Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Old Sep 27, 2006, 05:21 PM   #1
Regular-John

Recording, Garageband and Jam Packs

Hi All

I'm fairly new to recording with the mac. I'm thinking of buying a digital recorder like this, or maybe something like this, would I get better quality tracks through something like this or would my iMac [please see sig. for spec.] be better??

Also, are the Jam Packs worth it? I feel like the drum samples currently bundled with Garageband are a bit limited, I need more loops and samples, rock oriented. Does the Rhythm Jam Pack have a lot of drum samples in 'rock' vein?

Thanks in advance.
RJ
Regular-John is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2006, 05:30 PM   #2
lord patton
macrumors 65816

jam packs aren't your only option for adding drum loops to GarageBand. I've had good luck with this outfit:

http://www.betamonkeymusic.com/

Why pay $100 for a JamPack, when you can spend a fraction of that and get exactly what you need? Have fun.
Old Sep 27, 2006, 05:33 PM   #3
mooncaine
macrumors regular

Always, always, always go with the external recorder instead of recording with your computer. Always. Far fewer probs, headaches, or even minor irritations when you do your recording on a dedicated recording device.

The Boss recorder's your best option of the 2 you showed.
mooncaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2006, 05:49 PM   #4
Regular-John

Thanks for those replies!

That loop site is a good find! Thin k I'll wait til their download store is up and running!

I see why you said the Boss is the better option but I just prefer having an on screen display!! I'm kinda steering towards the Lexicon Omega for that very reason.

Any other suggestions are very welcome!!
Old Sep 27, 2006, 06:01 PM   #5
mooncaine
macrumors regular

You did say your criteria for choosing included quality. You'd rather trade away quality [less background noise, for a start] and reliabilty for a large display? Up to you....