Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Old Oct 6, 2006, 05:29 PM   #1
chasingapple
macrumors regular

GIMP and making a transparent outline?

I wanted to start using GIMP for my web comic, because I have to go through many steps as it is now and thought there has to be a better way! I also want to add color and such so here is my question...

I draw my comic in pencil first, then outline using an ink pen. Once that is done I erase the pencil and scan the image into the computer. So what I have is just the outline of the artwork. What I would like to do from there is use GIMP to grab the outline and place it on a transparent layer, so then I can put a background behind it, and color in the highlighted areas of the outlines and such. I am totally new to GIMP and have never used photoshop, since I cannot afford photoshop I went with GIMP and need a little assistance. How the heck do I do this? Hehe.

Thanks in advance!
Old Oct 7, 2006, 11:50 PM   #2
Artful Dodger
macrumors 68020

Hi, since I don't know how to use Gimp, I did see this first book on this link page at B&N today http://search.barnesandnoble.com/boo...y&cds2Pid=9481. As for your learning Gimp, this book would be just the nice gift for you to ask for and excell at those cartoons I wish you all the best. Don't forget to post a link once your done for us to view your work/cartoons. Hope this helps in the long run
Old Oct 8, 2006, 12:24 AM   #3
iMeowbot
macrumors 601

Try the Select By Color tool (the finger pointing at colored buttons). You may need to play with the threshold to keep faint pencil lines and such from saying in, but you can always touch up later with the eraser tool. click on the white background, then Edit->Clear.