Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 8, 2006, 07:17 AM   #1
al3000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Send a message via AIM to al3000
Want to watch TV on my Powerbook

I moved to uni about a week ago, and took a tv with me. The TV's been cramping the desk space, and as I only want to watch tv very occassionally I thought watching it through my powerbook would be a better idea.

I know a few people who do this with windows pcs, and they can record as well. Is there anything like this for mac? I remember looking about a year ago for something similar but not sure what's available now. I am not really bothered about an aerial as I will be plugging it straight into the aerial socket in the wall.

Thanks for any advice!
__________________
I've got a sexy mac (yeah!).
al3000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2006, 07:23 AM   #2
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
I think this would do the trick. No composite input for recording off A/V inputs besides cable/antenna, but should work for you - just note that recording will tax your PB excessively if you use the higher quality recording.

I have an elgato Hybrid which works well on me Intel Macs but is a bit taxing on my 12" PB.

There are also hardware encoding ones (i.e., the speed of your Mac doesn't matter as the device encodes the video for you) but those cost a bit more.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2006, 07:32 AM   #3
IscariotJ
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
The EyeTV Hyrid works wonderfully, recording programs is a doddle. Well worth getting. Apparently, you can run a console through it, too, but I haven't tried that. There is an eyetv thread somewhere, though, I'm sure someone was going to test it.
__________________
32GB iPhone, 64GB iPad
IscariotJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2006, 07:34 AM   #4
al3000
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Send a message via AIM to al3000
Do you think my PB could handle the eyetv hybrid ok? Its the 15" model with 1GB ram.
__________________
I've got a sexy mac (yeah!).
al3000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2006, 07:38 AM   #5
Scarlet Fever
macrumors 68040
 
Scarlet Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bookshop!
Quote:
Originally Posted by al3000
Do you think my PB could handle the eyetv hybrid ok? Its the 15" model with 1GB ram.
Do you know how fast it is?
Scarlet Fever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2006, 07:41 AM   #6
al3000
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Send a message via AIM to al3000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarlet Fever
Do you know how fast it is?
1.67ghz.
__________________
I've got a sexy mac (yeah!).
al3000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2006, 07:56 AM   #7
Scarlet Fever
macrumors 68040
 
Scarlet Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bookshop!
sounds like you will be fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Streetwise specs on eyeTV Hybrid
Macintosh with a PowerPC® G4 processor (500 MHz or faster), G5 or Intel processor
256 MB of physical RAM (512 MB recommended)
USB 2.0 port
Mac OS X v10.4 (or later)
A 1GHz G4 processor or higher is recommended for viewing and recording High Definition broadcasts.
Scarlet Fever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2006, 07:56 AM   #8
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by al3000
Do you think my PB could handle the eyetv hybrid ok? Its the 15" model with 1GB ram.
I've got a 1.5 GHZ 12" PB with 1.25GB RAM, and it works fine with SD video (the HD stuff doesn't seem to work so well), but I can't record at the highest quality with all the top settings.

So, yes, it works.

I'd still recommend the 250 for a G4 system, though, because it doesn't tax your system at all. It doesn't record HD, but HD is very dicey on the G4s anyway.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2006, 11:17 AM   #9
IscariotJ
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by al3000
Do you think my PB could handle the eyetv hybrid ok? Its the 15" model with 1GB ram.
I'm running the Hybrid on a 1.33 iBook, and find it runs OK. The EPG lags a little, but I've had no issues with watching programs in full screen.
__________________
32GB iPhone, 64GB iPad
IscariotJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2006, 10:10 AM   #10
ftrtrk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Here's another question about Eyetv,

I have an early generation EyeTV, I think like 250, but it's a box, that coverts and then sends as usb to the computer. Should I upgrade, is the picture enhanced? Is it worth the $150?

Thanks
ftrtrk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC