Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 27, 2006, 03:57 PM   #1
bearbo
macrumors 68000
 
bearbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
powermac g5 w/o BT,AP.. can I add them?

If I land a powermac g5 2.0 dual, late 05 built w/o bluetooth or airport, is it possible for me to install them myself, that is, will it be possible for me to purchase airport card and bluetooth card from apple (if so how much?) and put it in myself? thanks!
bearbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 12:41 PM   #2
pocketandy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London UK
Send a message via AIM to pocketandy
Yes try: http://www.applemacparts.co.uk/store...wermac&x=0&y=0. It's not cheap though. The card is installed in 1.42Ghz iBooks and I pulled one out of one I repaired with a broken screen. then I just had to get the runway card and stand offs which is also available from VIS. Now I'm looking for a guide to install it. I might try and work it out for myself. I might create a guide.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bearbo
If I land a powermac g5 2.0 dual, late 05 built w/o bluetooth or airport, is it possible for me to install them myself, that is, will it be possible for me to purchase airport card and bluetooth card from apple (if so how much?) and put it in myself? thanks!
pocketandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 05:58 PM   #3
Macmadant
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearbo
If I land a powermac g5 2.0 dual, late 05 built w/o bluetooth or airport, is it possible for me to install them myself, that is, will it be possible for me to purchase airport card and bluetooth card from apple (if so how much?) and put it in myself? thanks!
A bluetooth USB dongle won't Set you back much either
Macmadant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2006, 03:46 AM   #4
pocketandy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London UK
Send a message via AIM to pocketandy
True but it won't give you airport capabilities. Look at this string I found all of the info to install the card there. It is not difficult if you aren't scared of poking inside a computer. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=179232
pocketandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G5 as a server? Good idea? alexreich PowerPC Macs 35 Sep 11, 2012 04:46 PM
PowerMac G5 AirPort card installation osxoverwin PowerPC Macs 7 Oct 16, 2011 03:42 AM
Trading 16gb iPad 1 for a PowerMac G5 geekindisguise Buying Tips and Advice 5 Sep 19, 2011 08:28 AM
PSU replacement for PowerMac G5 1.8 DP 2004 >>> PM G5 2005? netsurfz PowerPC Macs 3 Sep 7, 2011 09:26 AM
PowerMac G5 & Airport Express RedElectro PowerPC Macs 4 Nov 25, 2010 10:25 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC