Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 10, 2006, 09:44 AM   #1
Jasonbot
macrumors 68020
 
Jasonbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Rainbow Nation RSA
Send a message via AIM to Jasonbot Send a message via MSN to Jasonbot
Ubuntu iMac G5

Yes I'm a linux noob!

Now that we've got that sorted... I've tried to boot an Ubuntu live-CD that I ordered, unfortunately all that happens is a weird unix menu comes up and tells me to choose how to boot it??? I tried all the options, some left the screen offf with fans on max, others actually brought up some loading bar then the system kinda shutdown but it was still on.

Anyone successfully booted Ubuntu on an iMac G5??
__________________
[insert apple related products here]
Jasonbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2006, 11:08 AM   #2
Jasonbot
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Jasonbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Rainbow Nation RSA
Send a message via AIM to Jasonbot Send a message via MSN to Jasonbot
Don't you hate it when you get 25 views and not one reply?
__________________
[insert apple related products here]
Jasonbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2006, 11:29 AM   #3
Shadow
macrumors 68000
 
Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Keele, United Kingdom
Send a message via MSN to Shadow
Did you get the PPC version?
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.66GHz C2D 8GB 128GB SSD 9600m
iPhone 4 16GB
Shadow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2006, 11:34 AM   #4
Queso
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
The default Dapper 6.0.6 doesn't quite work on iMac G5s. You need to run the alternate ISO image to install it, then unless you want to live with the fans going like a wind tunnel, download and compile a new kernel. Not sure if there is a live CD, for these reasons.

More here. Post #5 has the rundown.

If you find that a bit intimidating, wait for 6.0.7
Queso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2006, 12:38 PM   #5
Jasonbot
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Jasonbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Rainbow Nation RSA
Send a message via AIM to Jasonbot Send a message via MSN to Jasonbot
K, this is hard I guess I'll just leave it @ that. With my ssssllllooooooowww connection and 1Gb cap i'll just have to wait for ubuntu iMac updates...
__________________
[insert apple related products here]
Jasonbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
imac g5 video gone bad....capacitor! FIXED morrisroad iMac 9 Nov 21, 2013 12:58 AM
iMac G5, Memory, and Leopard NeverhadaPC iMac 3 Aug 13, 2011 10:58 PM
iMac kernel panics + corroding hardware: related? stereocilia iMac 12 Jul 12, 2011 02:48 AM
WTT: iMac G5 512MB DIMM (DDR400 PC3200) for another iMac G5 512MB DIMM Elan0204 Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 4 Oct 1, 2004 06:09 PM
Duke University has iMac G5 ? Duke University has iMac G5 ? cmx08 Macintosh Computers 3 Jul 31, 2004 10:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC