Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 2, 2006, 07:28 PM   #1
Macfanatic867
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: US
iMac G5 1.9ghz won't boot

I have an iMac G5 1.9ghz, the last revision before the intel transition, and it will not boot up. I press the power button and I hear the start up sound and I see the light on the front turn on. however I don't hear any hard drive thrashing or anything. After about 2 minutes the Fans come on FULL bore, which I've never heard at all before. They've never come on that loud. Also last week when reading CDs the optical drive had begun to make a loud Whurring noise, like the cd wasn't spinning properly. Not like it matters, but I don't have any 3rd party RAM in it and it's still on warranty.

What should I do before I bring it in? I can't back it up. Can I expect the Hard drive to be erased? Should I demand that the CD drive is fixed too?

This really sucks as my new refurb Macbook Pro 17in that I just bought because my windows machine at work died does not have a working Airport Card. When I walk more than 10 feet from the Airport Extreme BS it loses all internet connection, but not the network at all. Go figure, I'm bringing it in tomorrow but it's just so bizarre.

Any thoughts for either machine?
__________________
Black MacBook 2GB RAM
Macfanatic867 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2006, 07:30 PM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
What should I do before I bring it in? I can't back it up. Can I expect the Hard drive to be erased? Should I demand that the CD drive is fixed too?
You can't even get Target Disk Mode?
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2006, 07:35 PM   #3
Macfanatic867
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: US
I can't believe I forgot to try! How pathetic of me. I'll do that.
__________________
Black MacBook 2GB RAM
Macfanatic867 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2006, 07:36 PM   #4
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macfanatic867
I can't believe I forgot to try! How pathetic of me. I'll do that.
You mentioned you MacBook Pro. I picked up that you had a second Mac around.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2006, 07:45 PM   #5
Macfanatic867
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: US
No I really forgot to try, that's a great idea. I have a Macbook Pro (faulty airport aside) and a back up harddrive.
__________________
Black MacBook 2GB RAM
Macfanatic867 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2006, 07:47 PM   #6
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macfanatic867
No I really forgot to try, that's a great idea.
Sorry this took so long...

My suggestion is to try Target Disk Mode and backup your data. (If it doesn't work let this bet ANOTHER lesson to back up your data.)

Resetting your Mac's PRAM and NVRAM
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=2238

iMac G5: How to Reset the SMU
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=301733

Sounds like a bad Super Drive at least. No clue on the hard drive yet.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2006, 10:23 PM   #7
beatsme
macrumors 65816
 
beatsme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macfanatic867
I press the power button and I hear the start up sound and I see the light on the front turn on. however I don't hear any hard drive thrashing or anything.
sounds like your HD isn't getting power, which either means a bad lead or a dead HD

I'm wondering if you got one of the bad logic boards. link
It's supposed to only be a problem with first generation iMac G5's, but you never know.

EDIT: though I guess if you could get Target Mode to work, you could probably assume that the logic board is OK
beatsme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 07:02 PM   #8
Macfanatic867
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: US
Nope Nothing worked. Brought it in today and they said that the Logic Board was fried somehow. The part is on order and they said that they probably won't wipe the harddrive which would be great. I'm very glad it's not the harddrive. So here's to hoping. Thanks for the ideas! Nice call beatsme on the bad logic board btw.
__________________
Black MacBook 2GB RAM
Macfanatic867 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 07:41 PM   #9
beatsme
macrumors 65816
 
beatsme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macfanatic867
Nice call beatsme on the bad logic board btw.
a shot in the dark

sorry about your logic board...that sucks
beatsme is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.9GHz i5 or 3.1GHz i7 in 21.5" iMac? benjamwes iMac 5 May 10, 2013 03:07 PM
6970M 3.1GHz i5 iMac 2011 or 2.9GHz i5 GT 660M 2012 iMac? cinnabun93 iMac 10 Apr 3, 2013 01:06 PM
Help! 2.7GHz or 2.9GHz iMac? rmilkes iMac 6 Nov 30, 2012 05:19 PM
21.5 2.9Ghz with Fusion or 27 imac base? slymarques iMac 8 Nov 10, 2012 09:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC