Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 6, 2006, 11:39 AM   #1
undead-design
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Post $300 for 1GB Powerbook G4 RAM?!?! HELP!

Hey everyone. I am getting an older Powerbook G4 17 inch from a friend pretty soon. She's selling it to me for about 700 bucks because it only has the on board 512 MB of RAM and the usual wear and tear. I think it is a fair price (as I am buying it to hold me over until I need a new laptop next school year), but after looking into upgrading the memory on Apple's store online, $300 dollars for 1GB of RAM seems a bit ridiculous! I need more then 1GB to run Aperture, Photoshop CS2 and Final Cut Pro. But that means I am spending nearly 1000 dollars for a kind of dated computer when I could buy a refurb macbook pro for a few hundred more. Am I wrong, is there anywhere else I should shop for RAM? Or anything I need to know!?
undead-design is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 11:41 AM   #2
barkins
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Encino, CA
Send a message via AIM to barkins
Quote:
Originally Posted by undead-design
Hey everyone. I am getting an older Powerbook G4 17 inch from a friend pretty soon. She's selling it to me for about 700 bucks because it only has the on board 512 MB of RAM and the usual wear and tear. I think it is a fair price (as I am buying it to hold me over until I need a new laptop next school year), but after looking into upgrading the memory on Apple's store online, $300 dollars for 1GB of RAM seems a bit ridiculous! I need more then 1GB to run Aperture, Photoshop CS2 and Final Cut Pro. But that means I am spending nearly 1000 dollars for a kind of dated computer when I could buy a refurb macbook pro for a few hundred more. Am I wrong, is there anywhere else I should shop for RAM? Or anything I need to know!?
Check Ebay...
__________________
butr.net
barkins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 11:46 AM   #3
undead-design
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I was thinking that...but....

Quote:
Originally Posted by barkins
Check Ebay...
thats what i was thinking about doing but i don't know enough about RAM for laptops to know what to look for. I saw that the apple site lists it as:

"Apple Memory Module 1GB PC2700 DDR333 SO-DIMM"

Should I just ebay search that? Is Apple RAM the same as other RAM? Kind of a stupid question , but I haven't actually had to buy RAM for an Apple before. Thanks!
undead-design is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 03:32 PM   #4
NewSc2
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
no, any RAM with the right specified size should work fine. Check newegg.com for prices and reviews, and http://www.crucial.com/ can help you determine which size you would need.
__________________
Mac Pro + 30" ACD, 15" MBP, iPhone, iPad
Logic & Ableton user
Canon 5D, 40D
NewSc2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 03:43 PM   #5
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Patience...

Dude...crucial.com, 18004memory.com and kingston.com all have better prices.

If a macbook pro is only a little more and you can afford it...why not?
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 03:50 PM   #6
Pressure
macrumors 68040
 
Pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewSc2
no, any RAM with the right specified size should work fine. Check newegg.com for prices and reviews, and http://www.crucial.com/ can help you determine which size you would need.
For PowerPC based system I strongly suggest getting ram that has been tested and deemed compatible with Apple systems.

The new Intel based computers isn't as fuzzy about ram as the PowerPC architecture is.
__________________
Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Pressure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 03:51 PM   #7
Swarmlord
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Where are you seeing a Macbook Pro of that caliber for just a "little bit" more? The cheapest new one is $2K and even refurb is just slightly less than that. That 17" screen would really help with the software you listed and if the copies you have are written for the PowerPC processor and not Universal or Intel that G4 machine would work fine for less money.

Maybe I need to browse the refurb unit area a little more often if prices are that much lower than new.
Swarmlord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 04:00 PM   #8
NewSc2
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pressure
For PowerPC based system I strongly suggest getting ram that has been tested and deemed compatible with Apple systems.

The new Intel based computers isn't as fuzzy about ram as the PowerPC architecture is.
I wouldn't say so. There are many, many Powerbook owners that use 3rd party RAM (including me) with no problems. Samsung, Corsair, Crucial, and Kingston are all very reputable brands. Newegg has many reviews of satisfied Powerbook, iBook, iMac, and Powermac upgraders.
__________________
Mac Pro + 30" ACD, 15" MBP, iPhone, iPad
Logic & Ableton user
Canon 5D, 40D
NewSc2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 06:37 PM   #9
lamina
macrumors 68000
 
lamina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: From Canada, living in Seoul
Check out CanadaRAM.com. I've heard good things on the forums about them.
lamina is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 06:42 PM   #10
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
You'll find a lot of recommendations on here for OWC and DMS. PPC Macs can sometimes be picky about RAM, and both of these companies are knowledgeable and stand behind their products with terrific customer service. Both sites have online memory wizards that will allow you to input your machine specs and they'll show you the exact memory you need.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 06:47 PM   #11
generik
Banned
 
generik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minitrue
Quote:
Originally Posted by appleretailguy
Dude...crucial.com, 18004memory.com and kingston.com all have better prices.

If a macbook pro is only a little more and you can afford it...why not?
Because she is a gurl! Even if it is sold at a lousy price there is still the scent

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewSc2
I wouldn't say so. There are many, many Powerbook owners that use 3rd party RAM (including me) with no problems. Samsung, Corsair, Crucial, and Kingston are all very reputable brands. Newegg has many reviews of satisfied Powerbook, iBook, iMac, and Powermac upgraders.
I'd buy from a very reputable dealer for a PPC machine. I once bought a Kingston module that is certified for the exact same PB model, it didn't work.. or rather it did but kernel panics from time to time. Works great in another PC laptop though.

Go figure.

OWC all the way for this.
generik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 08:54 PM   #12
undead-design
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
thank you guys....one more thing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pressure
For PowerPC based system I strongly suggest getting ram that has been tested and deemed compatible with Apple systems.

The new Intel based computers isn't as fuzzy about ram as the PowerPC architecture is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by generik
Because she is a gurl! Even if it is sold at a lousy price there is still the scent



I'd buy from a very reputable dealer for a PPC machine. I once bought a Kingston module that is certified for the exact same PB model, it didn't work.. or rather it did but kernel panics from time to time. Works great in another PC laptop though.

Go figure.

OWC all the way for this.
Thank you all. Thats exactly what I was worried about. After going to macsales.com and datamem, I found a few things that were kinda confusing. There is different prices on the 1GB memory but I am not really sure what the difference are between any of them. It is a helluva lot closer to my kinda prices then 300 dollars for 1GB.

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memor...s/G4-Aluminum/
There is a few prices here. $189.00, $144.95, $138.99

http://www.datamem.com/AMM12.asp
The best price here is $131.00 but there is another one that is listed as "call"

Any further suggestions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by appleretailguy
Dude...crucial.com, 18004memory.com and kingston.com all have better prices.

If a macbook pro is only a little more and you can afford it...why not?
As for the "little bit more" I got my prices mixed up with the black macbook thats on there for around 949.00 or something. My mistake.
undead-design is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Is 1GB RAM Enough for iPad Air 64 bit: 1GB RAM Poll DFZD iPad 11 Nov 28, 2013 01:06 AM
iPhone: Springboard using 300+ MB of RAM blueeye Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Oct 13, 2013 06:05 AM
Does it have 1GB RAM? cameljockey iPhone 3 Sep 12, 2012 04:46 PM
Any idea why two 1GB RAM sticks show as 1GB total in my PowerMac G5? alexreich PowerPC Macs 4 Jun 23, 2012 12:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC