Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 24, 2006, 07:13 PM   #1
peas
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
how to select multiple files?

say i want to select pictures 1-15 to put in a different folder.
i'd click pic1, hold shift, then click on pic15. that selects all the files in between as well. how do i go about doing this same thing in osx?

ive tried just about every combination of the shift, control, option, and apple key with clicking but nothing works.

thanks for helping. i seriously suck at this os haha
peas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2006, 07:16 PM   #2
Unorthodox
macrumors 65816
 
Unorthodox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Not at the beach...
If I click on a file, then hold shift down, and click on another file it'll select both.
Same with the command (apple) key.

Are you sure thats not the TV remote?
__________________
Advertise your site, software, or service in this space and be seen over 100,000ish times per day by your target audience. Click here for info.
Unorthodox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2006, 07:21 PM   #3
peas
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
hi and thanks for the quick reply.
it does the same for me as you described.
however, what i also want is the files in between the two i click on.

as in my example...i want pictures 1 through 15 without shift+clicking on each one.
peas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2006, 07:21 PM   #4
miniConvert
macrumors 68040
 
miniConvert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
Send a message via AIM to miniConvert Send a message via MSN to miniConvert
Shift click the first then shift click the last.

Command click is similar, but it wont automatically select what's inbetween.
__________________
Where are we? What the hell is going on? --Hide And Seek, Imogen Heap
miniConvert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2006, 08:23 AM   #5
Unorthodox
macrumors 65816
 
Unorthodox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Not at the beach...
Quote:
Originally Posted by peas
hi and thanks for the quick reply.
it does the same for me as you described.
however, what i also want is the files in between the two i click on.

as in my example...i want pictures 1 through 15 without shift+clicking on each one.
I don't know.....
It's weird because some times that happens with me when I don't want it to select all the files in between.

You could just try dragging your cursor over the files you want to select.
__________________
Advertise your site, software, or service in this space and be seen over 100,000ish times per day by your target audience. Click here for info.
Unorthodox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2006, 08:58 AM   #6
amiga
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London.
If the files are all in order you can just drag the mouse around them and it will select every thing with in the square! Don't know if that helps. Not exactly what you wanted to do.
amiga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2006, 09:08 AM   #7
MacBoobsPro
macrumors 603
 
MacBoobsPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to MacBoobsPro
Shift + click the first and last files you want. It will select the ones in between.

Command (Apple) + Clicking the files you want will 'multiple select' individual files. So you could select 1, 7, 12 and 15 for example.
MacBoobsPro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 09:21 PM   #8
Teriyaki Boy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacBoobsPro View Post
Shift + click the first and last files you want. It will select the ones in between.

Command (Apple) + Clicking the files you want will 'multiple select' individual files. So you could select 1, 7, 12 and 15 for example.
Wow, this thread is almost 3 years old, but I'm stuck with the same problem right now.

I have tried to select all the files in between by holding the Shift key + clicking the first and last files, but it doesn't select the files in between them....

Help anyone?
Teriyaki Boy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 09:24 PM   #9
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teriyaki Boy View Post
Wow, this thread is almost 3 years old, but I'm stuck with the same problem right now.

I have tried to select all the files in between by holding the Shift key + clicking the first and last files, but it doesn't select the files in between them....

Help anyone?
You're in icon view, aren't you?

OS X doesn't see files in icon view as consecutive, so that method will not work, you have to select them all with the mouse holding either CMD or Shift.
r.j.s is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 09:28 PM   #10
Sky Blue
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teriyaki Boy View Post
Wow, this thread is almost 3 years old, but I'm stuck with the same problem right now.

I have tried to select all the files in between by holding the Shift key + clicking the first and last files, but it doesn't select the files in between them....

Help anyone?
Drag over all the files.
Sky Blue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 09:33 PM   #11
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
There's no need to Shift-click the first file. Simply click the first file, hold down the Shift, and click the last file. It selects both files and everything in between.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 02:27 AM   #12
Teriyaki Boy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by r.j.s View Post
You're in icon view, aren't you?

OS X doesn't see files in icon view as consecutive, so that method will not work, you have to select them all with the mouse holding either CMD or Shift.
Hey thanks for the help guys! It turns out r.j.s is right. I was in the icon view mode, so I couldn't select consecutive files by holding down the shift key.

I have tested in other view modes such as list and columns view modes and they both work fine!

I guess OS X is not the same as Windows in the icon view aspect....

I want to select consecutive photos without having to use my mouse dragging them under the icon view mode (because I can only select them in 2x2, 2x3, 3x4, etc. manners and I don't want that). I guess there's just no other way is there......?

Any help would be deeply appreciated!
Teriyaki Boy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2009, 10:17 PM   #13
scott54
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
yes its another pain in the a$$ problem with the mac os that mac lovers refuse to admit ..yes there are ways around it, but why does there have to be a "way around it" ..why doesn't it "just work"! I have used mac and PC for years and if it were not for the virus issues on a PC I would get rid of my mac.
scott54 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 07:30 AM   #14
shippouk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
oh my god! This is mental!
You can't do the SHIFT CLICK first SHIFT CLICK last on Thumbnails.

I don't know why people go on soooo much about Mac being better than PC's, when they lack these basics.
Its things like this that really make me wonder why I've just moved to Mac.

Do Apple ever update missing things like this?

Regards
Shippo
shippouk is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 07:39 AM   #15
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Quote:
Originally Posted by shippouk View Post
oh my god! This is mental!
You can't do the SHIFT CLICK first SHIFT CLICK last on Thumbnails.

I don't know why people go on soooo much about Mac being better than PC's, when they lack these basics.
Its things like this that really make me wonder why I've just moved to Mac.

Do Apple ever update missing things like this?
What? Works fine for me.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 07:43 AM   #16
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles01110 View Post
What? Works fine for me.
I think he was referring to icon view, but he did say thumbnails, so who knows.
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 07:52 AM   #17
shippouk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
I mean like this



are the functions NOT useable in all modes?

Also, does anyone know how to rename multiple files at the same time in a similar manner? (on a pc it used to be click first image, hold down shift, click last image, right mouse click RENAME) cant find this function on a mac.

Thanks
Shippo
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2010-05-12 at 13.48.02.png
Views:	168041
Size:	31.9 KB
ID:	225938  
shippouk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 07:55 AM   #18
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Quote:
Originally Posted by shippouk View Post
I mean like this

Just make a highlight box around the files you want by clicking and dragging.

Quote:
are the functions NOT useable in all modes?
More like they're not defined in certain modes.

Quote:
Also, does anyone know how to rename multiple files at the same time in a similar manner? (on a pc it used to be click first image, hold down shift, click last image, right mouse click RENAME) cant find this function on a mac.
Use Automator. It's in your Utilities folder. There's no way to do this by default in OS X.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 08:13 AM   #19
forcefieldkid
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by shippouk View Post
Also, does anyone know how to rename multiple files at the same time in a similar manner? (on a pc it used to be click first image, hold down shift, click last image, right mouse click RENAME) cant find this function on a mac.
If you're talking about photos, you can import them into iPhoto and then use the Batch Change function to change all the names and add a number on the end (or not, its whatever you set it as).

There was an app that does any kind of files but I'd have to look it up again.

EDIT: Found It

Also in icon view, after you've dragged the box to select a batch of files or folders, if you hold the apple key you can drag a seperate box around others to select them as well.
__________________
Welcome to my desert island the weather is glorious...

Last edited by yellow; May 12, 2010 at 09:21 AM. Reason: Merged Contiguous Posts
forcefieldkid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 08:13 AM   #20
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by shippouk View Post
oh my god! This is mental!
You can't do the SHIFT CLICK first SHIFT CLICK last on Thumbnails.
I don't know why people go on soooo much about Mac being better than PC's, when they lack these basics.
Its things like this that really make me wonder why I've just moved to Mac.
Do Apple ever update missing things like this?
Yes, it's mental, meaning you have to use your mind. Mac OS X isn't Windows. It isn't attempting to be Windows. It's different. You have to give yourself time to learn the differences. Some differences, you'll like; some, you won't. Making a judgement call on which OS is "better", based on one insignificant function, doesn't make much sense, does it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shippouk View Post
are the functions NOT useable in all modes?
No, some functions aren't useful in every mode. The reason you can't use the shift key and grab a range in the icon view is the icons may not be arranged neatly in rows and columns. Some icons may be on top of others, they may not appear in alphanumeric sequence, and some may not even appear on the window without scrolling. Therefore, that functionality is inefficient, compared to simply clicking and dragging over the range that you want.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shippouk View Post
Also, does anyone know how to rename multiple files at the same time in a similar manner? (on a pc it used to be click first image, hold down shift, click last image, right mouse click RENAME) cant find this function on a mac.
You can do batch renaming and MUCH more with Name Mangler.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 08:16 AM   #21
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles01110 View Post
Just make a highlight box around the files you want by clicking and dragging.
...or through the icons. The box doesn't have to enclose the whole icon for it to be selected. You knew that. Others may not.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 08:20 AM   #22
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
You can do batch renaming and MUCH more with Name Mangler.
Name Mangler isn't free anymore, which is why I stopped recommending it. You can use it 25 times before you have to pay $10.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 08:22 AM   #23
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles01110 View Post
Name Mangler isn't free anymore, which is why I stopped recommending it. You can use it 25 times before you have to pay $10.
Thanks for mentioning that! I didn't realize they started charging! I can say, however, that it's one of the rare apps that I wouldn't mind paying for! I use it extensively and find it very helpful!

Actually, it appears it can still be free. It's just that after 25 launches, you get an annoying registration reminder each time you use it, unless you pay.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 08:23 AM   #24
forcefieldkid
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles01110 View Post
Name Mangler isn't free anymore
This one is though
__________________
Welcome to my desert island the weather is glorious...
forcefieldkid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 08:54 AM   #25
shippouk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
So, to rename more than one file, you have to download a program to do it?
Otherwise I have to select the files in a different view where I cant see exactly what I'm selecting?

Weeeeiiiiird!

Shippo
shippouk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
copy multiple file names > then paste to multiple different files maxslomoff Mac Programming 5 Jul 27, 2014 09:52 AM
How can I open multiple files within multiple folders in an app at once? EyeAmLuv OS X Mavericks (10.9) 6 Apr 4, 2014 09:35 PM
How to select multiple files ? zzoo MacBook Air 3 Sep 15, 2013 12:49 PM
multiple email select powers74 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Oct 28, 2012 02:22 PM
Resolved: Write multi-select drop-down via php to create multiple entries in mysql database? rhp2424 Web Design and Development 7 Aug 22, 2012 11:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC