Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 16, 2006, 04:41 AM   #1
crazycat
macrumors 65816
 
crazycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
How can i check if i have bad RAM?

I am getting sick of crashing on my Mac Pro, its driving me to switch to windows. I reinstalled OS X twice, i changed the RAM i did everythign i could think of.
__________________
"I don't take kindly to insults"
"Funny, with a face like yours, I'd have thought you'd be used to it by now."
crazycat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 05:29 AM   #2
iJaz
macrumors 6502a
 
iJaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Sounds lika a RAM problem, does it say ok in the System Profiler?
Do you have 3rd party RAM?
__________________
Home: PM G5 2.3 GHz 4.5 GB RAM, 20" ACD, 1G 512 MB and 2G 1GB Shuffle, 4 GB nano RED, 80 GB iPod, iPhone 3G S⃣ 32 GB Black. Work: MacBook C2D 2.0 GHz 4GB RAM
iJaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 07:03 AM   #3
Temujin
macrumors 6502a
 
Temujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Try a hardware test using the install disk
Temujin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 10:53 AM   #4
crazycat
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
crazycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by iJaz
Sounds lika a RAM problem, does it say ok in the System Profiler?
Do you have 3rd party RAM?
It shows that i have the right amount of RAM, but when i start WoW it crashs. Strange thing is that it does not crash when i first start WoW but if i use firefox, itunes then start WoW it crashs.

[QUOTE=Temujin]Try a hardware test using the install disk/QUOTE]

Nope but i will do that right away.
__________________
"I don't take kindly to insults"
"Funny, with a face like yours, I'd have thought you'd be used to it by now."
crazycat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 10:58 AM   #5
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Other options
TechTool Pro (purchased)
Rember (www.versiontracker.com)
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 11:02 AM   #6
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
I suggest skipping using the Hardware tester that comes with AppleCare. It's very inconsistant, except in failure. By that I mean it consistantly checks and passes hardware that I know to be failed.

http://www.memtestosx.org is where you should go to get a decent memory tester.
Boot into Single User Mode, test the RAM with at least 2 contiguous passes.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 01:50 PM   #7
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Yellow speaks truths.
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I tell if I have a bad ram module? gt40x4 MacBook Pro 5 Mar 11, 2010 08:55 AM
How do I check if I have 64-bit incompatible extensions/applications? Ruahrc OS X 2 Sep 9, 2009 11:15 AM
How will apple check if you have leopard for snow leopards release? TheShinyMac Buying Tips and Advice 17 Jun 28, 2009 10:44 AM
How can I check if my fans are working? baka chinko Mac Basics and Help 6 Jun 9, 2006 06:49 PM
How do I know if I have bad Memory? C-Mezak General Mac Discussion 6 Sep 30, 2004 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC