory tab, there's a setence says
VM: 11.5 GB
Does VM mean virtual memory? If thats what it means, then y i am using virtual memory b/c I am having 1gig of ram?
Quote:
The "VM size" refers to virtual memory, a system of putting information in RAM or caching it to your hard disk as needed. Thus Mac OS X can "virtually" use more memory than the amount of RAM you have. The hard disk is much slower than RAM, so the virtual memory system automatically distributes information between disk space and RAM for efficient performance. "Page ins/outs" refers to the number of times Mac OS X has moved information between RAM and disk space.
Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor (You guessed right, it's the same article as quoted just a couple of posts above )
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2006, 09:45 AM   #11
squirrelonfire
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Red face

I ran Activity Monitor and where it says page in/out my number is like this
25611/0.
However I still want to know if I can reduce the Virtual memory size to like 1gig b/c i'm installing another gig of ram, that will boost my macbook to 2gig, I can barely think why should I need to use virtual memory at all.
squirrelonfire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2006, 11:04 AM   #12
nylon
macrumors 6502a
 
nylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitthrawnuruodo
It might be hiding in the menu bar...

Attachment 58190

What are the other apps you are running in your menu bar?
nylon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2006, 12:03 PM   #13
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quicksilver, [CoreDuoTemp,] Yahoo Widget Engine (aka Konfabulator), MainMenu, MenuMeters.
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2006, 01:20 PM   #14
squirrelonfire
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
These programs are running on my menu bar Finder, Dashboard, Fetch (a FTP program), Firefox, iChat, iTunes, Stickies Note, iWeb, system preferences, Word, and Serial Box.
Just for your information, may be just in my case, CoredueTemp quit unexpectedly on me, when it get reopened, it didn't even run b/c it said some kind of module it couldnt' read.
squirrelonfire is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you check data usage on iPad if you have unlimited plan? medgirl2001 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 9 Apr 20, 2011 03:20 PM
In the absence of OSX TRIM support, how do you restore SSD performance on a Mac? Libertine Lush MacBook Pro 83 Dec 7, 2010 03:54 AM
how do u check the cycles on ur battery mcanadiensfan63 MacBook Pro 4 Dec 28, 2007 01:37 PM
How do you check RPM speed on HD on powerbook? adambrochu PowerPC Macs 4 Sep 23, 2006 08:36 AM
how do I check the temperature on my ibook? macgeek2005 PowerPC Macs 2 Jun 25, 2006 11:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC