Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 28, 2006, 06:01 PM   #1
wakerider017
macrumors 68000
 
wakerider017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: US of A
Send a message via AIM to wakerider017
Rename Hard Drive?

Is it possible to rename a hard drive...

I setup boot camp and my windows partition is named "untitled"

Thanks!
__________________
-27" iMac
-3GS iPhone
-flickr
wakerider017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2006, 06:05 PM   #2
Fearless Leader
macrumors 68020
 
Fearless Leader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wonderland
depends if it is a fat32 drive just rename it like anything else. If its a NTFS drive then no.
__________________
Oh yes mustard! That'll do... Mustard? Don't let's be silly. Now lemon, that's different...
Fearless Leader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2006, 06:07 PM   #3
steve_hill4
macrumors 68000
 
steve_hill4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NG9, England
Send a message via ICQ to steve_hill4 Send a message via AIM to steve_hill4 Send a message via MSN to steve_hill4 Send a message via Yahoo to steve_hill4 Send a message via Skype™ to steve_hill4
You can double click the drive on your desktop, (longer pause than normal in between), or better still select it then cmd-i or ctrl-click and Get Info.

Can't remember with Boot Camp whether it's better to leave it or not though. Think when I tried to rename, it was fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rokem
depends if it is a fat32 drive just rename it like anything else. If its a NTFS drive then no.
That's it, knew there was something.
__________________
Macintosh LCIII - PB 1400c - PB G3 'Lombard' - 12" PB G4 - 15" CD MBP - 24" iMac - 13" i5 MBP
iPod Photo 60GB - 2G iPod nano - iPhone 3G - iPhone 4

Last edited by Doctor Q; Sep 28, 2006 at 06:26 PM. Reason: post merge
steve_hill4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2006, 06:56 PM   #4
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
You can also select your hard drive (click it once) and hit return. Then type in whatever you want.

Always a good idea to run a permissions repair after renaming a HD; it's usually not necessary, but just to be safe...
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2006, 07:09 PM   #5
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I seem to recall reading that if you're in NTFS you can rename it from within Windows. In FAT32 you can rename it in either Windows or OS X.

Is that right?
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2006, 07:53 PM   #6
steve_hill4
macrumors 68000
 
steve_hill4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NG9, England
Send a message via ICQ to steve_hill4 Send a message via AIM to steve_hill4 Send a message via MSN to steve_hill4 Send a message via Yahoo to steve_hill4 Send a message via Skype™ to steve_hill4
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCowboy
I seem to recall reading that if you're in NTFS you can rename it from within Windows. In FAT32 you can rename it in either Windows or OS X.

Is that right?
You can rename NTFS within Windows, but I couldn't guarantee the same name will show up under OSX.
__________________
Macintosh LCIII - PB 1400c - PB G3 'Lombard' - 12" PB G4 - 15" CD MBP - 24" iMac - 13" i5 MBP
iPod Photo 60GB - 2G iPod nano - iPhone 3G - iPhone 4
steve_hill4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2006, 07:54 PM   #7
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_hill4
You can rename NTFS within Windows, but I couldn't guarantee the same name will show up under OSX.
My understanding is that OS X does recognize that name change, but I don't know much about that...I'm stuck in the PPC dark ages.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2006, 07:58 PM   #8
Fearless Leader
macrumors 68020
 
Fearless Leader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wonderland
anyway it does reconize the name change. or at least im 99% sure.
__________________
Oh yes mustard! That'll do... Mustard? Don't let's be silly. Now lemon, that's different...
Fearless Leader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2008, 01:30 PM   #9
Mister9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Yeah it does- you have to go into My Computer on the Windows side and click the hdd- I forget what its called, maybe even the C:// drive... i forget but right click on it (hold ctrl and use two fingers on the mouse pad if on a laptop) and go to properties- the name is just blank I belive... at least it was on mine. This wasn't all that long ago, I just am a stoner... haha jk
Mister9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2008, 01:57 PM   #10
Yhapster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Guyana
By right clicking on the drive on the windows side of the partition in "my computer" you will get the option to rename the drive hence it will show up on the mac side with the name change.
Yhapster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2008, 02:03 PM   #11
Kilamite
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
I renamed my Boot Camp partition to "Windows HD".

As said, you have to rename it when you are in Windows as OS X can't modify or write to NTFS hard drives without 3rd party support.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 7.1
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9.2
Kilamite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 07:40 AM   #12
Kaentae
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
*bump*

On this same topic, I've just partitioned my external hard drive, and formatted one of the partitions in FAT32, when I typed the name it would only allow me to have capitals. So I thought, oh well I'll change it after, however when I click "get info" and change the name it's fine, but as soon as I write to it it reverts back to all caps.

I know it's really neurotic of me, but it just annoys me seeing "LITTLE DISK" instead of the nicer looking "little disk"....

...any ideas?
Kaentae is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My MacBook Air is on its 4th hard drive cbwillow MacBook Air 16 Jun 2, 2012 07:28 AM
External Hard Drive Suggestions rabsparks iMac 9 Dec 30, 2011 12:09 AM
Good, Reliable external hard drive Shmuco Mac Peripherals 15 Jun 13, 2011 04:07 PM
MacBook Pro Hard Drive Boot Speeds SSD and HDD NickZac MacBook Pro 0 May 15, 2011 07:39 PM
Iomega Hard drive with password protection? respectabilia Mac Peripherals 1 Nov 7, 2010 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC