Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 16, 2006, 04:41 AM   #1
crazycat
macrumors 65816
 
crazycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
How can i check if i have bad RAM?

I am getting sick of crashing on my Mac Pro, its driving me to switch to windows. I reinstalled OS X twice, i changed the RAM i did everythign i could think of.
__________________
"I don't take kindly to insults"
"Funny, with a face like yours, I'd have thought you'd be used to it by now."
crazycat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 05:29 AM   #2
iJaz
macrumors 6502a
 
iJaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Sounds lika a RAM problem, does it say ok in the System Profiler?
Do you have 3rd party RAM?
__________________
Home: PM G5 2.3 GHz 4.5 GB RAM, 20" ACD, 1G 512 MB and 2G 1GB Shuffle, 4 GB nano RED, 80 GB iPod, iPhone 3G S⃣ 32 GB Black. Work: MacBook C2D 2.0 GHz 4GB RAM
iJaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 07:03 AM   #3
Temujin
macrumors 6502a
 
Temujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Try a hardware test using the install disk
Temujin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 10:53 AM   #4
crazycat
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
crazycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by iJaz
Sounds lika a RAM problem, does it say ok in the System Profiler?
Do you have 3rd party RAM?
It shows that i have the right amount of RAM, but when i start WoW it crashs. Strange thing is that it does not crash when i first start WoW but if i use firefox, itunes then start WoW it crashs.

[QUOTE=Temujin]Try a hardware test using the install disk/QUOTE]

Nope but i will do that right away.
__________________
"I don't take kindly to insults"
"Funny, with a face like yours, I'd have thought you'd be used to it by now."
crazycat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 10:58 AM   #5
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Other options
TechTool Pro (purchased)
Rember (www.versiontracker.com)
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 11:02 AM   #6
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
I suggest skipping using the Hardware tester that comes with AppleCare. It's very inconsistant, except in failure. By that I mean it consistantly checks and passes hardware that I know to be failed.

http://www.memtestosx.org is where you should go to get a decent memory tester.
Boot into Single User Mode, test the RAM with at least 2 contiguous passes.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 01:50 PM   #7
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Yellow speaks truths.
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to check log files to date/time system RAM was changed? Any way to check this? asterix2k10 OS X 1 Mar 7, 2014 08:19 PM
Do you think my RAM is bad? mossme89 MacBook Pro 1 Dec 8, 2013 04:37 AM
Bad ram or something else? cheeserandyburg MacBook Pro 0 Jun 24, 2013 11:53 PM
Bad service in your house? CHECK THIS OUT! adam044 iPhone 37 Oct 24, 2012 05:17 PM
RAM slot broken or bad RAM? gooberwilson MacBook Pro 1 Jul 21, 2012 10:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC