Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 4, 2006, 12:09 PM   #1
Laktic666
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
transfer projects form g4 laptop to macpro

I have a G4 laptop with Airport and bluetooth, and have just bought a MacPro which needs to go back because it's faulty. Problem is, they say the bluetooth module is not available anymore for my replacement MacPro and I didnt order a airport either, Im not to fussed about the wireless keyboard + mouse but I was going to use bluetooth to transfer files and share the internet connection from the G4 when needed (The MacPro dosnt need constant connection, only for updating, registering etc). Now, getting the replacement macpro has already taken about 3 hours of phone calls so im not sure if its worth trying to get the bluetooth for what its worth, I dont know if this is even the best way to share files and connection? Would using the ethernet be easier, I assume I would still need a hub like with PCs? Is it possible to use a cheap 2-4 port hub or do I need an expensive mac one? Or should I press them for an airport? any help appriciated, thanks
Laktic666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2006, 12:12 PM   #2
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Just about any hub/router will work fine. You can share the file/internet connection from the laptop to the Mac Pro through a firewire cable. You can also put the laptop in Traget mode, connect it to the MacPro with the firewire cable and drag & drop your file that way.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2006, 12:25 PM   #3
ljones
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
I networked mine, the Mac pro has 2 ethernet ports, i just plugged my G4 to it, setup my G4 to allow Appleshare, setup my G4 with a new account that logs in automatically, set the permissions to ignore owner, and I just load my hard drives into my mac pro. A server basically. Took a little trail and error to get it to be a true server, but it's a smooth process now. I even modified a applescript to backup documents to the G4 every Sunday at noon.

When i find more free time i need to finish my script to mount the drive prior to the cron script running my backup script. And this will be the first time i use that wake from sleep feature, to ensure the G4 is up to attempt the mount. The wake for network admin doesn't seem to work for whatever reason.

Blah blah, too much info.
ljones is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transferring songs from different laptops to iPhone MohammedAbdal iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Apr 9, 2011 08:22 PM
Can I transfer HD from old laptop to new one? BlueSkyBlueWind MacBook Pro 1 Mar 16, 2011 01:33 PM
How to- transfer information from old laptop to new? mdwsta4 MacBook Pro 1 Aug 23, 2007 07:48 PM
How long before the need arises to upgrade from G4 laptop to Intel? kntgsp PowerPC Macs 4 Apr 17, 2006 08:07 PM
transfer files form G4 to new G5? pompo Macintosh Computers 2 Jun 26, 2004 02:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC