Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Old Oct 2, 2006, 09:24 PM   #1
Rasheem
macrumors regular

audio not playing in final cut pro. HELP!

hi im new to final cut and something seems to be messed up. None of my audio is playing. its not a question of tracks being muted. not even the previews of video or songs will play before adding them to the timeline. And its not my computer because itunes still plays so i know everything is working on my speakers and computer its just final cut. I think its probably an easy fix like checking a box in preferences but i cant find anything? PLEASE HELP
Rasheem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2006, 10:42 PM   #2
GavinT
macrumors member

Location: Bath (UK) -> Tokyo (JPN) -> Cardiff (UK) -> Tokyo (JPN)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasheem
hi im new to final cut and something seems to be messed up. None of my audio is playing. its not a question of tracks being muted. not even the previews of video or songs will play before adding them to the timeline. And its not my computer because itunes still plays so i know everything is working on my speakers and computer its just final cut. I think its probably an easy fix like checking a box in preferences but i cant find anything? PLEASE HELP

Hmm. I'm getting the same issue in Final Cut Express HD.
GavinT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 12:31 AM   #3
GavinT
macrumors member

Hmmm. I've been poking around, and in my case the video's with no audio are those that I've passed through VisualHub (they were files that used to play OK on my PC, but not on my Mac. I then passed them through VisualHub to convert to bog standard MPG.) Strange, as I get sound still in Quicktime.

Anything that's not gone through VisualHub imports correctly.
Old Oct 3, 2006, 01:49 AM   #4
faustfire
macrumors 6502a